We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house that has everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Save Saved
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maui Guest House
1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct & Save $100!
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A guest house that has everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The guest house is big and has different rooms. There's one room that you might want to avoid, and that's a room in the center of the house. It has no windows, but it does still have a jacuzzi.

The air-condition is noisy, so it's better to turn it off when you go to sleep, and instead open a door or window.

The cold breakfast is quite good. The staff is extremely helpful and nice.

One of the best things with the place is that you can borrow snorkel equipment and they provide you with maps over good snorkeling places. They do also have other things that gives that little extra, a huge dvd collection, a laundry room (very nice if you have been traveling for a while) and discounts if you book tours through them.

The wifi was very reliable during my stay. I've had problems with internet connections on other islands of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room that is in the middle of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    21
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
198
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lecce
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The guest house is very clean and the host is very kind. However, the price is really too high for what it is offered. Rooms do not have any view, the house is far away from the beaches and the downtown and in general you pay the price of a resort for a regular clean B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Location is great. Easy to do all you want on the island. Cold breakfast was not really worth it. Airco unit in the room was very noisy. Also, the way rooms are allocated is not very fair in our opinion, as you can get a pretty small room compared to others on the property - so beware and ask for a floor plan when booking. We did not really care about these caveats as we spent most time away. Book with them the Old Lahaina Luau, as you will get a better price. Also some other attractions might be worth booking through them, but we had our own plan. We did the Molokini snorkel with Paragon sail. Else we drove around the island, first the north part on the one lane roads and then around the part with Hana. The Paragon trip is better than others, as you never feel the crowd on the boat. Not really worth doing the turtles snorkel with other tours, as you find plenty of turtles around Little Makena beach.
Guesthouse provides beach towels and gear, as well as plenty of info. Things are safe as there is always someone there.
Wifi is also there.

Room Tip: Very hot rooms. Airco is noisy. Try to get a room with garden, not only lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spend a week there in October 2012, and would definitely come back if I'll ever be on Maui again.
Rooms are great, highlight is for sure the private jacuzzi in every room. Great breakfast in common area. And a really excellent team who is running the place! I had a little health problem during my stay, and was extremely happy to have this people around. From driving me to a doctor to supplying me with drinks etc. from the supermarket ... I almost felt like home :) Thanks one more time for all your help, especially to Brad!
I very much hope we'll see each other again ... next time with whales ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Amazing service. Helpful staff who were not at all intrusive but happy to help out. Very nice to have use of high quality snorkel and beach gear, free laundry, post check out shower for late flights. Clean room and decent Costco supplied breakfast - I sense no different than any other b&b since they can no longer prepare food for guests.

Minor dislikes:
-Rooms have poor natural ventilation so we needed the loud AC unit each night.
-location such that you do need to drive from quiet residential area to nice beaches. Lahaina may be good for families and is relatively cheap but felt grimy.
- nice Polynesian theme decor except most chairs indoors surplus office desk chairs
- 5 rooms same price but not all same. We had smallest room which had unusable lanai but others had bigger patio with nicer view in other rooms. I wasn't able to preference room at booking so this might be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a little bit skeptical about staying in a bed and breakfast for our honeymoon, since we wanted to make sure we'd have a lot of privacy. The Maui guest house was perfect! The staff was so helpful, Barbara covered everything we needed to have the perfect stay in Maui. Besides breakfast we spent most of our time one on one. The rooms are so cute with a Hawaiin feel and we were able to have a romantic time with a bottle of wine and our own private hot tub. The location is great and we were so happy we took the staff's advice to borrow a tour guide CD when we drove the Road to Hana and to go to the Old Original Luau. We had the most wonderful time with memories of our honeymoon to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Maui Guest House is a great place to stay if you need a clean and quiet hub for your travels on Maui. Our room was lovely and more than adequate. Having our own mini-fridge was a great benefit. Our only qualm was that we were not given a key for the room meaning that our belongings sat in an unlocked room while we were away all day. They assured us that someone on the staff was always at the house but it still made us uneasy. I'm happy to say that we did not have any problems with our belongings though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina
Address: 1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.