We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Save Saved
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save $100!
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second stay at the Maui Guesthouse, and it was just as wonderful as five years earlier when we visited Maui for our honeymoon. On arrival, we received a warm "welcome home" from our hosts, and it was really sweet to hear those words. The Guesthouse is clean, spacious, well-maintained, and quiet. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious (the fresh mangoes are awesome!), there are always loungers available by the pool, and the hosts are happy to help book activities, set you up with any equipment you might need for the day (snorkel gear, beach chairs, coolers, etc), or just chat. Tanna even edited our underwater photos (taken on one of their cameras we had rented) so that the colour would be accurate, and uploaded them to our flash drive for us as we hadn't brought a laptop. It's kind of tricky taking pictures underwater, and we had a good chuckle together about some of the images! We can't wait to return to Maui, and when we do, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    21
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
206
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

There is definitely a reason this place gets such high reviews. It couldn't be more comfortable. The location is great. You are minutes from Front St without actually being stuck in the middle of it. We loved our SoftTub and used it daily. The guest house really is as good as the pictures make it look on TripAdvisor. We would have no problems with returning and wish we were there right now!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Maui Guesthouse. The rooms were spacious and clean and were equipped with a nice hot tub.

We especially appreciated that the owner Tanna found time to go diving with us on two consecutive days. While we were diving, she took some great underwater pictures. During diving we saw several turtles close-up, and a sleeping shark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our stay at the Maui Guest House was unfortunately only for two nights -- I was on Maui for work, staying at another hotel, before moving to this charming guesthouse for my two "free days" at the end. I wish I would have had more time to stay longer! This was a great place to unwind. We were impressed from the moment we were welcomed by Brad from the railing above when we pulled into the parking spaces.

Maui Guest House is very well run and organized. We were offered a lemonade and given a tour around the house when we checked in, followed by great advice to our questions about some things we wanted to do around Maui. Some things that impressed me: the soft tub in our bedroom; the library of DVDs (although we never made time to relax and watch a movie); the overall cleanliness of the place; the privacy offered in the pool area, even though the guesthouse is in a residential area; and the welcoming hospitality of the hosts. I'm also crazy in love with the bamboo-style faucet that was in our bathroom. (I'm looking for one for when we remodel our bathroom at home!)

There were lots of little touches that make guests feel at home. If there's something you need, no worries, they probably have you covered... toiletries... basic medical supplies... spices for cooking... beach chairs and a cooler... resources for your visit. We mentioned that we planned to do the Road to Hana, but had done very little research ahead of time. Brad set us up with an audio CD to accompany us on our journey and explain things along the way.

Thanks for everything! Next time I'll stay longer. :)

Green Features: So happy to see they have full recycling -- divided containers to place your plastic, paper, cans, etc.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Maui Guesthouse is a hidden gem for anyone who wants to be close to Kaanapali Beach, but not on the strip. The pictures on Trip Advisor are accurate and it was even better once I got there. Tanna and her staff were very accomodating and helpful. I love the fact that if you have forgotten something or ran out of something, there is a good chance they have it. If you want to be a 5 minute drive from Kaanapali Beach, in the residential area of old Lahaina, this is the place for you. Its obvious why there are so many repeat guests!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We received a warm welcome having arrived tired and jet lagged from England. From the outset the Guest House suited our needs perfectly. Our air conditioned room was clean and spacious with its own fridge and TV/ DVD. The breakfasts of fresh fruit , cake and fresh bread were the ideal way to start the day. For the remainder of the day we always had access to the kitchen, BBQ , pool and terrace. Not being directly on the beach was not a disadvantage for us as the Guest House is situated on a quiet street less than 5 mins drive from the centre of Lahaina and the large supermarkets. Tanna, Brad and the staff were always very attentive and a mine of information about local amenities. If we were to visit Maui again we would not waste time looking at other hotels we would merely go back to the Maui Guest House. It was perfect - thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our initial disappointment in not finding desired accommodations directly on the west Maui beaches was quickly erased by the pleasure of discovering the Maui Guest House, where we thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. The staff made us feel like old friends and while always available to help or offer advice they were in no way obtrusive. As already described by many others this property provides so much more than simply a room and breakfast. You will not only avoid the resort fees you will have free access to DVDs, coolers, beach equipment and so much more than any resort would offer.

Each room includes a nice size refrigerator to keep drinks and food cold. While we did not avail ourselves to cooking, the kitchen has not only the essentials but is also well stocked with spices and condiments. The owner not only keeps the house immaculate, it is obvious she is continually reinvesting in the property and and replacing items as they age. Should we ever return to Maui we would definitely try to stay at the Maui Guest House.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear have a lanai which allows one to skip the A/C and enjoy fresh island air at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
Mid-range, Beac...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
Ka'anapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 29 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,409 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
19.5 mi away
Paia Inn Hotel
Paia Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Paia
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
19.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Quiet, Ro...
Show More
3.4 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Beach, Pool, Qu...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#2 of 29 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 13 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.