We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Maui” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First trip to Maui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina Resort from May 1 2013 - May 6 2013. We stayed on the 5th floor. First let me say, the grounds are beautiful, but the hotel needs some work. We had an oceanfront room which cost about $400/night. The view was wonderful. The room needed some TLC. A little paint chipping from the bathroom walls and there was a little mold in the shower. There were crumbs on the counter so I don't think the maids do a very good job. At night they have a guy singing in the restaurant below the oceanfront rooms. It was nice the first night, but the other nights I wanted to hear the ocean and couldn't because the music was a little loud. And he sang every night until around 9pm. The restaurant's food and breakfast buffet was just ok. It was nice to be in Hawaii, but this hotel was certainly not worth the cost. I will not stay there again at that price.

Room Tip: If you choose oceanfront, I would go as high as you can so you don't have to hear the guy singin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit. We will have our Maintenance & Housekeeping Teams inspect the room you stayed in on the 5th floor to address the paint and shower issues mentioned. We do provide entertainment in our Terrace Lounge each evening from 6pm to 9pm, with a solo musician performing along with a Hula dancer. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    928
    876
    314
    186
    149
See reviews for
394
1227
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great views from the expensive ocean front room and a beautiful beach. But that is why I gave it 2 out of five. The people in the next room smoked in this non-smoking hotel. I had to call 4 times to get staff to come and work the problem. We struggled 3 days with them smoking. I received a call from the management a day later saying, the people smoking were unable to communicate in English and it would be better if we moved. At this point I decided not to come back and bring our extended family of 15 for our 40 anniversary next year. We dealt with the smoking until they left because we liked the view so much. We also encountered smoking by the pool and bar. The staff seems very tolerant of smoking in a non-smoking hotel. So, if you don't like cigarette smoke don't spend time here and if you like to smoke it is perfect. Remember to tell them you don't understand the no-smoking signs posted all over and you will be fine. The other annoying thing having an ocean front room is the nightly live music that is played with the sound system pointed at the hotel rooms. It can be aloud until 10:00 pm even though the front desk said 9:00 at the latest. All the weekly events are held in front of the rooms; weddings, anniversary celebrations, business events.... they also go late into the evening. If you want a peaceful vacation with a great view and no smokeing, go somewhere else, anywhere else. We will be searching for another Maui hotel with a ocean front view that enforces the no-smoking law.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha. Very sorry about the frustration and displeasure that resulted from the smoking incidents during your visit. I will contact you directly to discuss this situation. Our logs indicate that Security Officers responded to two calls regarding smoking in the neighboring room. It appears there was some confusion after the first violation, due to language barriers, whereas the guests did not understand that smoking was also not permitted on the guestroom lanai's. After our Officers addressed the 2nd violation, the guests were apologetic and indicated that they now understood and would comply. The Royal Lahaina Resort is a non-smoking resort and does not permit smoking in any guestrooms or outdoor public areas, with the exception of a limited number of designated outdoor smoking areas. Guests that do not comply with the House Rules regarding smoking are charged a $200 cleaning fee and are subject to eviction should disregard for the no smoking policy continue. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our hat goes off to Mr. Tom Bell and his entire staff for providing a truly wonderful experience for our first trip to Hawaii. As native New Yorkers who recently moved to SoCal, we waited until our girls were old enough to take them on this trip. We wanted them to be able to really appreciate the beauty and rich culture of Maui, so the setting was very important to us. It was also the occasion of my wife's 40th birthday, so I wanted to make this the most memorable trip ever. And Royal Lahaina didn't disappoint!

From the moment we rolled in from the airport, we noticed genuine attention to detail. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special and welcome, providing little touches throughout that even made our 7 and 9 yr old comment about "how nice" everyone was. This 5-star treatment persisted throughout the full 7 days we stayed, and we were very thankful for it. Our cottage was incredible, starting with the views. It was a very private setting, and the proximity to the water and sand is truly unbelievable.

Incidentally, about halfway through the trip, we decided we fell in love with the island and wanted to return to Maui next year. We took our rental car around to most of the other top rated hotels in the area, starting with the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua. What we discovered is that most of these hotels are very nice if you like big, over-the-top, sprawling resorts, but NONE of them are situated close to their own beaches!! (Isn't that one of the main reasons you pick a hotel in Hawaii?!) For the Ritz, you have to take a decent hike down to the water, and most people wait to take an actual SHUTTLE. What's crazy is, from most of the hotel areas at the Ritz, you can't even see the closest (DT Flemings) beach.

At Royal Lahaina, you are spending less per comparable room, but in our opinion, getting so much more for your money. And...you feel like you're actually at the beach and part of a genuine Maui experience! Kaanapali deserves its ranking as America's #1 beach...Just take a look at the photos on www.royallahaina.com and see for yourself..it seriously doesn't get better than this.

Royal Lahaina has a good amount of options re: food, and the drinks at Don's Beach Bar are killer (my wife and I kept ordering the Don 'Jitos.. seriously off the charts). What we really liked about the dining and bar experience overall is that everything is very intimate, comfortable, and feels at home. And, once again, you're right by the beach and the beautiful Pacific. You also have a few great options right on the resort, like Basil Tomatoes (some of the best Italian food we've had in a while, and we're from NYC originally!) and even the Royal Scoop ice cream/sandwich bar which my kids couldn't get enough of. And the resort's Luau is top notch from a performance perspective, a must-do for any first timer to the island.

Now the best for last. Since it was my wife's 40th, I wanted to make the moment last forever. I swore my two daughters to secrecy a month prior, and told them that I wanted to surprise their Mom with a renewal of vows (this took a little bit of explaining ;)). Anyhow, I made up a story and
told my wife that we were invited to a "white party" at the resort, so she was instructed to pack nice white dresses for herself and the girls to "comply with the dress code". And then I called Amy Johnston at the resort's "Romance Center", told her my hare-brained scheme and what I roughly wanted, and she arranged the rest...soup to nuts.

The surprise went off without a hitch, and we had a local violin-playing minister, an amazing photographer and videographer recording everything, and perhaps the most beautiful setting with gorgeous flowers, elaborate leis, elegant canopied altar, and an incredible backdrop of Kaanapali beach and the sun setting in the distance. I was floored, and my wife (who typically hates surprises) told me this was the most thoughtful thing I had ever done! Unbelievable memories, and all thanks to the wonderful resort staff and management for making these moments possible.

In summary, this was one of our best family vacations ever. We're forever grateful to the Royal Lahaina, and we'll be back next year for certain!

BB

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha! Wow.... Helping our guests to create life-long memories is one of the top goals for all of our Management and Staff. So happy to read that you were pleased with so many aspects of your visit and the resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next year and for many years to come! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff was very friendly. It was right on a white sand beach which was great for watching the sunset. The room and hotel was very clean. The mattress was super comfortable. I only have two complaint about this hotel. First it was pricey, for the room and the food. The second was we were suppose to have a particle ocean view but the roof of the kitchen off our balcony. So not only did we not get the view we paid for but we also got to listen to industrial fans running 24/7.

Room Tip: I would suggest being on at least the forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha! Thank you very much for the positive review of your recent stay. Happy to read that you were pleased with the service you received and the hotel. When researching Maui potential guests will find that the Royal Lahaina offers one of the most affordable and best value options available in the Kaanapali Beach Resort area. Our Partial Ocean View category offers "limited/partial views of the ocean and surrounding areas from the guestroom lanai (patio)". Additional descriptions of what guests can anticipate from all room categories and view types selected can be found online. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico,CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Has good snorkeling off beach. Valet parking best, only $5 more(otherwise $10) otherwise parking a a bit away. Front desk not real knowledgeable on hotel,thank goodness they have a hospitality office. We went with the Standard room(not rate saver) ask to stay on 4th floor,rather that 3rd...it overlooks the roof with all the TV dishes:/ Food & drinks at hotel .....very good, especially the Pina Colada:) Breakfast buffet a bit pricey,$ 21. Pretty good in a pinch. Servers, Valet attendants all very helpful. Big draw back.....you will pay $10 per day for WiFi.

Room Tip: For the moderate priced room (standard) 4th floor best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Aloha! Mahalo for the feedback on your recent stay. Sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and the resort. As noted, our in-room internet connectivity charge is $10 per day. Wi-fi access in our lobby is complimentary for guests and we also have two computer stations with internet service available for complimentary guest use in our Guest Relations Office. We are currently in the midst of setting up complimentary wi-fi service for guests on our outdoor oceanfront pool deck as well. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 years ago and had a wonderful experience. Coming back May 22. Buffet breakfast was wonderful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. No complaints. Hope our stay is as good the second time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Aloha! So happy that you are coming back to Maui and the Royal Lahaina. We look forward to your visit and in making it as wonderful as last time. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very nice and helpful. We were assigned first a room on the fifth floor, but our friend told us the Internet DOSENT work too well on the below seven floors. The front desk was very kind and changed us to the seventh floor. I regret to informed that yesterday it took over one hour to try to hook to the Wi-fi; we call downstairs. this morning it took 30 minutes to do the same! that Wi-fi is crucial when in need of checking your travel plans! Please get this matter resolved.The view from our room on the West side was fenomenal. Could see the ocean, golf course, very nice. If an front ocean view is a must, ask for the North side, and be very specific to full view not partial. We did notice that Tripadvisor had certify this Resort with four stars in the year 2012 given by its guests, so the Resort got a certificate of Excellence. ( see my photos ). The Resort is beautiful and above all is charming; has the flavor of old Hawaii, without steril decor, and crowded Hotels. We found it to be also quiet, peaceful, romantic and without the Honolulu crowds!! Has a fabulous Beach front with immediate access. The hotel, rooms, grounds and beach are very clean. The location is absolutely great; close enough to Whalers Village and also Lahaina. If not crazy about a walk, look for the trolley. For the aggravation, time waited that the wi-fi problem offer us, we can't give this Resort an excellent score. We otherwise recommended it tremendously, we shall return and pray we can have a decent Internet service. Aloha...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback. I will be checking with our IT Manager today regarding the wifi issues. Our service provider installed additional routers/modems in the Tower very recently to increase the signal, but it appears from your message there are still some issues. In the mean time, for any guests who are having trouble with the signal, each room is also hard-wired for high-speed internet access and ethernet cables are available at our Front Desk. Thank you again for all of your positive feedback, we look forward to your return! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;