We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoable stay, spectacular beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoable stay, spectacular beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is a bit old and a dated, but rooms are well maintained and very clean. My garden room was comfortable and spacious. Beach next to the hotel is simply spectacular and not crowded. A short ride from the restaurants and clubs. Hotel restaurant was very good. If you look for a comfy bed great location, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Grazie! We appreciate your positive review. Glad that you enjoyed our resort and especially the beach. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    889
    325
    186
    150
See reviews for
402
1,252
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked this hotel through a travel package company using the "romance" package. As far as the resort goes, it was clean and well kept. The shower had decent pressure and was roomy. Though, if long, hot showers are important, I would look elsewhere. The in-room bathroom provided privacy. The bed was comfortable. A little more storage space would have been nice though. We had to keep most of our clothes in our bags as a result. If you are like me and apply make-up daily- the lighting in there was terrible. One side of the mirror was shadowed the whole time. The view from the balcony was partial ocean view. The central air worked well. There is a hot tub on grounds but it is a bit of a walk from the hotel. The map they provided wasn't very clear so we did a bit of exploring before finding it. Valet service was prompt and friendly. The pineapple infused water in the lobby is fantastic. The breakfast buffet had a great variety of fruits, pastries, meats, juices, and breads. The eggs were sub-par but everything else I had was great. The dining area is an open-air sort of thing and birds are constantly in and out. They will jump on your chairs, table, and even eat from your plate. Our first morning there, a bird defecated on our table. They are finch-type birds. The staff was so-so as far as friendliness goes. Some are nicer than others. We came to the conclusion that it was like that all over Maui. One gets the feeling the locals hate the tourists.

Our first evening there we had the worst service in the restaurant. Our server (Tyson, I think) was negligent to the point that we waited 20 minutes for our first beverage and had to remind him about it. He brought me the wrong pasta but I ate it anyway because I was so hungry. (My flight had been rerouted an extra two hours then we were caught in traffic (yadda yadda ya). The pesto was under seasoned and the chicken was very dry. I had to keep drinking water to get it down my throat. Needless to say, we did not go back for dinner there. The bartenders were another story. They were attentive, conversational and personable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha. Very happy to read that you found the resort to be well kept, and were pleased with our breakfast buffet, and the service you received from our valet attendants and bartenders. Sorry about your experience with the birds. Like most resorts here on Maui we find that feathered friends are definitely experienced at making use of the indoor/outdoor aspects of our open-air facilities. Thank you also for your candid feedback regarding your dinner on the first evening. I will be sure to share your review with our Food and Beverage Team so that we can positively address this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Maui. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place is the real deal.
Lovely rooms, lovely staff, lovely position.
Stunning view from our balcony - whales breaching just off shore.
Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. Nice linens. All facilities that you would need.
Ka'anapali beach is fantastic. Snorkelling, swimming, SUPing, all at your doorstep.
Their in-house booking offices were super useful and convenient. (Very good for locals tips etc!) Far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the major resorts to have a quiet stretch of beach to itself! The best part for us was that there's no real kids programs or such. So it was much quieter and peaceful for those of us not interested in the poolside screaming and yelling, and having to dodge 'cannonballers' when you just want a nice, quiet swim.
Lahaina is a short bus ride away and the service is pretty good (if not a bit 'relaxed'). There's also Whalers Village a short stroll away, and the Fairway Shops for conveniences. The Beach Bar has happy hour every day with $6 (good quality) Mai Tai's and $4 tap beers. Sitting on the beachside tables watching the sunset is a suuuuuper way to end your day!
Highly recommend!! Will definitely return!
Oh PS Anyone who complains about the parking being so far away, is absolutely full of it. Its absolutely max. 100m/yards away from the main building. Plus they'll cart you out to your car if you ask!!

Room Tip: Try to get a price match and they'll upgrade you for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! Super glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that you are planning to return. Thank you also for your positive note regarding the resort parking. Your feedback on the proximity of the parking and added services our bellmen are happy to provide is definitely accurate and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our room was nice with the view being what we expected. The room was clean and quite plain (no little added touches). There was a nice restaurant and also fairly nice pools with water a bit colder than expected for a tropical climate. The beach was right there and a beautiful beach that stretched for a long way. The parking was terrible: no assigned parking, which is fine, but very difficult to find a spot, if not impossible on luau night, which seemed to be every night. The spaces were so small that there might have been one foot on each side to get out. Many people with nice cars parked way over the line and who can blame them. All that for a fee of $10 per night. We would not return as the 2 condos we had before were way above what was expected.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the west side in order to get some sun and sunset views; our room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. Glad that you enjoyed the resort. Sorry that you found parking difficult. The lot does get busy in the evening when our popular luau is taking place and particularly when we are running high occupancies. All of our hotel guests are guaranteed a parking spot in our self parking lot (our bell/valet attendants can assist in locating a parking spot if you are having difficulty finding one) and we also offer valet parking for those who prefer this service. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Royal Lahaina is a beautiful resort; friendly staff, well maintained rooms and facilities, the staff at the tour desk are really helpful and the outlook from the ocean view rooms is spectacular!

As a young single (32) though I found this resort geared more to older couples. Whilst everyone is still super friendly you probably won't find a drinking buddy here to go bar hopping with through Ka'anapali & Lahaina. On the flip side, if you want to be close to the beach and have a really relaxed holiday this is the place to be!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are great on the north side of the tower, I was on the 11th floor. There are un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mahalo for the positive review! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lahaina resort while in Maui, and it was beautiful. The rooms were spacious and the amenities were very good. The only complaint I have is the staff. We arrived very late around 9PM. We were greeted with a cranky front desk staff and told the room we had booked, partial ocean view, had been sold out. We were offered another room in a hotel 3-4 minutes away. Because it was late and we had been traveling all day, we declined. Suddenly, there was a room available for us. I really had to wonder what happened to change the availability of the room in the 5 minutes we were standing there. The following morning when we went down to breakfast, the hostess for the hotel was very curt, bordering on rude. We were told to go stand against a wall, and she would not answer how long the wait would be.

All in all, I would recommend the hotel, but would encourage the management to give the staff some lessons on customer service and politeness. The rest of our stay has been very nice however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback on your visit. The Royal Lahaina prides itself in sharing the aloha spirit and in assisting all of our guests in making the most of their Hawaiian vacation. I am sorry to hear that we did not provide the level of service to you that we are normally praised for. I will be sure to share your review and experience with both our Front Desk and Restaurant Managers and Associates, so that we can continue to strive for complete guest satisfaction. Glad to hear that you enjoyed our facility, and that the rest of your stay was very nice. We hope you will allow us a future opportunity to offer our services to you. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had an ocean view room and it was a show stopper. They tried to get us to upgrade to an ocean front, but our view was pretty incomparable, so no need to spend the extra money. The restaurant had a torch lighting ceremony every night at sunset that was unbeatable. And the musician and dancer were top-quality--so smooth and soothing. And the food was good and reasonably priced. There's a fabulous ice cream shop on the grounds as well. The pool is a nice size and the hotel is right on a beautiful beach. There is a boardwalk for a longer stroll along the beach, but walking in the sand

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room as close to the ocean as possible--no need to spend the extra cash for an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLR_SAGER, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Mahalo for the Five-Star review! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.