We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Save Saved
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Guest House
1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save $100!
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived after Christmas and left 11 days later. The rooms are costly, but you get so much more that you wouldn't get if you rented a condo. We were five in our party - 3 twenty-somethings and parents. The kids had one room near the front left of the house (not the greatest since the jacuzzi was in the room and no view) and parents had back room with lanai w jacuzzi and a view of the minimalist garden. Downside of the rooms was a lack of natural light due to so many stained glass windows -- the plus is that it's private and no musty curtains to smell. Our AC was noisy so we just opened our door in the evening and we were just fine with outside air. The house is pretty quiet - and they have a quiet time rule after 9 PM - might be hard to observe if you have young kids (not sure if they are encouraged here).

The pluses for a group of us traveling to keep other costs down and make our experience enjoyable:
- each room with a small fridge with a proper freezer for snacks, lunch fixings etc. that we got from Costco and nearby Safeway
- use of the main fridge, kitchen, condiments and other basics for fixing meals
- coolers and frozen water bottles to take along for our daily adventures
- beach towels, beach chairs
- snorkel gear: masks, fins, snorkels - in good condition and better than what you get on snorkel tours
- rental of underwater camera (decent Canon in waterproof housing) for just $10 / day
- free wifi (reception out on the deck wasn't too great, but fine inside)
- lots of movies to choose from for the DVD players in each room
- jacuzzi in each room for relaxing privately
- pool and lounge chairs on the deck in case you get tired of sandy beaches
- ability to use the property on the day you leave - our flight was late so we hung around the pool and deck as last attempt to get sun - and we were able to clean up before our flight.
- great staff - friendly and around but never intruding on your stay in the house - we did tend to sit out in the public areas due to our numbers
- neighbourhood feel -- not a resort area. Local families - especially fun on New Year's Eve when everyone had their fireworks going all evening. That was a night when the 9 PM quiet time wasn't observed ;-)

Great experience. Would recommend a stay here and would stay again on our next visit to Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    21
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
27
207
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we arrived we were a little disappointed to be back off the water a ways. But once we got inside the accommodations more than made up for it.
The staff is friendly and informative. The room and bathroom were beautiful. We had a hot tub on our private patio. The house has everything you could possibly need. We used an ice chest for our lunch everyday. The kitchen has all the tools to make your meals, and there's a BBQ too.
The breakfast was just amazing too. The whole place is super clean too. (I am a clean freak!)
I highly recommend the guesthouse. And we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house is big and has different rooms. There's one room that you might want to avoid, and that's a room in the center of the house. It has no windows, but it does still have a jacuzzi.

The air-condition is noisy, so it's better to turn it off when you go to sleep, and instead open a door or window.

The cold breakfast is quite good. The staff is extremely helpful and nice.

One of the best things with the place is that you can borrow snorkel equipment and they provide you with maps over good snorkeling places. They do also have other things that gives that little extra, a huge dvd collection, a laundry room (very nice if you have been traveling for a while) and discounts if you book tours through them.

The wifi was very reliable during my stay. I've had problems with internet connections on other islands of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room that is in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The guest house is very clean and the host is very kind. However, the price is really too high for what it is offered. Rooms do not have any view, the house is far away from the beaches and the downtown and in general you pay the price of a resort for a regular clean B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location is great. Easy to do all you want on the island. Cold breakfast was not really worth it. Airco unit in the room was very noisy. Also, the way rooms are allocated is not very fair in our opinion, as you can get a pretty small room compared to others on the property - so beware and ask for a floor plan when booking. We did not really care about these caveats as we spent most time away. Book with them the Old Lahaina Luau, as you will get a better price. Also some other attractions might be worth booking through them, but we had our own plan. We did the Molokini snorkel with Paragon sail. Else we drove around the island, first the north part on the one lane roads and then around the part with Hana. The Paragon trip is better than others, as you never feel the crowd on the boat. Not really worth doing the turtles snorkel with other tours, as you find plenty of turtles around Little Makena beach.
Guesthouse provides beach towels and gear, as well as plenty of info. Things are safe as there is always someone there.
Wifi is also there.

Room Tip: Very hot rooms. Airco is noisy. Try to get a room with garden, not only lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spend a week there in October 2012, and would definitely come back if I'll ever be on Maui again.
Rooms are great, highlight is for sure the private jacuzzi in every room. Great breakfast in common area. And a really excellent team who is running the place! I had a little health problem during my stay, and was extremely happy to have this people around. From driving me to a doctor to supplying me with drinks etc. from the supermarket ... I almost felt like home :) Thanks one more time for all your help, especially to Brad!
I very much hope we'll see each other again ... next time with whales ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Amazing service. Helpful staff who were not at all intrusive but happy to help out. Very nice to have use of high quality snorkel and beach gear, free laundry, post check out shower for late flights. Clean room and decent Costco supplied breakfast - I sense no different than any other b&b since they can no longer prepare food for guests.

Minor dislikes:
-Rooms have poor natural ventilation so we needed the loud AC unit each night.
-location such that you do need to drive from quiet residential area to nice beaches. Lahaina may be good for families and is relatively cheap but felt grimy.
- nice Polynesian theme decor except most chairs indoors surplus office desk chairs
- 5 rooms same price but not all same. We had smallest room which had unusable lanai but others had bigger patio with nicer view in other rooms. I wasn't able to preference room at booking so this might be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.