We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honokeana Cove Lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honokeana Cove Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Save
You added Honokeana Cove Condominiums to your Saves list
5255 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Time Offer!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honokeana Cove Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This enthusiastic and glowing review comes from a family of 5 (Mom, Dad, and kids aged 14, 12, and 9). We've just returned from a 10 day stay and bring back wonderful memories of the cove itself and of the property as well. We would look forward to returning again and again in the future! It is just the sort of property I would love to own and live in, given half a chance.

Naturally, any trip to Maui is bound to be fantastic. What we discovered this trip was the unexpected beauty and richness of Honokeana Cove, a small inlet of protected waters just south of Napili Bay. The cove has little public access, so is never crowded. The snorkeling in the calm water rivals that of world-famous Honolua Bay, up the road a short distance. We saw more than 20 turtles (we counted them one morning as they were "sleeping" in various hollows within coral and underwater lava formations), 4 cuttlefish (squid relatives), 5 eels of various sizes and colors, along with a multitude of topical fish, sometimes in swarms/schools. No matter what time of day, the swell and surge was very gentle. A few swimmers, kayakers, and stand-up paddle boarders visited the cove as well. It was nice to see others enjoying ocean activities but there was always plenty of open space. As a matter of fact, we felt more crowded by the turtles than by other people!

When we got out of the ocean, we rinsed the saltwater off ourselves and our snorkeling gear in the outdoor shower and then jumped into the pool for some freshwater fun. Our littlest enjoyed making friends with other kids his age at the pool or running around the carpet-like grass in the immaculately kept grounds of the complex. Evening time would find Mom and Dad enjoying a glass of wine (plastic, not crystal) in a lounge chair, watching the sun setting behind Molokai and then grilling a savory seafood dinner, eaten on the balcony of our condo rental, with its commanding view of the cove, the sea, and the sky.

We stayed in Unit 217, owned and operated by Bill Varnell. The condo has 3 bedrooms and 2 baths, with lots of light and airiness. Cool ocean breezes wafted through the louvered windows and the sounds of waves gently lapping the shore accompanied our sleep. It felt palatial, with plenty of room for each of us to get away for some alone time. Mr Varnell thoughtfully included everything (and lots of it!) that we needed to make us feel like we were at home away from home.

The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils, dishes, pots and pans required to make delicious meals. We've found that the cost to feed a family of 5, three times daily, for 10 days, runs up very quickly and the food we prepare ourselves is more often than not more tasty with left overs not wasted. It also makes the times that we do go out to eat more special and memorable. Besides, grilling at the outdoor gas grills was enjoyable, giving us the opportunity to meet our friendly neighbors, share stories, and play smashball on the grass. The grills utensils were meticulously cleaned and maintained by the property managers.

The beds were very comfortable, the towels large and plush, and the furnishings in Mr Varnell's condo put us at ease. The entire place was very clean and welcoming and everything worked flawlessly. It was also very reasonably priced, given that this 3 bedroom condo is oceanfront. Mr Varnell provided us with an alumni certificate, allowing us to return in the future at a discounted rate as well. During our stay, he emailed us to make sure everything was OK. The attentiveness as well as the attention to detail were all very much appreciated.

We feel very fortunate, indeed, to have discovered Honokeana Cove and, particularly, Unit 217! We'll definitely return as often as possible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We started coming to Honokeana for our 25th anniversary. That was 38 years ago. At first it was a week and now it is four or five weeks in January when one cannot garden in Northern California. Probably, besides the wonderful location, the turtles, snorkeling and whale watching whales go by (I saw a baby whale born one day), the staff is outstanding. Su Campo always makes everything work and Greg, Resident Manager, does a great job to be sure the facilities are in excellent condition. We rent #107 every year. The kitchen is well equipped and the bed is very comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Aloha: My wife and I recently spent two weeks at the Honokeana Cove (unit #202). It was our fifth visit there. We found the property back in the mid 90's when we were looking for a three bedroom unit for ourselves, three kids, and in-laws. There aren't many three bedroom units right on the ocean. We booked it sight unseen and have been coming back ever since (we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maui). Why? It is an intimate (38 units) two story property with the best snorkeling on the Island right out your condo door. Each unit has a nicely appointed kitchen and there are BBQs out front so you can make your own meals rather than eating out. It also is within walking distance of Napili Market (surprisingly good prices) and MANY great restaurants. Also walking distance to sand beaches (Napili and Kapalua). What more can you ask for ? Our only complaint in the past was the number of folks from other condos that filled up the Cove because- they had heard you could snorkel with turtles (you will see them every time out !). With the recent install of a security perimeter, it is back to being a lovely, quiet Heaven !

Room Tip: We like the south end of the property on the upper floor- more private and you can watch the turtles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been vacationing at "The Cove" for 40 years. We keep coming back because we feel at home there. The unit we stay in, unit #103, is just secluded enough, beautifully decorated with a well stocked kitchen and you can't help but relax as you eat, read or just stare out over the water at the snorkelers, turtles and Molokai from the lanai. The new grounds are looking very nice and the staff always makes you feel welcome! Can't wait to get back "home"..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Honokeana Cove Resort Condos are located on a beautiful small cove, filled with turtles and tropical fish, literally right off your lanai. We are regular visitors during the winter months because we also enjoy the many whale sightings that we can see from the cove. You are within close walking distance of Kapula Bay which is our favorite public beach on Maui. In the same area you have the Kapalua Resort Hiking Trails which are open to everyone. Honokeana Cove has a warm and inviting environment which is missing in your larger resorts. Many people our repeat vacationers, who come back for the LOCATION, the friendly reliable staff, and the clean comfortable an affordable units.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is our favorite spot in all the islands. The cove just steps away is filled with turtles, fish, beautiful coral, octopus...and is always an adventure. The property has recently been renovated and is beautiful. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the large hotels and offers a quiet, intimate experience. Eating on the lanai, watching the turtles and sunset with Molokai across the channel is truly paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been coming here every year for the past four years. Previously we've stayed in rental houses on Maui and at the fancy resorts, but this place is the best as far as we're concerned. "Our" apartment has been nicely updated recently, and the apartment is very comfortable, but we never have come for a fancy kitchen. We come for the snorkeling (and the turtles!), the fabulous view, the convenience to get to Lahaina, the laid-back vibe, and the nice people who run the place. If you like Hawaiian music, there's a slack key show each Wednesday evening at Napili Kai just up the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honokeana Cove Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honokeana Cove Condominiums

Address: 5255 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honokeana Cove Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.