We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

When we got there we had reserved a little cottage or cabin on the beach but they were being remodeled, we were a little disappointed but they gave us a very nice newly remodeled room, ocean view, the bed was amazing!! The resort was nice not huge there was one restaurant we ate breakfast there several times it was good... The resort is right on the beach but the snorkeling right there wasn't great...

We would walk over to a different resort beach, it was maybe a 15 minute very nice walk right along the beach but here there was this huge rock I can't remember what it was called but the fish and turtles loved this area... We snorkeled there probably 5 of the 7 days we stayed and saw all different kinds of fish and sea turtles, I actually touched one!! It was so awesome!

We mainly ate at restaurants on the strip area because we like to try new things. We rented a car and drove all over the island. I have no complaints about our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Mahalo for your kind review. The snorkeling area mentioned is called Black Rock, located towards the south side of our resort. It is definitely one of the most popular spots for snorkeling on the island. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    930
    339
    187
    152
See reviews for
415
1,320
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Before going on vacation I read a lot of reviews about this property and was concerned about the reviews. Some people loved it and some hated it. Well, this hotel was PERFECT. We were upgraded a few floors higher. Our room had a perfect view of the water, golf course and mountains. We were very happy with it.
Parking Lot: There is a charge for the parking and spaces are very tight but there is plenty of space available. You may have to walk a couple of minutes. A few nights a week they have a Luau and guests from other properties will utilize the parking spots and that's when it gets a little busy there.
Towels: I found a lot of complaints about towels. We had NO problems with them. We had plenty in the room. We did not have cleaning service every day (our choice) and we requested fresh towels once and they gave it to us, no problem. By the pool there is a stand where you can get towels for the pool and beach.
Food: We did eat once for breakfast, I will say it is overpriced, even for buffet. We did eat a few times for dinner at the property and it was great. Hotel restaurants over usually pricier but I didn't find it too expensive.
Hotel is in a perfect location. Perfect for a relaxing vacation. Beach was beautiful and very clean. Staff was very friendly as well. I would highly recommend this place and this will be the place we stay every time we visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review! I am glad that you enjoyed our resort and appreciate the great feedback on parking and the towels. Current pricing for our breakfast buffet is $21, and includes a large variety of hot and cold items, as well as juices, coffee, and other beverages. We offer a special reduced price for the buffet for guests who book a room package online with us, so be sure to take a look at that option. For those who do not want a full buffet we also offer an ala carte menu for breakfast which currently has meals starting at $12 and an Early Riser Special offering eggs, breakfast meats and potatoes for $7 from 6:30a - 7:00a. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been staying at the Royal Lahaina for two weeks in February for the past five years. It is like going back home. The accommodations are perfect, always spotlessly clean, the staff is beyond description -- you are called by name and the great bar staff even remembers what we like to drink. The food in the restaurant is delicious. The loco moco is perfect. We love sitting on our lanai and enjoying the view of the ocean and often catching sight of the whales putting on quite a show. There are not enough superlatives to describe this wonderful resort. Our hats are off to Gilbert, Ford, Braulio, Richard, Mark, Jose and Ricco. Thank you, Tom Bell, for putting together this wonderful team of truly exceptional people. We look forward to seeing you all again next February.

Room Tip: We always request a partial ocean view and like staying on the 10th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Mahalo from your Ohana at the Royal Lahaina Resort! Thank you so much for the kind review and for making us your resort of choice on Maui! See you next February. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first night even though we reserved almost a yr. ahead, was in a room, where when we entered the room we found the toilet plugged, almost no towels, and a sticky carpet throughout the room. When we complained the front desk said it was the last room available. The other nights they did give us a nice room that did have a king bed instead of the two beds which were in the bad room. Very disappointed to be treated this way and when we complained the front desk man laughed.
After the first night our room was fine but we did not get a good first impression of the hotel.

We will not be back
Note hotel restaurant and bar close at 10:00

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your visit. The first night experience you describe is definitely not the impression we want guests to have of us and I apologize to you for this. I will email you to review this further and hope that we can repair this situation, regain your confidence and welcome you back as a future guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Lahaina on our honeymoon. We had a beautiful room with an ocean view. There was a HUGE breakfast buffet every morning. Everyone was really nice. We plan on going back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Mahalo for the great review! Happy to learn that we helped in making your Honeymoon all that you hoped for. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The view from our room was to die for. Hotel was spotless, staff was very friendly. The bathroom is very small. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, it was included with our package, it has something for everybody. My wife was very disappointed, they don't have a spa. I would definitely recommend a rental car. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the 5-Star review! So happy that you enjoyed your visit. As you suggest, I think a rental car is a good recommendation for most of our guests. Maui is very easy to drive around and having a car allows you to explore the island at your own pace. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Myself and husband stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in nov 12 for our honeymoon. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Our cottage room was a little dated but very clean and although our shower didn't work it was fixed before we came back from breakfast which we were really impressed with.
We had a buffet breakfast on the 1st morning and was a little shocked at the bill ( worth it for big eaters, a little pricy as for little eaters as I don't believe I ate my money's worth) but we explored along the beach walk and found the "castaway cafe" and a little further away "dukes" both had vey friendly staff and food was excellent.
Supermarket in walking distance so managed to buy food for lunch and drinks to keep costs down.
Spent most days laying by the pool and loved the fact you could walk to sea for a quick dip if you didn't want to go in pool. Pool was nice a clean but a little cold so I recommend you just jump in.
Room service was fantastic and portion sizes are huge ( don't order two portions of anything for two as there is more than enough to share)
Whalers village is a short walk away and was amazing, lots of great shops but people tend to eat early and there were long waits to get in to restaurants.
Went to nearest town a few times ( can't remember name) and again lovely shops and can recommend Hard Rock Cafe and cheeseburger paradise, both fab service and great food.
If your flight is late in evening hotel provide a hospitality room for half hr, you need to book this in advance which we weren't swear of so unfortunately we had to have a shower at 1pm because all the later times had gone so we didn't want to sit out in sun to get all hot and sweaty so we remained in the bar eating nachos and drinking mai tai's which my husband loved during happy hour!
Overall our honeymoon was magical and we would love to come back one day, maybe on our 50th anniversary as we are from England so it's an expensive holiday but we would live to stay in one of the cottages on the sea front next time.
Thank-you for an amazing honeymoon that we will never forget ( not that we can as we made our very own Maui honeymoon baby, due in August) x x x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha. Thank you for the 5-Star review. Glad that we were able to help in making your Honeymoon magical. Congratulations, so happy that we have another Maui honeymoon baby on the way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.