We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shines with service and amenities though rooms had some quirks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Maui Guest House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Shines with service and amenities though rooms had some quirks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Amazing service. Helpful staff who were not at all intrusive but happy to help out. Very nice to have use of high quality snorkel and beach gear, free laundry, post check out shower for late flights. Clean room and decent Costco supplied breakfast - I sense no different than any other b&b since they can no longer prepare food for guests.

Minor dislikes:
-Rooms have poor natural ventilation so we needed the loud AC unit each night.
-location such that you do need to drive from quiet residential area to nice beaches. Lahaina may be good for families and is relatively cheap but felt grimy.
- nice Polynesian theme decor except most chairs indoors surplus office desk chairs
- 5 rooms same price but not all same. We had smallest room which had unusable lanai but others had bigger patio with nicer view in other rooms. I wasn't able to preference room at booking so this might be luck of the draw.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    22
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
215
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were a little bit skeptical about staying in a bed and breakfast for our honeymoon, since we wanted to make sure we'd have a lot of privacy. The Maui guest house was perfect! The staff was so helpful, Barbara covered everything we needed to have the perfect stay in Maui. Besides breakfast we spent most of our time one on one. The rooms are so cute with a Hawaiin feel and we were able to have a romantic time with a bottle of wine and our own private hot tub. The location is great and we were so happy we took the staff's advice to borrow a tour guide CD when we drove the Road to Hana and to go to the Old Original Luau. We had the most wonderful time with memories of our honeymoon to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Maui Guest House is a great place to stay if you need a clean and quiet hub for your travels on Maui. Our room was lovely and more than adequate. Having our own mini-fridge was a great benefit. Our only qualm was that we were not given a key for the room meaning that our belongings sat in an unlocked room while we were away all day. They assured us that someone on the staff was always at the house but it still made us uneasy. I'm happy to say that we did not have any problems with our belongings though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This guest house/bed and breakfast really does have everything covered. It is close to beaches, quiet, very clean, good continental breakfasts, lovely staff, nice BBQ area with a small pool, chairs/towels/snorkel gear to borrow, close to Lahaina downtown and fairly decent prices.
The owner has thought of everything to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We stayed for five nights before ending our trip at the Fairmont.
Highs: Barbara was a wealth of local knowledge and always willing to help as were Myra, Brad and lovely Terese (sorry if I have spelled incorrectly).
I also really liked how quiet and respectful this guest house feels. I was never woken up in the morning by noise from breakfast nor at night.
Lows: At times my husband and I felt a little uncomfortable/unwelcome by the owner.

Room Tip: Nlot really sure as we only saw our room. It was the first room as you come in and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very welcoming bed and breakfast with lots of extras in a quiet residential neighborhood several blocks away from the activity of Lahaina. Everything was exactly as advertised on their website. However, it wasn't a good fit for us--the rooms were small, with no views (the stained glass windows obscure high fences) and quite humid from the inflatable in-room hot tubs. We decided to stay elsewhere, and they were extremely gracious, refunding our entire payment. Review their site and decide for yourself--good location, friendly hosts, but needs to be a good fit for your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent a few nites at this B&B located in a residential neighborhood on the "land side" of the highway. Great location - quick drive to "downtown" Lahaina, nearby grocery store/ markets and Kaanapali beaches. There really is no Lahaina beach to play / lounge. The staff at the Maui Guest House is very helpful and all around nice people. No resort fees here - free wifi, beach chairs & towels, A+ quality snorkel gear (owner is a certified diver) and continental breakfast. You can use the community kitchen to cook your meals. Also available to guests is the washer / dryer. Our room was clean, slept well and we had a private hot-tub. We would definitely come back. Mahalo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Summary: Best (the only) place to stay in Maui if you're not into the all inclusive right on the beach resorts…
It is great for couples or solo travelers who like the "independent travel" without being timed/programmed for any activity.

The BEST sides: the hosts, the services/amenities, cleanliness, quiet… and the pineapples in the morning!

Could be better: … really can't think of anything, everything was great for us.


We spent 11 of our best vacation nights in August/September at the Maui Guesthouse.



All the other great reviews you read here are true. The Guesthouse is a medium sized Hawaiian home on a residential street 1 block from the best beaches between Lahaina and Kaanapali. Every room has a brand new hot tub, a fridge, a flatscreen tv/dvd player and a private Lanai with overwhelming scents of Hawaiian flowers. :) The house has a small pool that is great to cool off in if you're just hanging out around the house for the day. The deck is spacious and was a great place to meet others staying at the guesthouse and have hearty conversations with some of the greatest hosts we've come across.



So that's what all the other reviews say - and there is more:

At every minute of the day the house is spotless and clean. Everything was absolutely immaculate. The breakfast is included and includes awesome choices of healthy unlimited cereal, any ingredients in the fridge for you to cook your own breakfast, and the freshest fruit from the island. We already are dreaming about the Maui Gold pineapples that were cut fresh by Brad every morning for all the guests.

The location is awesome. If it's your first time in Maui (it was ours), you need to know that you cannot get around the island without a car - if you want to do ANY type of sightseeing that is. That being said - it takes about 40 minutes from the airport to get to the Guesthouse after a very scenic and easy drive. The house is 5 minutes from downtown Lahaina by car, 30-40 minutes walk if you choose to do so. Then the beaches - the house is not on the beach - but it's a 10 minute walk to a great snorkeling location and quiet beach that you will practically have all to yourself all day. But if you like to have people around - it's another 20 minute walk on the beach to Kaanapali Beach and the Black Rock. This was one of our favorites. We walked the length of the beach a few times to Black Rock in the morning, before anybody from the resorts woke up to crowd or spoil anything. Don't forget to take your snorkels!

But again there are so many beaches and snorkeling spots in Maui you should be going to a different one every day. :)

You can practically get to anything on the island within 40 minutes time except Hana of course. One morning we drove all the way down to Wilea/Ulua Bay to check out the snorkeling and beaches over there - only took us 40 minutes. We returned after lunch though. Kaanapali, Kulua, Napili, MM14 were all more appealing to us with the calmer waters and within 10-20 minutes from the Guesthouse.

Oh and of course Tanna and her staff - absolutely very friendly people who treat everybody like family…:) Tanna knows everything there is to know about the island. Seriously. She is great at giving suggestions, providing you tips about places you're going and making reservations for you with discounts, if you're interested in any particular activity. Listen to her about what is and is not worth it. She's always there - I could have sworn she never left, but she had pictures from a couple of diving trips. ;)

I can write more about the Guesthouse and how wonderful everything was on our first trip to Maui - but I think you get the point. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on the island when we do go back and would recommend it for anybody who is not interested in "resort" vacationing and more in experiencing the local culture, foods and people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.