We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some room locations loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands of Kahana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands of Kahana to your Saves list
Sands of Kahana
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   4299 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some room locations loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and wonderful ocean breeze. We found the biggest complaint is the trash and maintance crew who are Super loud in the eary AM. Atrium in building echos the noise. They are Very rude and could care less about disturbing you. Otherwise it is a beautiful place

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We appreciate your feedback, Janet. Due to the layout of our units, noise – including that from the trash compactor located around the side of the building - unfortunately will echo throughout the atrium. We are sorry you were disturbed at such an early hour. We will remind our maintenance crew to be quieter. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    179
    46
    28
    31
See reviews for
204
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The kitchens and bathrooms are not up to date with most newer hotels but the size is amazing! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and came to fix any issue you would find in an older building right away.

The only issue we had were ants in the kitchen.
The pool was great and the kids pool even better.
The restaurant had 1/2 price happy hour entrees and they were really good too.
The location is perfect, just south of Napili beach (you're on your own beach of course) and just a few miles north of Lahaina.

We would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: We had a three bedroom unit in Building Four and could see the sea. I suspect the three bedroom unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana, Jenni. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. People the world over comment favorably on our spacious suites and breathtaking ocean views. We are especially happy to know our staff provided prompt customer service with a smile. Please accept our apology for the ants. We retain an outside pest control company that provides quarterly service. We are happy to respond to any difficulties during your stay. Our half-price entrees really put the happy in happy hour. We’re glad you liked them. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We just got back and I have to say we had a very nice trip. It all started with us being able to check in early. They just happened to have a room available. We started on the second floor in a corner unit loved it. Then we got married on Sunday on property so they moved us on Saturday to the 6th floor. Great view we could here the ocean and roll over on the bed and watch the waves. Only down fall is the staff and guess use the same elevator. This was the only down fall. The bar is wonderful the gal who took care of us everyday was Charlene you will like her.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Congratulations on your marriage, Tina. We are glad you chose us for your special occasion. It was our pleasure to get you into your suite ahead of normal check-in time. We are famous the world over for our wonderful ocean views. They are especially spectacular from the sixth floor! Thank you once again for sharing your comments and spending your wedding vacation with us. We hope you will consider us again on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived 4hrs before check-in (4pm) and front desk called within 30 min that our room was ready for us!! We stayed in a 3BD on the 4th floor with ocean front view!! It was very clean and spacious. We had a total of 4 adults and 2 children. Everyone felt comfortable and safe. Although we didn't care for the food at the restaurant the cocktails were great!! The beach was okay; however, condo was at a great location to visit other beaches. We would definitely stay there again due to the location and cleanliness.

The breeze kept the condo cool. Amazing to wake up to the sound of the beach and sunrises!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana, Michelle. It was our pleasure to get you into your suite 3½ hours ahead of normal check-in. We are world famous for our breathtaking ocean views and rooms large enough to house a pod of migrating whales, which are often visible from your lanai during the season. We are sorry our cuisine wasn’t to your liking. As for our tropical drinks, they can make any happy hour positively ecstatic. We are glad you enjoyed our natural air conditioning, otherwise known as the ocean breeze, and the relaxing sound of waves breaking right outside your door. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

6th floor building 4 oceanfront. I wake up to the most amazing view every morning. The bedroom is up front with floor to ceiling glass. Love the high ceilings. Staff is friendly. Ive seen fish sea turtles and seals snorkeling right off the beach. Right now I'm sitting on my balcony waiting for the sun to set and planning my next visit here. Rent your snorkel gear from boss frogs across the street, and whalers general store had better prices on booze than the liquor store next to boss frogs or the Safeway in lahaina. Love this place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We wish you could stay longer too, Jason, and hope you will come back soon. We are glad you enjoyed our world famous view. Many people plan their vacations around the annual whale migration, but turtles and seals are also popular with sea creature enthusiasts. Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to your next visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The reason I stayed at the resort, I had requested a timeshare exchange and I am glad I did!! First let me say, the resort grounds are beautiful. They are very well maintained. From the moment we checked in we were treated like family by the staff and the hotel manager. We had requested an ocean view when we did the exchange, and I am happy to say our request was honored.. The view was gorgeous. We had a 2 bedroom and we had plenty of room. The room was well stocked from towels to dishes. You couldn't ask for anymore, and if you did the staff was very accommodating. This is a very kid friendly place! They have beach volleyball, basketball, tennis courts and the pool. The place is equipped with grills and they are cleaned each day. I only have two negative things to say. The resort does not have A/C, however, when I stayed there in May, you did not need one. The breeze was more than enough during the day and night. If you are worried about the A/C, make sure you ask for a unit that is on an upper floor. If this resort had A/C installed, this would definitively be rated a 5 star resort. The only thing I was disappointed with was the resturant on the grounds. The food was okay, nothing to write home about. The resturant is older and needs to be upgraded. One of the big plus is that this resort has two people on the grounds to help you plan your excursion. They had the best prices in town, unless you made arragement before you arrived in Maui. This is a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Plan you excursion before you arrive in Maui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Sands of Kahana for 10 nights. We had a 2 bedroom, 7th Floor "Penthouse." It was a nice room, but at first the term penthouse threw us off. Penthouse at SOK means that the condo is a 2-level unit. The unit was spacious and we were very happy with the unit. (As in some other reviews, the unit was dated, but clean.) The view was beautiful and we sat out on our balcony every night to watch tne sun set. The unit is right on the beach. There was no air conditioning, but we were comfortable with the fans (we stayed at SOK during May/June). We barbequed a few dinners and the barbeques were immaculate. During our stay, they were resurfacing some of the driveway areas and they also tended to the planter boxes in the unit. You can tell that they take good care of this property. SOK is very close to Kapalua, Kaanapali & Lahaina. All fun areas to be near to. On the same beach as the property, you can see turtles only a few feet from the beach! Unfortunately, there is no free Wi-Fi in the rooms; however there is an Internet area in which you can receive Wi-Fi if needed. There are also tennis courts, a putting green, a koi pond, a children's pool, regular pool and a restaurant/bar. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want a clear view of the ocean, request Ocean Front, not Ocean View. The view is slightly be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at Sands of Kahana, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for visiting Sands of Kahana. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our world famous views offer breathtaking ocean vistas as far as the eye can see – and sea turtles! Our two-bedroom suite is 1,500 square feet and comfortably accommodates up to six people. We take pride in the appearance of our property and work diligently to maintain it. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Maui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands of Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands of Kahana

Address: 4299 Lower Honoapiilani Hwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands of Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sands of Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Of Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Sands Of Kahana Vacation Club
Sands Of Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands of Kahana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.