We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home! Better than any resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maui Guest House to your Saves list
Maui Guest House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Feels like home! Better than any resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

Tanna is the greatest host and has everything needed for your explorations on Maui. As others have mentioned, there's great Tommy Bahama beach chairs, towels, coolers, ice, snorkel gear. There's a fully equipped and stocked kitchen in the main living area and a grill outside. Coffee, tea, fruit, muffins, bagels, cereal, juices, etc. every morning. Fantastic! Washer and dryer are a nice plus for longer stays, like ours, too. Our front room off the pool had a nice bathroom with a walk-in (Roman) shower, lots of counter space, extra towels and hair dryer. The room also has a nice hot tub, flat screen tv, DVD player (for Tanna's large movie collection) and free wifi. Don't go shopping before you arrive either, everyone is generous and there's plenty in the kitchen and house frig to share. When we needed a couple ziplock bags, they were there for us. Lots of condiments, spices, etc. too. There's ample parking out front as well. Tanna was always available for questions, advice, booking excursions, etc. It was like we had family on Maui. Much better than any resort. Tanna was kind enough to loan us a cooler for our stay in Paia on the North Shore (the more expensive place didn't have enough for us). We made time to return it at the end of our trip and left drinks, snacks, etc for the house and other guests to enjoy. The kindness, generosity and overall Aloha will inspire you! Other inns and hotels could learn a thing or two here. Don't change a thing Tanna and make that town aware of the treasure they have in your business! Best wishes!! Mahalo & Aloha!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    22
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
215
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A must stay destination! The pictures are for real and we are so glad that we stayed here. Tanna has thought of everything for holiday travellers - the rooms are spacious, a hot tab at the back, the breakfast plentiful and fresh, access to a variety of herbal teas, ice tea and lemonade to drink, free use of snorkelling gear and the laundry...what more can you ask for? Everything is clean and it really does feel like a home and not a hotel. Lots of parking at the front and close to Lahaina town centre. Will be coming back here if ever in Maui again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back - more secluded as guest can't access the backyard only the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We spent a lot of time finding the best place for our family to stay on Maui (Dec 2011) and we are extremely pleased with how all that research payed off as The Maui Guest House with Tanna as host turned out to be the perfect home away. If you see this review, skip the rest of the alternatives and take the road to Tanna!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Maui guest house was everything one needed for a great vacation. They had thought of it all. Plenty of fresh fruits, coffee, muffin, for breakfast. And it only gets better from that. All the beach supply one would ever need, beach chair, beach matt, snorkel gear, suntan lotion, coupons for activities. The amazing jacuzzi in the room, which almost made it difficult to leave the room. Fantastic kitchen filled with spices, pots and pans if cooking is what one wanted. All these great services included in the price. On top of this, great hostest and staff that made us feel very welcome and very well taken care of.

Thumbs up from us. This will be something we will remember.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I visited in February 2011, and stayed 7 nights and could not have asked for better!

The Guest House was in great location, only a block away from the main road, and super convenient to Lahaina. The room was very clean and spacious, great hot tub with nice flatscreen TV.
- Walkin Shower with skylight
- DVD selection for the lazy nights
- snorkel equipment was available for our use
- even tour books and CDs to borrow while we traveled the island
- fresh fruit and nice muffins every morning
Overall a our absolute best stay in Hawaii!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The house is absolutely awesome - the design, decor and size. Our host, Tanny was extremely warm, gracious and accommodating. She gave us full-run of the kitchen and the fridge which is stocked with bottled water, yogurt and fruit. Not sure if there is public transportation in the area, however, by car it is extremely easy to find.
We would most definitely return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The hot tub is located on the lanai of each room. All rooms are stunning & gorgeous & well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parachute, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay, and we had a wonderful time! It was a welcome break from a resort stay (no resort fees, free parking, free usage of washer/dryer, free usage of beach gear, free usage of snorkel gear, free continental breakfast with fresh fruits and muffins, free use of the kitchen and outdoor grill, etc).

It is located in a quiet neighborhood about 5 minutes from Lahaina and really good beaches/snorkeling sites (like Black Rock). Tana was very knowledgeable about snorkeling sites for beginners.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Guest House

Address: 1620 Ainakea Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood between historic Lahaina and the beach resorts of Kaanapali, The Guest House is the perfect location as your “home” to explore the island of Maui. Just a block from Wahikuli Beach, enjoy phenomenal snorkeling.Guest rooms are setup for maximum privacy, each with their own hot tub, yet there is plenty of space to mingle. Full breakfast, kitchen, laundry, internet access, salt water pool, discount car rentals and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maui Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Guest House Hotel Lahaina
Maui Guest House Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.