We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Royal Lahaina for 2nd time !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Royal Lahaina for 2nd time !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Royal Lahaina from August 31 til Sept 5 and we loved our stay ! We had an ocean view room and were on the 11th floor, the view was spectacular ! The staff was really nice and we had an amazing time ! It was our second stay at Royal Lahaina, Maui and we were not deceived !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha. Thank you very much for choosing to return to the Royal Lahaina. So glad to read you were just as pleased with this visit and we hope we will have the pleasure of assisting you for many years to come. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    930
    339
    187
    152
See reviews for
415
1,320
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our time at Royal Lahaina. They offered us ocean view, up from standard view at a discounted price and it was worth every penny. The hotel is in between the larger Sheraton and also much larger Westin. There is a beach walk path that makes it easy to enjoy the offerings of the other hotels. We were in walking distance to Black Rock by the Sheraton which is amazing for snorkeling. There is also a complimentary trolley shuttle that takes you to many locations such as Whaler's Village. There is also easy access to the bus to get to farther places in Lahaina. Front desk has time schedules for available public transportation. Room was nice and clean. The staff at the Royal Ocean Terrace were awesome. Bill and Eric gave us excellent service and advice on what there is to do. We fell in love with the Hawaiian raw fish here which is known as Poke. Monica was excellent in the morning at the buffet breakfast bar. We had a late flight home and the hotel was very accommodating after our noon checkout. They will hold your luggage and give you access to a hospitality suite to shower and refresh before heading off to the airport. We took advantage of this to get one more snorkeling session in at Black Rock which was perfect since we got to see a trio of beautiful large sting rays! We'll definitely be coming back to the Royal Lahaina!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is amazing! Get to watch the beautiful sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha Amy. So glad that you enjoyed the smaller, more intimate resort experience of the Royal Lahaina. I will be sure to pass along your kind review to Bill, Eric and Monica and we will all look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am a travel and had a lot of choices for my recent stay in Maui. The Royal Lahaina is always consistent, and probably one of the best for the Ohana Feel! Rooms in the tower have been decorated great! The best thing about this hotel is the Friendliness of the staff. Not one cranky person! This is also a hotel that does not charge a resort fee, only a self park 10.00 fee per day. The beach in front of the hotel is great with a nice wide beach for sun bathing. You can walk the beach walk to the Whalers and also to the Honua Kai for Dukes. This hotel has the feel of real Hawaii. Consider it as a choice for your stay if you are visiting Maui. They also offer cottages. We enjoyed our 48th anniversary and look forward to returning for our 50th.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great! full view of the ocean. If you want a cottage ask for a oceanfront also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for returning to the Royal Lahaina again. Appreciate all of the very positive and informative feedback and will look forward to welcoming you back on your Golden Anniversary! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here last month- had an ocean view room ! Quiet hotel, service and food was average but position was great. Beach was so clear and water was warm.
Loved Maui - especially Maui
Spent a lot of time in Front street visiting shops and restaurents drove around this beautiful island !

Room Tip: Front ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha Lynda. Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Glad to read that you enjoyed the view and position of the resort. As you note, Maui is very special and all of us at the Royal Lahaina are so pleased to be able to share this island paradise with visitors from around the world. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I prepaid for an ocean front room for my daughter including breakfast last month. When she arrived at the hotel they said she had a garden view room. She showed them the vouchers and they said oh you are wrong and are trying to get something you didn't pay for. She was upset and backed down. She called us and we contacted the hotel manager who admitted that they had overbooked the ocean front rooms and were trying to push people into other rooms. They gave her a new ocean view room which was dirty and had not been renovated since approx 1983. The next morning they would not honor the breakfast voucher. After arguing for a while, she decided it wasn't worth it and didn't eat. I again had to contact the hotel and they said the voucher says she gets breakfast, but they didn't have it in their computer that way. On the last day, they again admitted they were wrong and gave them breakfast and said they would credit our card for the missed breakfast. They did NOT. After repeated inquiries they still have not. I disputed with AMEX and they sent a copy of our voucher showing that she was to get free breakfast and refused to give the credit. They said we are supposed to give documentation that they would honor it. I guess she should have a picture with her in front of an empty plate or looking hungry. We travel on a regular basis and have never encountered a property or service that were even close to this disaster they call a resort! I've never even seen a time share place this dishonest. Maui has many fabulous resorts, do yourself a favor and skip this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Very sorry for the issues with your daughter's reservation. In researching this I have found that there were some miscommunications between the travel company that booked the reservation and the hotel. I will contact you directly to assist in obtaining a refund for the missed breakfast. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hotel was nice, easy to access, and within short distances to everything fun. Room was clean and well kept, and we had a deluxe oceanview room which had a GREAT view. The hotel was a little quieter than the Sheraton which was nearby... and we LOVED that. The beach wasn't as packed as some areas close by, which was nice, and we could walk to the Black Rock and go snorkelling when we wanted to see giant sea turtles, or just go in front of the hotel when we wanted to chill. Just a few miles from Front Street when we wanted to shop. There were complimentary yoga classes, and great service. Only down side was the parking was a little tight, but I can deal with that since it was FREE. The beds were CRAZY comfortable and the room was well kept. The breakfast buffet each day was AWESOME! Thanks for a great and unforgettable trip!

Room Tip: deluxe oceanview, and snorkel at black rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-Star review! Appreciate all of the positive comments and hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secane, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August and had a wonderful vacation. We stayed in a beachfront 1 bedroom cottage and would not have wanted to stay anywhere else in Maui. All of the employees that we dealt with were so pleasant and helpful. The resort was clean and beautiful. As soon as we opened our cabin doors we could smell the amazing aroma of the flowers. It was a dream come true vacation. I was nervous going because of some of the less than flattering reviews but after I arrived I realized that some people will never be happy or satisfied. The food in the restaurant was really good. A few of the employees that stood out to us: The house cleaning staff was so helpful with anything we needed. The bell staff was amazing and would drive us to our room in a golf cart anytime we needed help with luggage or groceries. Rebecca at the pool bar was awesome. Front desk was great. Super bartenders at the restaurant bar - had an awesome time with them. Every employee we encountered went above and beyond their duty to help us with anything we needed. We couldn't have had a better time!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha Dana. Thank you for the positive review! Having guests comment favorably about their interactions with our staff is the most satisfying feedback we hope for. Super stoked that you loved the resort and had a great time. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.