We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

LOVED this hotel! It felt very luxurious, but not at all overdone. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with very comfortable beds--and they even provided soft pilows (a rarity, even at good hotels).The hotel staff is helpful, and the atmosphere is perfect. The location is ideal--wonderful beachfront, but close enough to Whaler's Village and Lahaina to make those outings easy. I was happy I could get coffee and a muffin to go each morning at the Royal Scoop--it was so pleasant to take that outside and watch the ocean. One morning I went to a short presentation by the Pacific Whale Institute. An enthusiastic biologist told us lots about the sea life and the islands. My onlyl complaint is that the wi-fi signal didn't work at all in our room, but it really didn't matter too much--I could pick it up in the lobby, and it was good to be unplugged for a few days. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Mahalo for the 5-Star review! Glad that you loved your experience with us. We have just installed additional routers/modems in our Tower this past week so the wifi signal should be better now. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    929
    337
    186
    152
See reviews for
415
1,316
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights and got married there before jetting off to another island. We arrived late on our first night and staff were wonderful to us. After reading other reviews, I realized that we did not receive a layout of the hotel during check in either but that gave us an excuse to wonder around during our morning walk. The beach out front is great, not to crowded and if you want to enjoy the pool there's two of them with a great view.

We had a ocean view room in the tower on the 8th floor, excellent!! The room didn't have a microwave so that was a little bit of a bummer. My husband and I plan to go back and maybe get a condo for a longer stay. Overall stay, very wonderful. If you are getting married at the resort, Geraldine at the Romance Center was great! Nothing like getting married and not have to worry about a thing!

Room Tip: Don't get a room below 6th floor if you want a good view of the ocean if staying at the tower :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Congratulations! Happy to read that you were pleased with the resort and that all was great for your wedding. I will be sure to pass along your review to Geraldine. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Be sure to go for deluxe ocean view. Be aware there is no microwave but there is a refrigerator. Take the trolley to Whalers Village. The Trading Company good place to buy souvenirs. We shipped presents home. Went through Costco travel- good deal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive review! Glad that you enjoyed our location and were pleased with the value we offer. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 7 days. When we first checked in, we were not given any information on the lay out of the hotel. We did not get Internet as it was an extra $10 charge per day, but they actually give you an hour complimentary wifi, we just didn't find out about it until the very last day. With that being said, the wifi was impossible to get on! Most of the time, we just used the computers at the Guest Service. We were told that we could exchange towels at the concierge as the towel place was only open 8-5. But when we left on an early morning to Paia, I was told they didn't give out towels at the concierge. The first time we went to get towels, the girls just started talking to us about booking trips and tours for 20 minutes even though we never asked. At first, we were being charged for valet parking for a couple of days, even though I specifically asked for self parking. But they were able to correct it for me quickly. When I booked through WestJet, I specifically asked for a room at a higher ground, however I was assigned a room only on the 4th floor. There is definitely some miscommunication going on here and wrong information are being given out. Even though it was confusing at times, our stay was great. The rooms were so comfortable! Housekeeping was consistent. The view was amazing and the beach was gorgeous! Just be aware, they don't actually have fridges, they have "mini bars", which are basically cooler that will keep cold foods cold. If you need to make something cold... Good luck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Sorry for the confusion and miscommunication you experienced, but glad to hear it didn't keep you from having a great stay. We have just met with our Internet Service provider and additional modems have been added in our tower to boost signals. Moving forward free wifi will be available in our lobby areas and we will continue to offer free internet access, computer and printer usage in our Guest Relations office. In-room internet access will continue to be charged at $9.99 per day. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I decided to go to Maui alone to celebrate my 40th birthday on March 30th. I enjoyed the 5 nights i spent at the Royal Lahaina.. Staff was very accomodating and helpful.Beautiful view and very clean surroundings. Had my room upgraded on my arrival which i deeply appreciated and an upgrade to VIP seating at the Luau. If I had to do it all over again it would certainly be the Royal Lahaina Resort in beautiful Maui

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! So glad that you enjoyed your 40th Birthday stay at the Royal Lahaina. Mahalo for the 5-Star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina on our recent honeymoon, and we were very impressed with the accommodations. It was our first trip to Hawaii, and we definitely got the welcoming "aloha" spirit from everyone we came in contact with at the Royal Lahaina. My husband especially liked that the person at the gate always said "welcome home" when we drove in. We definitely felt at home during the 10 nights we spent there. It's on a great beach, the grounds are beautiful (with lots of exotic plants and flowers), and we especially liked the evening entertainment by the pool (a guitarist and a Hawaiian dancer most nights).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the kind review. Very happy that you were pleased with the resort and had a nice Honeymoon stay. We hope we can welcome you back in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only stayed one night while extending our vacation before our condo was ready. Very nice location on a great beach and if it is your thing, shopping. Room could use some updating but very comfortable. Staff was accommodating and helpful in suggestions of places to visit during our stay. Concierge on property was not helpful for our needs. Breakfast was very good buffet but one had to always stay back to guard against birds absconding with your food while returning to buffet. That being said, the outdoor dining with an exceptional view, more than made up for that inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for the positive feedback. Happy to read that you enjoyed your brief stay. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.