We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$169 (USD)
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We opt not to stay in the high rise, we wanted to stay in the cottages. They were very quaint and quiet large. The patio was great to have tea in the morning. The room was clean and a large supply of their coconut body soap. Just loved it there, plus on the beach and nice walking or running routes. Would go back again.

Room Tip: The Laua was nice, but I have been to better. If you have never been to one, then you will enjoy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha Mandi. Glad to read that you were pleased with the Hawaiian ambiance and garden location of our cottage rooms. We hope to welcome you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    902
    847
    305
    180
    147
See reviews for
367
1198
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal Lahaiana for 2 nights. I had, I believe, a deluxe oceanfront room in the tower. Walking into my room and seeing the view of the ocean left me speechless! I think everyone visiting Hawaii for the first time should have such a view! The room itself was very clean and looked to have been recently updated. The bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was clean, the shower was hot and had good water pressure. The room had a coffee maker with regular or decaf coffee as well as some tea selections. I really loved the coconut lime lotion! The staff were very accommodating. I did not eat at the resort, so I cannot comment on the quality of the food or room service. I did get a chance to see the "cottages" and the decor was not as modern as the tower rooms. However, for the price and being oceanfront property, it would be OK for me, but some people might not like them. However, the cottages were in the process of being remodeled, I did not get to see a renovated cottage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Aloha. Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Happy to read that you were pleased with your stay and the resort. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Maui in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently returned to Maui and to the Royal Lahaina Resort for our third stay. Due to the absolute perfect experiences we encountered on our first two trips, our expectations going into this third trip were extremely elevated and were met and perhaps exceeded. The entire staff of the Royal Lahaina understand their role in how you will enjoy your stay and build a memory that will be replayed over and over after your return to "normal".

We would describe the Royal Lahaina as a traditional Hawaiian resort. There are many choices when it comes to choosing a place to stay on the Ka’anapoli Beach near the town of Lahaina in Maui. There are “name brand” resort properties that have all types of bells & whistles, but seem to lack the true spirit of Hawaii. I would doubt that the President of any of the “name brand” resorts would take time to mingle with the guest and listen to their praises, suggestions, and even complaints. We found it very impressive that Tom Bell, President of the Hawaiian Hotels and Resorts did just that. We appreciated the hospitability that Tom, his management staff, and his property staff showed us on each of our visits to the Royal Lahaina.

Location! The west coast of Maui, the Ka’annaopli Beach area in particular, has a leg-up on any other tropical beach location in the US and perhaps the world. Beautiful crystal clear blue waters and a soft white sand beach alone is worth the trip. But, to be able to walk out of your room, through a beautiful garden area and then have direct access to this beach is like icing on the cake. Even though Ka’anapoli beach is a public beach, there are enough resorts surrounding it that it is rarely ever busy. There are many things to see & do right on the beach without any reason to leave the property. We have watched whales, dolphins, sea turtles, and rays swimming along the shore. Snorkeling is great with coral reefs within yards of the property. For those that may prefer fresh water swimming over the ocean, the Royal Lahaina has two very nice swimming pools located within feet of the ocean.

We are still learning the island and have found it takes several days to take it in. The island of Maui is small enough that it is an easy drive to almost any site on the island. The exception is the Road to Hana Highway, which is not an easy ride from anywhere on the island, but that’s the adventure of it. We have enjoyed spending time at the shops in Lahaina Town. Front street offers a variety of restaurants and shops that can please any budget. Many people rave of the Whalers Village Shops which is an easy walk from the Royal Lahaina, but you better pack a big credit card to shop there. Don’t miss the Iao Needle State Park and definitely take time to drive up to Mt. Haleakala National Park.

We (like you) read reviews on this type of site and we read over and over complaints about the cost of the food, the cost of parking, and the cost of internet access. Please keep in mind that this is Hawaii and there are cost. Yes, food is expensive. Yes, it cost to park. Yes, if you don’t arrange to have internet access before you go, it will cost. So what! These are issues that come with a trip to paradise. I can remember the day when you could actually go on a vacation without a telephone hooked to your ear and a need to update your face book status every 10 minutes. Go, enjoy, and make sure to stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort!

Room Tip: We enjoy the Tower rooms over the cottages, but the cottages seem to be perfent for large families t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha. Thank you so much for the fantastic review, great information about the resort and Maui, and especially for having returned to the Royal Lahaina for a third time. So happy to read that we were once again able to live up to the great experiences you had on your first two visits and we will hope that we can do so again in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in early October after staying in South Kihei for just over a week. We had asked for a room in the hotel block on a high floor and when we arrived with an excellent reception and service we were shown to a room on the twelfth floor which was the top floor and as high as you can build in Maui. The view was tremendous , the room was very nice and clean. The service and staff were all ( bar one waitress who must have had a bad night ) all excellent and helpful, the hotel and layout was great. The beach was good and the beach walk was very useful both for walking and jogging. A 10 minute walk up the beach took us to Airport beach were there was very good snorkelling, I swam with my own personal green turtle for around half an hour with no interruptions , better than the guided tours.

Also frequent free shuttles to Whalers Village with a good choice of shops and not far to downtown Lahaina ,

The minus points -- not many-- parking is $10 a day and is very tight but most parking spaces in Maui are quite small --or maybe the cars are wider! Air conditioning in the room blows down a bit and is cool but too warm to open the balcony door-- ceiling fans would be a good option but not installed , wi-fi is a bit slow and is $10 in your room , not worth it --just use it in the lobby where it is free but still slow. . Biggest minus point is the food quality , we ate here most days for breakfast and evening meal and although the service and location is good the food is on the whole is very average--its a bit hit and miss-sometimes bordering on quite good other times on very poor but never very good. Unless you go down to Whalers Village where there are a few restaurants there is nothing much within walking distance for a choice that we could find. If the food had been at the same standard as the rest of the hotel then 5 stars would have been given.

Room Tip: a room on a high floor in the hotel tower is best, north is cooler, south gets the sun --both have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review, glad that you enjoyed your room and the resort location. Sorry to read that you were not pleased with some of your meals at the hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with our Chef and Food and Beverage Director as we like to review all feedback, both positive and negative, in our constant efforts to improve our guest's experience. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second trip/stay to maui and royal lahiana, and we will be back again for sure!
We got an upgraded room, with an amazing view of the ocean........thanks to Jennifer!
We had a box of chocolates and a HANDWRITTEN note in room upon arrival- so sweet, and made us feel welcome! The staff is friendly and warm, my daughter had a great time talking to some of the bell/valet gentleman downstairs while we waited for the trolley, they were so sweet to her. The restaurant service was so much better than my last visit, I don't have our waiters name but he was great- very friendly and great sense of humor, we had a great dinner while watching the sunset. My husband had great service at the bar with Victor as well.
The beach out front is the best, only steps from the hotel.......not crowded, and great sand to walk/play on, unlike some of the other resorts. We don't rent a car when we are in maui- but the trolley takes you where you need to go to eat/shop- whalers village and from there you can catch the bus to Lahaina, so its very easy to navigate. Also went to the resorts luau again and had a great time- food, service , performers were amazing- and got to take some great pictures with them as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha Roxie. So glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your time and interactions with our associates here at the Royal Lahaina again. We will look forward to your next visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the cottage rentals - not the tower - it was great with the kids, just walk out onto grass, 2 minutes to the pool and beach. it was a little dated and the cottages were starting to get renovated. This is our 3rd time here. I love it here, love the staff

Room Tip: The cottages is great with kids or large group, 2 bedroom 3 bathrooms and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for continuing to make the Royal Lahaina your resort of choice here on Maui. Glad to read that you love it. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your 4th visit! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

I was rather hungover when I arrived from our trip to Vegas, and was talked into an upgrade from a standard room to an ocean front suite on the 9th floor for an extra $200 a night so we could get into the room at 10am. Wow, am I glad I took them up on this offer. The suite was huge, with a living area with flat screen TV, a large bedroom with 4 poster bed, and a bathroom that was bigger then my first apartment. It also had a second bathroom and shower too. What really made it something else was the absolutely stunning view of the ocean and beach, totally un-interrupted, from both balconies. I wish I could have stayed more than three nights, as I would have never got bored of sitting outside looking at that view. If you can afford it, then I can totally recommend splashing out on these rooms.

The hotel is on a quiet part of Kaanapali beach, and an easy 15 minute walk to Whalers Village. The hotel is very clean and well kept. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the restaurant, and the food was great. We also went to Whalers Village for several meals, and can recommend the restaurants there too. All the staff we encountered were friendly and provided great service.

Both pools were clean and a welcome respite from the heat, although the smaller pool was slightly warmer... and closer to the bar. Daily happy hour from 2-6pm was fabulous, with $6 Mai Tai's.... and boy were they strong.

If you are looking for a quieter hotel, with a personal feel, rather than the big resorts, then this is the place for you. I really, really hope I get to come back some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha Lisa Marie. So happy to hear that we could help in curing your Vegas hangover! Like you, so many of our guests enjoy the intimate laid-back Hawaiian ambiance of the Royal Lahaina Resort. For those interested, the suite described is one of our six One-Bedroom Oceanfront Lanai Suites and additional information regarding it can be found online. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.