We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Save Saved
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
PO Box 11357, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save $100!
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sioux Center, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Like Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

From the moment you step into the B & B, it is like coming home. Brad greeted us, and offered us a cold ice tea. The B & B is sparkling clean, lots of amenities. Your own private lanai with a jacuzzi, this was very secluded & peaceful. They have everything you could need, from picnic stuff to snorkeling gear. We hope to return one day!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    22
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
210
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Guest House is a beautifully decorated and welcoming place to stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have large screen TVs in every room and a large library of DVDs to choose from. The bed was super-comfy and the sheets very high quality. I was travelling alone and enjoyed the interaction with others staying there as we sat at the breakfast table together.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not only is this b&b super clean, filled with lots of convenient cost-saving amenities, and located in a safe residential area, but the hosts, Brad, Myra, and Teresa do an exceptional job making their guests feel welcome and comfortable. They expressed sincere interest in us and our travel activities. We especially appreciated the free usage of snorkel gear and beach/picnic items, the fresh fruits at breakfast, and being able to do our laundry right there. Great beach and snorkel sites were suggested. The in-room salt-water hot tub was so relaxing. We reallly enjoyed looking at the Hawaiian decor and beautiful stained glass windows each day. Due to our very late flight, a late check-out enabled us to enjoy the beach one last itme without worrying about packing up beforehand. Brad even weighed our checked luggage before we headed to the airport. We will never forget that we saw the most amazing fireworks displays going on in all directions right from the deck on New Year's Eve. We would highly recommend this b&b to anyone going to Maui.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived after Christmas and left 11 days later. The rooms are costly, but you get so much more that you wouldn't get if you rented a condo. We were five in our party - 3 twenty-somethings and parents. The kids had one room near the front left of the house (not the greatest since the jacuzzi was in the room and no view) and parents had back room with lanai w jacuzzi and a view of the minimalist garden. Downside of the rooms was a lack of natural light due to so many stained glass windows -- the plus is that it's private and no musty curtains to smell. Our AC was noisy so we just opened our door in the evening and we were just fine with outside air. The house is pretty quiet - and they have a quiet time rule after 9 PM - might be hard to observe if you have young kids (not sure if they are encouraged here).

The pluses for a group of us traveling to keep other costs down and make our experience enjoyable:
- each room with a small fridge with a proper freezer for snacks, lunch fixings etc. that we got from Costco and nearby Safeway
- use of the main fridge, kitchen, condiments and other basics for fixing meals
- coolers and frozen water bottles to take along for our daily adventures
- beach towels, beach chairs
- snorkel gear: masks, fins, snorkels - in good condition and better than what you get on snorkel tours
- rental of underwater camera (decent Canon in waterproof housing) for just $10 / day
- free wifi (reception out on the deck wasn't too great, but fine inside)
- lots of movies to choose from for the DVD players in each room
- jacuzzi in each room for relaxing privately
- pool and lounge chairs on the deck in case you get tired of sandy beaches
- ability to use the property on the day you leave - our flight was late so we hung around the pool and deck as last attempt to get sun - and we were able to clean up before our flight.
- great staff - friendly and around but never intruding on your stay in the house - we did tend to sit out in the public areas due to our numbers
- neighbourhood feel -- not a resort area. Local families - especially fun on New Year's Eve when everyone had their fireworks going all evening. That was a night when the 9 PM quiet time wasn't observed ;-)

Great experience. Would recommend a stay here and would stay again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we arrived we were a little disappointed to be back off the water a ways. But once we got inside the accommodations more than made up for it.
The staff is friendly and informative. The room and bathroom were beautiful. We had a hot tub on our private patio. The house has everything you could possibly need. We used an ice chest for our lunch everyday. The kitchen has all the tools to make your meals, and there's a BBQ too.
The breakfast was just amazing too. The whole place is super clean too. (I am a clean freak!)
I highly recommend the guesthouse. And we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house is big and has different rooms. There's one room that you might want to avoid, and that's a room in the center of the house. It has no windows, but it does still have a jacuzzi.

The air-condition is noisy, so it's better to turn it off when you go to sleep, and instead open a door or window.

The cold breakfast is quite good. The staff is extremely helpful and nice.

One of the best things with the place is that you can borrow snorkel equipment and they provide you with maps over good snorkeling places. They do also have other things that gives that little extra, a huge dvd collection, a laundry room (very nice if you have been traveling for a while) and discounts if you book tours through them.

The wifi was very reliable during my stay. I've had problems with internet connections on other islands of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room that is in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The guest house is very clean and the host is very kind. However, the price is really too high for what it is offered. Rooms do not have any view, the house is far away from the beaches and the downtown and in general you pay the price of a resort for a regular clean B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: PO Box 11357, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.