We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cove Confidential” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honokeana Cove Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honokeana Cove Condominiums
Save
You added Honokeana Cove Condominiums to your Saves list
5255 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Time Offer!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salt Spring Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cove Confidential”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Aloha: My wife and I recently spent two weeks at the Honokeana Cove (unit #202). It was our fifth visit there. We found the property back in the mid 90's when we were looking for a three bedroom unit for ourselves, three kids, and in-laws. There aren't many three bedroom units right on the ocean. We booked it sight unseen and have been coming back ever since (we wouldn't stay anywhere else on Maui). Why? It is an intimate (38 units) two story property with the best snorkeling on the Island right out your condo door. Each unit has a nicely appointed kitchen and there are BBQs out front so you can make your own meals rather than eating out. It also is within walking distance of Napili Market (surprisingly good prices) and MANY great restaurants. Also walking distance to sand beaches (Napili and Kapalua). What more can you ask for ? Our only complaint in the past was the number of folks from other condos that filled up the Cove because- they had heard you could snorkel with turtles (you will see them every time out !). With the recent install of a security perimeter, it is back to being a lovely, quiet Heaven !

Room Tip: We like the south end of the property on the upper floor- more private and you can watch the turtles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been vacationing at "The Cove" for 40 years. We keep coming back because we feel at home there. The unit we stay in, unit #103, is just secluded enough, beautifully decorated with a well stocked kitchen and you can't help but relax as you eat, read or just stare out over the water at the snorkelers, turtles and Molokai from the lanai. The new grounds are looking very nice and the staff always makes you feel welcome! Can't wait to get back "home"..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Honokeana Cove Resort Condos are located on a beautiful small cove, filled with turtles and tropical fish, literally right off your lanai. We are regular visitors during the winter months because we also enjoy the many whale sightings that we can see from the cove. You are within close walking distance of Kapula Bay which is our favorite public beach on Maui. In the same area you have the Kapalua Resort Hiking Trails which are open to everyone. Honokeana Cove has a warm and inviting environment which is missing in your larger resorts. Many people our repeat vacationers, who come back for the LOCATION, the friendly reliable staff, and the clean comfortable an affordable units.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is our favorite spot in all the islands. The cove just steps away is filled with turtles, fish, beautiful coral, octopus...and is always an adventure. The property has recently been renovated and is beautiful. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the large hotels and offers a quiet, intimate experience. Eating on the lanai, watching the turtles and sunset with Molokai across the channel is truly paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been coming here every year for the past four years. Previously we've stayed in rental houses on Maui and at the fancy resorts, but this place is the best as far as we're concerned. "Our" apartment has been nicely updated recently, and the apartment is very comfortable, but we never have come for a fancy kitchen. We come for the snorkeling (and the turtles!), the fabulous view, the convenience to get to Lahaina, the laid-back vibe, and the nice people who run the place. If you like Hawaiian music, there's a slack key show each Wednesday evening at Napili Kai just up the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been coming to the Honokeana Cove every year for the last quarter century, and plan to do the same for the next 25 years..... The place is wonderful, the location is amazing and the staff is extremely nice, helpful, attentive and responsive. All of the units are in excellent shape, the grounds and the common areas (Laundry rooms, BBQ's, the pool and the grounds) are always neat, and cleaned daily. If your visit is the first time, you'll feel lucky. From the second time on, you feel as if you're home again. Hope you'll enjoy it as much as we do. Oh, and there's a weekly "Poo-Poo Party" on the grounds. If you wonder what it is, go and check it out....
Sam and Dalia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at HCC at least 15 times. Minimum stay ten days and up to two weeks. We keep returning because the units and grounds are very well maintained. The staff is wonderful. Sorry the ramp is gone as the snorkleling is wonderful.

Room Tip: Make your reservations a year in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honokeana Cove Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honokeana Cove Condominiums

Address: 5255 Lower Honoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Hotel Lahaina
Honokeana Cove Condominiums Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honokeana Cove Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.