We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our third stay at The Royal Lahaina and it was just as great as our first! Everything is as we remembered it, though it appears they are making small improvements/upgrades here and there such as new lounger chairs by the pools. It also looks like some of the cottages are getting newer upgrades, though we were not able to see inside them. We stayed in a cottage as usual and we love them! Sure the tower is beautiful, but the cottages offer something unique that you can't find anywhere else. It is great to walk out your front door and be right outside with your own little yard. No need to wait for an elevator! They are putting up dividers between the lanais of the cottages (which they didn't used to have) which is an added bonus if you're looking for privacy. I can't say enough great things about this resort.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages! Especially the ones on the golf course. Great view of the mountains, and als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    840
    819
    292
    177
    143
See reviews for
351
1134
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, as we were island hopping. The staff were very kind and inviting. The hotel was in a nice location on the upper western side of the island. I enjoyed the room decor, even if it wasn't ultra-modern. It was nice to see all the wood work. The bed wasn't all that comfy, but I was tired so I didn't really care. The pools and beach at the resort were top-notch. My only complaint is the price gouging for the snorkel gear rental. By the time we were done we probably could have bought the set. I recommend the resort, but rent the snorkel gear from elsewhere :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syd Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was a little worried after reading some of the negative comments on this particular hotel however the stay was great. We stayed from 26/10/12-29/10/12. The room was a regular room in the tower which we booked on expedia. However when we walked into the room we could see some ocean so i considered it a partial ocean view! I get that the reception and concierge staff are not the friendliest but i did not have to deal with them anyway. We were here when the Tsunami warnings went out and the staff at the hotel dealt with it really really well. Although the 3rd & 4th floor had to be evacuated (we were on the 3rd floor), the staff were great throughout the whole situation. The bell boys are extremely helpful & polite. The expedia team onsite were EXTREMELY helpful & fantastic with booking our activites. I suggest renting a car in Maui however the hotel charge for parking. I would stay in the tower again. The cottages however didnt look too good and i think that is where the negative comments are coming from. The king bed is probably the most comfy bed i have ever slept in!!! Whalers Villlage (shopping) is 10 minute walk from hotel. I think management have to teach the reception & concierge to be a little more friendly though.

Room Tip: Choose the tower and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We traveled to Maui for a family wedding, booked at Royal Lahaina. Staff was friendly and the rooms were updated and clean, though the facility has clearly been around awhile. The ocean view room (top floor) was great (although we were talked into an upgrade by the desk person - apparently a common pitch) and the beach itself beautiful That said, there were a few things that could be improved: the lighting in the bathroom area is horrible and unsuitable for applying makeup; here are no hooks to hang wet swimsuits or clothing; the restaurant check in process for breakfast is horribly inefficient and there was no hotel information in the room - you know, the binder that is usually in a room to tell about the facilities, location of various things, hours of restaurant, etc. The location was central to everything on the northwest shore and worked well for our gathering but it will likely not be a hotel we will pick on our next visit.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the tower definitely offer the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Royal Lahaina is in the most perfect location on Kaanapali Beach and has so much amazing potential. However, the hotel seems to lack good management, which is illustrated in the inattention to the details that differentiate an average hotel/resort from a great one or even a good one!

We stayed on the 7th floor of the tower and the room had clearly been recently renovated. It was a very nice room with a good-sized lanai with 2 chairs. There also seemed to be decent noise control as we didn't hear much from other rooms (except people dragging their chairs across their lanais). The bed was OK--a little too soft for my taste and left my back hurting for the first hour or so each day. The bathroom was a bit lacking--a fairly large sink area (which is good!) and a tiny room with a toilet (which squeaked every few minutes) and shower. The shower was very small, but had great water pressure (once the hot water finally kicked in). The lighting was terrible (ladies, forget about plucking your eyebrows or even seeing any details on your face). A small lighted face mirror could fix that. I loved the toiletries that the hotel provides, though. I had similar ones on my first trip to HI (on Oahu) many years ago and it brought back good memories.

There was a standard safe and a nice-sized closet, although it would have been nice to have a second suitcase stand (why on earth would a hotel only provide one suitcase stand in a resort where there is invariably more than one person staying in a room?).

The biggest disappointment was with the towels and housekeeping. First, when you DO get towels, they are old and worn. Sometimes you get a bath mat and sometimes you don't. Sometimes you get hand towels. Sometimes you get none, sometimes you get one, and sometimes you get three. Once we got one nice, huge, fluffy bath towel, but other times we got teeny, tiny towels that would be big for a five-year old. The housekeeping service was incredibly inconsistent. Considering that this seems to be a long-standing and common complaint, the only reason for this can be poor management. They also didn't seem to clean the sink area very well as there were easily visible rings and other marks left on the counter. Nor did they seem to clean the back of the toilet (where the seat lifts up). On a positive, they seemed to clean the shower very well, especially with all of the sand that we undoubtedly tracked in!

Other things that would be nice would be an alarm clock that has a dimmer. The clock was so bright that it lit up the room at night. Where that would be nice would be in the bathroom so that the big overhead light wouldn't have to be switched on in the middle of the night.

The parking situation is terrible. First, the fact that you have to pay to park on the premises is simple price gouging, which seems to be quite common in such a touristy town (I don't recall experiencing such gouging on the other islands). Second, the guest parking is shared with the luau, so unless you are parking before 4:00 or between about 8:30 and 9:30, you have to park waaaaayyyy in the back. Again, a good manager would be able to see this as a problem and have staff direct luau parking from the back forward instead of the other way around so that hotel guests have priority.

The other disappointment was in how the grounds were laid out. There was a hot tub, but it was so inconveniently located that I never went--it was across the parking lot and around tennis courts. Who designed that? And why was one (or two) never put in where the pools are on the beach side of the resort? I suppose that would make too much sense?

To end on a positive, the breakfast was excellent! It was a buffet with any and all of the Western-style breakfast items you could want, including lots of fresh, local fruit. Make sure that you get it included in your package, though. No breakfast in the world is worth $22 a person! Also, we found the staff to be very nice and helpful. There's one guy who staffs the security shack who always says "Welcome Home" when you come back, which was very nice. The activities desk person was also very helpful (and make sure you ask for the AAA discount if you have an account!).

We had dinner at the hotel once, and it was good and quite reasonable relative to the location. At sunset they do a small torch-lighting ceremony, which was nice. And, as mentioned, the location can't be beat. It's a short walk away from Black Rock, which, in my opinion, had much better snorkeling than Molokini.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you are OK with average (my gold standard for tropical resorts is the Koa Kea on Kauai). Just make sure that you compare prices carefully so that you aren't paying more than you need to. As one example, after we returned I read about a groupon deal that would have given free parking and would have saved me $70!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in the ocean veiw inn and the accommodations were not bearable. The view was great but the room was not in any condition to stay. The bed was something we burned in the 60's. Each spring could be felt and the care of the room was like the bed. I'm sure if you stayed in the new towers of the resort you would be very satisfied. The location of the Royal Lanaina is great; the beach is excellent and restaurant has great service and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in the towers; its the newer section. most rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in an ocean front cottage...enjoyed our Groupon complimentary breakfast buffet, parking, and Luau. You can walk to good snorkelig at Black Rock or the beach in front of the Westin. Swimming in the moring is wonderful...afternoon tradewinds are great to cool you off but too strong to enjoy snorkeling. Snorkel early...seista noonish (Hawaiin time) to 4pm...enjoy the sunset on the beach walk...perfect. :)

Room Tip: The ocean front cottages provide the most privacy and are close enough to all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui
Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.