We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimme” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Northridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kimme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 7 days. Had a partial ocean view and it was perfect. We got a great view of the mountains,golf course & beautiful ocean view. The beach is steps from the hotel. There are several pools next to the beach. The landscaping is well maintained. There are paths all throughout the property to walk. There is a beachside bar offering appetizers and drinks. The beach is clean, well maintained and not crowded. The ocean was so warm and crystal clear. They also have the best Luau in Lahaina. Great entertainment. I was pleasantly surprised about the Luau. The staff was very pleasant. Our room had amazing furniture. WE LOVED IT. We had a king size bed- Very comfortable and very clean. The balcony was amazing, Great views and perfect to sit outside and enjoy your whole stay. As far as the internet it was extra money everyday for wifi, we had paid for the week but we had to stay in one spot in the room to get wifi. It would not go past the desk for reception. This is ridiculous to have to pay extra for wifi and to not be able to use it properly. We had complained to the wifi company but nothing was resolved.There was always people in the lobby using wifi, always crowded in there.
The things I thought needed improvement- No gym. The restaurants food was ok. We had ordered the breakfast package for the entire stay. I wish I didn't do that. They offered the same exact breakfast buffet everyday. It would have been nicer to have different choices everyday. The food was cold by the time you got to the table. The food offered was very fattening! The less calorie food was not appealing at all.
All in all we had a very great stay, I would absolutely stay there again! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean & well maintained. Cool decor & design!

Room Tip: The partial ocean view is worth it! The wifi is terrible in your room, you can only get wifi in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Kim. Thank you very much for the feedback on your stay. Glad to read that overall you had a great stay and would stay again. I will contact you directly regarding the wifi, the company that we utilize has been upgrading the system and adding additional modems so I would like to let them know what room you were in so they can further address this. We have just opened "Passion of Movement" a pilates, yoga and wellness center here on-site and are in the process of adding a small gym on property. At this time guests of the Royal Lahaina are also offered special rates at the full-service Valley Isle Gym which is located just at the entrance to our resort. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    926
    873
    314
    186
    149
See reviews for
392
1225
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel the beach right out the front of the pool was amazing and turned the most amazing aqua blue in the sun. Happy hour by the pool was also fun with the singers and hula dancers But what set this place apart was the amazing lengths they went to for us to return a camera charger that we left in the room (even after we checked twice). I would also recommend the waffles with fresh fruit and macadamia nut butter for breakfast if you don't feel like buffet which was also very good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. So happy to read that you had a great stay and especially that we were able to assist you in recovering your camera charger. So easy to leave those chargers behind! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the hotel. The room was excellent and one of the most modern we had on out 16 day trip to the islands, with a beautiful view.a partial view was booked, but very much like having a full ocean view room. Their beach was spectacular and you can get on the beach walk and take a long stroll. Parking was at a premium however. Hotel restaurants where just OK. We went out for food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Jeffrey. Thank you very much for the positive feedback. Very happy that you had a nice stay. As you note we do have a parking charge ($10 per day). Nearly all resorts in our area charge for parking or have a resort fee (we do not have a mandatory resort fee). When researching, potential guests will find that our charges are amongst the lowest available in the Kaanapali area. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here with my husband as part of our honeymoon and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were given an upgrade once the staff heard we were on our honeymoon so we had an amazing view from our balcony/lanai. We could see the beach and the sea on one side and the West Maui Mountains on the other.

The location was really good for getting around - there is a free trolley that brings you to all the local hotels as well as Whaler’s Village which has multiple restaurants and shops. There are buses that link to other parts of the island that you can get from this trolley stop which was really helpful.

The staff in the Royal Lahaina were very nice, friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We really enjoyed the lanai and ate our breakfast here every day. We would often sit out in the evenings to enjoy the view some more.

The staff were very accommodating when I requested an evening meal and they made me a special vegan pizza. I got the same treatment when I requested a breakfast and they made sure that I was looked after.

I would recommend this hotel and I would consider staying here again. My husband and I really enjoyed other parts of the island so we would probably travel around a little bit more instead of staying in one location. There were car rental companies very close by and if you make a reservation with them they will pick you up from your hotel and bring you to collect your car. Upon returning the car they will then drop you back to your hotel if you request it. We didn’t know this was an option until the front-desk staff at the Royal Lahaina informed us.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. There are so many different plants and flowers and the gardens are beautifully maintained. I really enjoyed the wildlife here as well, there are so many different coloured birds that frequent the area. They like to pounce on the table after you’ve finished eating to get any leftover crumbs! The beach was beautiful, very clean, golden sands, crystal clear water. There’s a great snorkel spot about 200 metres up the beach to the north - coral reefs filled with tropical fish. There are also sea turtles in the area and sometimes they swim right by the hotel.

Maui is a stunning island, I would recommend everyone sees it at least once. Paradise is an accurate word to describe it.

Room Tip: Top floor has excellent views but can be quite noisy due to air conditioning units on the roof. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha. Thank you very much for the kind review and for selecting the Royal Lahaina for your honeymoon. You have noted some very good information that I believe will be helpful for other visitors. So glad that you and your husband enjoyed Maui and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Paradise again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Lahaina 2 yrs ago for 10 nights. Booked a oceanview room and when we checked in, they asked if we wanted to upgrade to the 2 bedroom suite for $100 more a night. We did and it was fabulous!!! The room was spotless newly renovated and the views of the mountain, ocean and both Molokai and Lanai were amazing. So glad the hotel gave us the opportunity to upgrade! Liked how hotel and both pools are close to the ocean. Doesn't take all day to walk from hotel to the beach. Very friendly and relaxed staff from check in to check out. They really made the whole trip so much more enjoyable. Tiki bar by the pool had happy hour, great drinks and really good food. Breakfast was also very good. Would recommend to anyone. Not a super posh hotel-but super clean, very nice, great staff, great location. We are staying again this Sept!! Can not wait.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Heather. Thank you for the 5-Star rating. So glad that you are returning in September! Will contact you personally to make sure all is in order for your visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was very nice. We had an ocean view (not ocean front) for less than $1000 for 3 nights which in Maui is relatively cheap and a bargain.

The bed was very hard and the mattress seemed to slip down on one side of the bed, which bothered my mother more than me. But the room was very well decorated and Hawaiian in nature.

The bathroom was not very big but stylish and the wifi was not free (nor could we find the hotspot to even pay to use it) but they had a computer with 15 minute access in guest services which was good.

This is a hotel in a central location to the beach and other areas, including Whalers Village which has a complimentary shuttle from the hotel.

The Luau was great, don't book online though it is cheaper to book at the concierge.

The restaurant had great food and it was reasonable. So we ate here a few nights which was awesome. The pool was also very nice, but when you have a beach it really doesn't matter too much

If you want a decent price for a nice hotel in Maui then stay here. I would stay here again to have an enjoyable holiday that doesn't break the bank.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the positive review. Glad to read that you found the Royal Lahaina to offer a good value for your holiday. We hope that you will come back to Maui and stay with us again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel was perfect. Welcoming, open, breezy lobby area. Classy, yet homey. In booking, we were a little concerned because the hotel is considered one of the oldest in the area but were pleasantly surprised what a gem it truly is. It is a bit away from the others, so you don't feel crowded with one resort on top of the other. The room was very nice, and we just had a standard (!) with a partial (but very very nice) ocean view. Not too "busy" with kids running everywhere, perfect for a family with teens. Two pools overlooking the ocean, a tiki bar, shuffleboard, tennis courts. Nice! Definitely would stay again, and encourage those who want a relaxing hotel to stay here! The security and equipment rental personnel were extremely helpful when my son was stung by a man-o-war, we could have asked for more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Aloha Denise. So glad that you found the Royal Lahaina to be perfect for you and your family. Sorry to hear of the situation with your son being stung. Although it can happen, this is not very common in the Kaanapali area. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.