We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, What a Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Lahaina, Hawaii
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Oh, What a Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff here are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a cottage as opposed to the hotel itself. The grounds are lovely and reminscent of old Hawaii. The restaurant has excellent food and very good drinks. Our big adventure started with a tsunami warning, sirens, the whole thing. We expected to be put up on a higher floor in the hotel but instead were transported by golf cart to higher ground which ended up being a train stop. A bunch of cottage dwellers were sprawled on picknic tables wrapped in blankets for about 3 hours until the all clear. We then returned to our beds. Overall it was a fairly entertaining event. I will stay here again if only for the food and staff.

Room Tip: The cottages are very clean and comfortable. Definately worth the reduced price. I was not aware t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    929
    337
    186
    152
See reviews for
415
1,317
49
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrawong, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here Oct 2012. Wonderful ! The beach was great. Clear water and quieter than the others , as it was one of the last resorts on this stretch of beach. We stayed in the ocean view rooms and loved the view. The rooms were clean and modern. Pools could do with an update. Saw lots of beautiful sunsets while having afternoon cocktails at the beach bar. Restaurant was average. We had a driver recommended to us so we used him as transport to Lahaina every night so we could have a variety. Bubba Gump , pizza etc. Whalers Village is a ten minute walk if you want a basic meal or dine at other resorts. ( please visit Yoghurt Land whilst at Whalers. You will love it ). All in all loved my stay here and would recommend this resort. My only real complaint would be the car park. Had to park so far away in the car park as it was always full and very tight parking spots. Was quite frustrating. The most disappointing part of my stay would be the staff at this resort. Never got a smile off any of them. They all acted like they did not want to be there. Starting from staff at the front ,staff at the restaurant and staff at the beach bar. The maids were the friendliest staff members there .Upon checking out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay . We did not get a smile or a thank you.. I did make a comment on how unfriendly the staff was were quite loudly as i was quite fed up at this stage.Such a shame as tourists keep these people employed . If you don't expect friendly smiles and helpful staff you will love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe ocean view. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed the resort it was comfortable wish it had a bigger hottub and that it was closer to the rooms i thaught everyone was friendly my husband thaught it was a little boring not much of a nightlife

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Royal Lahaina at least a dozen times, and our choice has always been the Cottage accomodations, although every room we have stayed in has always been immaculate. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff. The gardens are wonderfully maintained, very colorful and informative regarding the different plant species. The beach is never crowded, always clean and peaceful. I remember when an Hawaiian elder would sit at night beside the fire pit overlooking the ocean, and talk about Hawaiian myths and legends, it was truly magical !! My husband and I would sit and watch the golfers on the Royal Kaanapali Golf Couse next door, although we never played there. Since my husband passed, I have visited on two occasions, unfortunately falling from the shuttle and breaking my wrist on arrival the first time. The hotel staff were wonderfully helpful, so kind and caring, the spirit of Aloha demonstrated loud and clear !!
After 2 long years, I will be returning to Maui with my daughter later this month, and cannot wait to be back in my Hawaiian haven!! Hope it's not too early to see a few whales! I have been visiting Hawaii since 1977 but this review is regarding my trips from 2006-2009 - I wish you all Aloha ...

Room Tip: Love the cottages....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront cottage room 25' from the beach. It was wonderful and better than we ever imagined. Beautiful beach and wonderful views, very romantic. I would come here again! It is not in the middle of all the resorts but instead it is on the end so it is quiet and a bit more private which we loved.

Room Tip: Get the cottage room, you can listen to the surf all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A great place to stay. Relaxing. Beautiful and just all around wonderful. We were celebrating our 50th anniversary and managment had a card in our room for a complementary photo. A very nice touch, and much appreciated. The bed was comfortable. The view was refreshing and soothing. We could see both ocean and mountains. The breakfasts were great,as was the service. The flowers were absolutly gorgeous. We had a wonderful time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Happy 50th Anniversary!! We wish you many mores years of Love & Aloha. Until we meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here during our honeymoon, though, so it was a pretty memorable vacation.
The pros--the view from our "partial view" room couldn't have been nicer. We saw both the mountains and the water. We also loved that the hotel is towards the end of the line of hotels. It is therefore a little more secluded, and you have fewer passerby from other hotels wandering by you at the pool.
The cons--Parking during a luau was difficult. You really need to time your arrivals well before or after them, or expect a crazy lot and a walk. The hotel also lacked some amenities--the tennis courts are fine, but we don't play tennis. A gym would be nice. So much of the hotel space is also taken up with activities desks or other various ways to sell you something, and the emphasis on this was rather offputting. We even tried to get stamps at one of the shops, and the clerk told us there was a "service fee" "for our convenience." It was only a few cents, but very indicative of our whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteK2780, Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your vacation with us. Our luau is 6 days a week and parking does get a little full during the hours of 5:30p-8p. Our Bellman in the lobby are always available to follow you with a golf cart and assist in finding a spot and bringing you back to the lobby or cottage area. Our Royal Trading Co. does supply our guests with and many shop items for easy access, it is my understanding the post office charges us a fee when we order stamps through them. I hope you will return in the future and enjoy our beautiful resort and Island of Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.