We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort on an awesome beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great resort on an awesome beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Upon our arrival, we were told that they had upgraded us (for free) from the cottage to a tower room with oceanview. In my opinion, oceanview needs further defining, however! Nonetheless, our room was fantastic, comfortable, and clean with a view on part of the ocean (& Lanai'i), the gardens, and
the mountains... The side we were on was a bit noisy -- a huge A/C machine a couple of floors below us, road noise... but overall well worth what we paid for!!! The claim that there are refrigerators in the room is false advertising, however. We purchased some breakfast & lunch foods (to keep the overall cost of eating on Hawaii down) that needed to be refrigerated. Well, the so-called refrigerators are no colder than room-temperature, and when maintenance was sent to our room to take a look, we were told that we had not a fridge but a mini bar cooler set around 50 degrees or so. WTF? Who drinks their beverages this warm? Anyway, this was quite a disappointment, since our trip depended somewhat on the availability of a fridge in the room. It also would have been nice to have a fitness center available--since they call themselves a "resort." Last, the beach the resort is located on is simply beautiful & lovely-- only sand & no corals close to the beach, on which one can get hurt kind of like around the area of the Hyatt... All in all, this place was well worth the $$$, and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    929
    337
    186
    152
See reviews for
415
1,317
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grandview, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Beautiful resort! Got a suite at an upgrade price which I think is a scam but worth it! Excellent housekeeping, came to our room couple times a day to refresh towels, bed, glasses etc. Loved the pineapple water in the lobby! Reasonable priced lunches but breakfast too spendy. Quiet beach. Gorgeous, gorgeous view! We saw whales all day everyday on our trip from our balconey! Wish they had a laundry tho. Staff at the desk not too friendly but everyone else was. Dont stay in the cottages their a night mare thats why we upgraded. Overall we def would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at the resort as a part of our 25th anniversary. It was a nice location on the beach and still close to the action in Lahaina. The only real downfalls are no free internet and self parking. Go to CJ's Deli just a walk up the road. AWESOME food and free net. $10 a day for self parking is average cost and OK if you can find a spot. But when you circle through the lot for 3 times waiting to get a opening that might fit a scooter...that stinks. I made a rule the first night after the third time it was back to the valet and they could do it. Now that I'm home...I'll give you a trick I learned. There is a tree in the lot with cones to block off spots because the roots pushed up taking out 6-8 spots. That's is now your reserved parking. I had the bride move the cones and I'd park the car. When we left, she put them back. Shhh...don't tell anybody.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

We spent a week at the Royal Lahaina and enjoyed every minute! The hotel is beachfront and not crowded. It's a very short walk to Whalers Village. Ocean View Terrace Restaurant is good but a little pricey. Another restaurant on site (Italian) but we did not try. All of the staff members were awesome. The Luau was great as well. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We traveled to Maui the first week of February and I never wanted to leave. Our hotel, Royal Lahaina was great. I stayed there about 10 years ago and it is much nicer than our last trip. It was my wedding this time! We had 23 in our group- and the Royal Lahaina had a room to fit everyones needs. We had a couple families/groups stay in the 1 bedroom cottages and then several couples including myself and my husband stayed in the ocean view or partial ocean view tour rooms. cottages are less luxurious than the tour but great for function. weather you are a group of 4 singles or a family with several kiddos the cottages were the way to go for those guests. For the couples- the ocean view rooms couldnt' have been more perfect. The dark wood work and beautiful lanai made for an excellent value. I booked through costco travel and we had originally went with the partial ocean view but for the difference in price the ocean view is the way to go. 3rd floor looks at the roof... 7th floor (our floor) was a PERFECT view of the beach and even the gardens. We were able to see the luau at night from our room. we wanted to sleep with our slider open but the noisy old women that didn't leave their lanai all week were cackling until the wee hours of the night... hey but at least they were enjoying their vacation too! I think people who visit maui are laid back people and if you want an authentic hawaiian vacation the Royal Lahaina makes you feel the essence of Maui. I wish the restaurant by the pool had a little better service and quality in food. drinks are amazing! entertainment by the pool/restaurant was awesome! our last day we found this great breakfast place at the entrance of the hotels (the comfort zone) awesome breakfast/lunch for half the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

What can I say this was our third time here in 3 years. It seemed that some of the staff remembered us. The cabana was great way to get a break from the sun. The pool was refreshing to cool of from the sun. Their beach is amazing with spectacular views. The view from our ocean view room was fantastic with this being whale season. The room was very clean with no problems. The restaurant on site is fabulous we didn't have any bad food. We had a late flight and they let us use the pool and they stored our luggage. Our original check out time was 10 am they pushed it back to 1 pm for us plus let us use a cottage suite right before we had to leave for the airpot to freshen up. We were married here in 2007 and none of our guest had any problems. Any request that we had were met with no problems. The resort also has live entertainment by the pool at night. They also have a little convience store whiched carried sandwiches and drinks made it easy to plan for the next day. And if your kids can't find something to do at the beach and pool than your kids don't know how to mother nature.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

So...my fiancee and I were debating on where to spend our honeymoon. We called our Travel Agent and asked her what kind of deals she had for Maui and Puerto Vallarta. We were leaning more towards Maui since we already been to Puerto Vallarta separately and loved it, but we have never been to Maui together and always dreamnt of going.

Our Travel Agent came back with a great Honeymoon package for this Resort in Maui that truly fit our budget! The package included an ocean view with a nice buffet breakfast every morning, a dinner cruise including drinks on a really awesome catamaran right at Sunset and their Luau for two which was a blast!! We both had soo much FUN and met some really nice people at the Luau. The food was interesting but for the most part hearty and tasty. This is definitely the way to go...

Overall...the check in process was seamless and they were very friendly...our room was so beautiful...it really made us feel like we were in Hawaii! The beds are to die for...we struggled waking up every morning. ;)

I love my Travel Agent for recommending this island and property to us and we love and miss the Royal Scoop and the delicious breafast buffet! We hope to see you all soon!

Thank you for the best Honeymoon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.