We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, friendly, your made to feel special.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Lahaina Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Lahaina Resort to your Saves list
Royal Lahaina Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, friendly, your made to feel special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Comfortable rooms, 2 pools, adjacent to beach.
Has the best Luau on the Island!
I could certainly recommend this hotel.
Only $1 to ride on the tram or bus to the nearest shops or to Lahaina centre.
We Britts find that eating anywhere on these Islands ain't cheap.
Breakfast for 2 averages at $50, evening meals for 2 around $100. Island and volcano trips between $60 to $90.
As accommodation is room only, 14 nights over on these Islands is going to run up a high credit card bill by the time you get home!
All worth it though, excellent golf courses and stunning scenery.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    1,061
    386
    215
    163
See reviews for
500
1,514
61
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

My mom was very concerned about ending up in a lower class hotel. She was totally amazed when she arrived to find the Resort was quite lavish and exceeded her expectations. She was thrilled beyond belief with the oceanview room she received as well as the ADA handicap accessibility, Valet and staff services and help! Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Lahaina last week and thought it was a perfect choice for what I was looking for. When I travel I prefer to stay away from big resorts and gravitate towards more quaint options with lots of personality, but this particular trip I was with my dad so wanted something that was easy and less DIY. The RL was a perfect compromise. The lobby is not super fancy and modern, some may actually say it's dated, all I know is when you walk into the very open charming lobby area, you feel like you are in Hawaii, and it feels good :). The rooms are newly remodeled, and while modern they did a fantastic job on the beautiful woodwork and decorations while keeping the rooms feeling charming, fresh, and Hawaiian. We stayed on the 12th floor and our view was AMAZING.

The pools are smaller and simple rather than fancy, but I though they were more than enough considering the hotel is located on a beautiful beach. I watched whales splashing around from the beach and there are lots of snorkeling too! Oh bring your own snorkel gear, it's around $25 to rent it for a day!

The staff was all really friendly and helpful. The little open restaraunt has descent food at descent prices for lunch although the breakfast buffet is a little steep at $22.

As far as the luau, if you want to get a taste of little about Hawaii's luau, and aren't worried about anything authentic then do it, but if your on the fence I'd save your money, it's pretty touristy. With that said it's pleasant and the performers are very good.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room that's high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Loved Maui and loved this hotel. The rooms in the tower are very nicely upgraded and very clean. The beds are comfy. Our ocean view room was quite far back but we could see the ocean from our balcony when we were out there otherwise our view from inside the room was of the beautiful green grounds and a bit of the golf course. We were only on the 5th floor, so when on the balcony, you really saw the roof of the lower part of the building but to be expected. Our friends upgraded to an ocean front room on the 6th floor and it was fabulous! I think it would have been worth the money to do the same but there were none left when we tried. Whales could be seen right from the beach and the ocean front room. Take binochulars to see them closer! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Royal Lahaina for 5 nights. Our room, a Tower Ocean View, was very nice, roomy, and very clean. An empty cold fridge was available for our use, and ice was just down the hall. The Terrace Restaurant served very good food, though the drinks were over priced unless you could catch their “happy hour”. The staff members (all but one) were very pleasant and helpful. The resort is located on one of the world’s top-rated beaches, though we prefer beaches with larger waves to play in. Two small pools are available. There are world-class tennis courts and gold courses onsite or nearby. The view from our balcony was superb and we loved to watch the whales jump and roll and “blow their smoke”. Speaking of, be sure to bring binoculars if you are there during whale season, which ends about mid April. A very nice and not-grossly-overpriced convenience store was onsite for souvenirs, clothing, drinks, and snacks.
On the negative side, the beach rental hut would rent you a beach chair for the day for $10. Considering you could (and should) buy a top quality beach chair for $25 at the local warehouse club and leave it behind, that price was not well received by us. On a positive note, when we grumbled a bit, the Bell Staff offered us the use of some beach chairs other vacationers left behind for free, a very kind gesture. The beach rental staff also blew up our cheap “floatie” for us (which we donated to some vacationing children on our way out). The breakfast buffet was decent though overpriced at $20 each. Parking was overpriced also at $10 daily. The TV had only about 30 basic channels.
It is hard for us to determine the good or bad value for any Tripadvisor readers, as we bought a super package through a warehouse club, making the value tremendous for us. Rack rate and list prices may not be as appealing to others. Ours included $200 meal and drink credit, free full-size car rental, free daily breakfast buffet, Myths of Maui luau (very good!), Sunset Dinner Cruise, and free parking.
This resort is not an amusement park, but a very nice place to kick back, put life aside for a week and live on Maui time.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view! The north-side rooms have the best side view, without the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Wow! What a great location! Our room was in the tower and was a fabulous view of the golf course, mountains, and ocean. We saw many whales swimming in the ocean from our room view. This hotel is top notch in many categories (don't let the negative reviews scare you!). My teenage kids loved the beach, pool, and Scoops (ice cream). We rented a surfboard that was also checked in at the front desk that we picked up everyday to try it out on the waves (which the kids also loved!). The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The pictures on the internet for the hotel are accurate as far as looks. The only somewhat negative things that I can even say are that the parking spaces are very small and the pool is not heated. We will be back in March or February 2013 and will be staying with the Royal Lahaina Resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel was very good - great service, nice restaurant, very good location. The only negative is there are some external repairs needed, such as rotted wood around the outside restaurant doors. The breakfast buffet was also very good, but at just over $20/person it was to be expected. If we go back to Maui, this hotel will be on our "short list". We purchased a package deal from Costco which cut our total expenditure in half!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, 6th floor and higher - go January through April for whale watching (you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.6 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lahaina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lahaina Resort

Address: 2780 Kekaa Drive, Kaanapali Beach, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Lahaina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Lahaina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lahaina Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Resort Maui
Royal Lahaina Maui
Royal Hotel Lahaina
Royal Lahaina Hotel Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Lahaina Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.