We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming UpCountry B&B with the perfect host!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makawao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao
Save
You added Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Pakani Place, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Makawao B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco Bay area
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Charming UpCountry B&B with the perfect host!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Makawao is really a cute paniolo upcountry town - lots of interesting shops and little restaurants, and don't miss the malasadas at Komoda's Bakery. In this area, the place to stay is the Hale Ho'okipa Inn. This B&B has several rooms, all nicely furnished and very clean. We stayed in February and we left the windows open to listen to the wind through the giant Norfolk pine tree. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had nice touches, and we really enjoyed the breakfast of fresh fruit. As many other reviews mention, Cherie (the owner) is very welcoming and a font of valuable island information. The other guests were interesting to talk to - no one was the typical "tourist". More adventure types. So if you want a place to stay that feels like the real Hawaii, this will make you happy. Our only disappointment was that we hadn't planned a longer stay - next time we will. And did I mention that it's a short drive to the best restaurant on Maui? Hali'imaile General Store was so much better than the places we found in East and South Maui, that we came back for a second meal - all the way from Napili. That's saying something!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
60
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our first time staying in a B&B.. I think we are spoiled for life now! The bar has been set very high

Everywhere you look you see love! from the little pagoda-like light by the fence where you park your car to this amaizing photo on the kitchen wall of this little girl dancing hula.. from the warm jackets Cherie keeps for guest who are going to see a sunrise at Haleakala,the beautiful and delicious organic 'lite' breakfast she prepares ( ok don't be fooled here :p) trust me you do not need bacon to feel happy in the morning... the gourgeous MAUI coffee alone - Cherie is very proud and supportive of things Maui- will surely set you right for a wonderful day about! Well let me not spoil the surprise that awaits you.

We were very happy here- we stayed for 5 nights. Thanks to all her tips we feel we got to see more of the real island and savour it. Like good places to spot whales, the right way to visit Hana and so much more.

Great location, amasing property, met really nice people staying there and would definatelly recomment this gem of a B and B.. but perhaps during the last week in march 14 do not book the kona wing.. leave it for us ;)

Room Tip: Travel with some family\friends you love and stay in the Kona Wing! I say love as this place is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I have been to Maui several times and like the "upcountry" are the best. It's cooler, lusher, and less touristy.

The Bed and Breakfast we stayed in was in an old house with an expansive garden furnished in and one-of-a-kind pieces and antique decorations. A generous breakfast offering yogurt, cereal, various breads, jams, and fresh fruits, or fresh eggs you cook yourself, was a wonderful way to start your day with your fellow guests from all over (up to 8 in all).

We had a two room suite and private bath. The other rooms are singles.

Most guests stayed just a few days. We were there for two weeks with kitchen privileges. Location was wonderful. Place was a bit rustic but suited us. Not for people needing absolute quiet - you could hear the wind and rain howl and the chickens and birds and people.

I've slept in better beds and washed in more modern bathrooms but it was welcoming and the interactions with the other guests - discussing excursions and "must sees" - were fun.

Cherie the innkeeper is welcoming, knowledgeable, and runs the place well.

A nice spot to relax and recharge.

Room Tip: The two room suite is really two bedrooms but we used one as a sitting room/ and one as a bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha Folks,

Mahalo for your review. It was great to get to know you during your lengthy stay. I am so lucky to have such wonderful guests.
As always, I never stop trying to improve the experience at the b&b . A historic home is not for everyone, but the charm and good mana at Hale Ho'okipa speaks for itself. I update, and restore as I can, and it's a pleasure to see how far we've come.....( I like old fashioned bath rooms with the clawfoot tubs.....,so that is staying..)

Ho'okipa is the expression of hospitality, and I strive to always make guests feel welcome.

What a wild week of weather during part of your stay. Much calmer now moving towards spring.
Aloha,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

On my first visit to Maui, my boyfriend and I stayed in the Hibiscus room for two nights. I chose Makawao for its proximity to the Road to Hana and Haleakala. Hale Ho'okipa is an old restored home and still a work in progress, according to the host. The room had a slightly damp smell to it, perhaps because there had been a huge storm before we arrived and some water was leaking into a window. Luckily Cherie provides space heaters, also ear plugs because the roosters crow before dawn. She is a great host and overall we had a nice stay. Lots of offerings at breakfast...fresh fruit from the garden, many breads, cereals, jams, yogurt, even eggs from her chickens and ducks. She also has big coats for Haleakala, which were greatly appreciated as it is very cold up there. Weather was rainy so we didn't get to explore the hiking trails in the area, but we did see rainbows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review...This was the week of the Maui Monsoon...a wild and wet week it was. I don;t think anyone could find a place upcountry that did not feel damp that week. I use the dehumdifier in the rooms and parlor area, rotating them daily during a wet spell. This particualr room took the full force of the storm, and I'm re-caulking windows from outside, etc to prepare for our next 100 year storm.
Hope you enjoyed your Maui time regardless of the weather....sounds like you made lemonaid our of lemons..:) Happy to hear you had a good stay.
A hui hou,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cherie was a warm and gracious hostess in this fine old Portugese family home that she has reclaimed and rebuilt in the upcountry rain forest. Our room was fine; comfortable bed and adequate bath. Cherie has a sitting room chock full of local color, Hawaiian history books, local travel guides, and much more. The continental breakfast was as delicious as it was extensive and one can cook fresh eggs from Cherie's chickens if you desire.

This B&B is away from the bigger cities, but is convenient to any place on Maui that you might wish to visit and there are restaurants nearby in Makawao or Pa'ia to satisfy all tastes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upcountry, Owner at Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your warm review...So happy that you enjoyed your stay.

A hui hou,
Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was small but comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing, with a buffet of fresh fruits and all kinds of bread, cereals, etc. Enjoyed chatting with owner, her helpers, and other guests, over breakfast.
This house was built in the '20s by a Portuguese family. Decor is wonderful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you want a truly special experience, then stay at the Hale Ho'okipa Inn on Maui. The owner, Cherie Attix, has created a little bit of heaven on earth. The decor, food and hospitality is excellent. I stayed in the Rose room with my own bath...the tub had feet! So quaint!
Breakfast included a fresh fruit salad (from her garden), eggs gathered from her chickens, yogurt and lots of aloha! Enjoy the peace and tranquility of this lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao

Address: 32 Pakani Place, Makawao, Maui, HI 96768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Makawao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Makawao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hospitality in Upcountry Maui. Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`Okipa Inn Makawao Hotel Makawao
Hale Ho'Okipa Inn Makawao Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Ho'okipa Inn Makawao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.