We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quaint and quiet vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ho'omana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ho'omana
Save
You added Hale Ho'omana to your Saves list
1550 Piiholo Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a quaint and quiet vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We wanted to stay close to a party we were attending in upcountry Maui and found this gem of a vacation! We've never tried a B&B before and this was a fantastic choice for our situation.
The price was right and we read other reviews for this place and was not disappointed. We booked the Aloha suite because we wanted to have our own bathroom. The room was big enough for us and it really felt like home. It was fully furnished just like your own house from extra towels to the fully equipt and stocked gourmet kitchen.
We checked out the backyard and it was secluded, quiet and very well maintained. At the time we were there, there was just 1 other couple, but saw them just once because we had stuff to do and so did they. Our room came with breakfast and the owners left out breakfast items: 2 kinds of bread, butter and jelly, 2 types of cereal w/milk, 2 kinds of juices,coffee w/cream and sugar,tea,cocoa,3 types of fresh fruit,yogurt, It was a nice spread considering it is included with the room. We liked that we felt at home, we hung out in the parlor and they had direct tv. The weather at the time felt cool and airy with occassional sprinkles-well it is upcountry after all. The weather up there is so much more cooler and wet anyway.
I highly recommend booking this place because it is just wonderful being in a place that is so relaxed, quiet, secluded and homey. It is well maintained inside and out. The price is great as well. We definitely will be back to stay whenever we visit Maui.

Room Tip: request a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
12
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Loomis
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Beautiful, quiet and family friendly. Exceptional staff. Great location.

Room Tip: We loved the Makena Cottage. Spa treatment great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Jeana and Justin have created a very comfortable and peaceful retreat center. We came for our own personal retreat and it was perfect. Wish we could have experienced their spa services - they sound amazing. We stayed in the Lehua Cottage - the room was incredibly clean and comfortable, had everything we needed and we didn't mind driving to where we wanted to go. Close to Pa'ia (a wonderful, quirky beach town) and Makawao on Maui. The only reason for 4 out of 5 stars is because you need to drive to destinations as opposed to more centrally located accommodations, but we didn't mind. Our desire for this time in Hawaii wasn't a 5-star hotel and we found exactly what we were looking for at Hale Ho'omana. Jeana, Justin, and their staff exude the Hawaiian spirit of aloha and go out of their way to make you feel so very comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I had been to Hawaii, but this particular trip blew away my expectations in so many ways.
I loved the spirit and the place where we stayed in Makawao.
I can't say enough about the people and service at Hale Ho'omana, they were incredible. The service was awesome and I had a wonderful massage and the fresh fruit from the property was great.
The entire experience, I would recommend to anyone. Often, I go on vacation and am ready to go home, but after staying a week at Hale Ho'omana, I wished I could stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We went to this Hale Ho'omana for our 20th anniversary and it was quite simply heavanly. The energy at this place is quite incredible - my meditations were great! The owners went out of their way to accomodate us. In fact, we misplaced an iPhone charger and they bought us a new one!!!

If you go there, missing the hot-stone lomi-lomi massage would be an unforgivable crime :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I highly recommend staying at Hale Ho'omana, a choice location to to call home while you see all the beauty of Maui. It's a perfect place for solo travelers, a family trip, or a special adventure with friends. Enjoying a lomilomi massage in the spa is an absolute must-a blissful treat for your mind, body and soul! You will love the peace and serenity of the upcounty and, most of all, the experience of true aloha lovingly shared by the Hale Ho'omnana ohana and the surrounding community. This is, by far, my favorite place to stay on Maui!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed here with my family renting out the whole place even the overflow house. We had a wonderful stay. Nice to have a big kitchen to cook in and all eat together. It worked out perfectly. We loved the cooler temp and Makawao atmosphere. All in all it was perfect and I'll never forget it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ho'omana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'omana

Address: 1550 Piiholo Rd, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Ho'omana spa retreat and guesthouse is an intimate and exclusive get-away located on the slopes of Maui's pristine Mt Haleakala and tucked amidst serene eucalyptus forest. Owned and operated by a native Hawaiian family we provide a unique vacation retreat where you can enjoy the pleasures of a Maui escape while indulging in some healthful rejuvenation. You may visit our lovely spa specializing in Hawaiian healing treatments, partake of our daily yoga classes or book an island adventure tour with our resident Eco tour guide. Our facility is equipped with accommodations for personal, family, or group retreats for up to 15 guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho'Omana Maui/Makawao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ho'omana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.