We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Stay in Maui Yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Favorite Stay in Maui Yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I booked it, and made my decision primarily based on other Tripadvisor reviews, I was not disappointed. The grounds are immaculate and the office staff and employees were very nice and extremely helpful to us. Like others have stated there is nothing particularly amazing when you first arrive, there are certainly "fancier places" you could choose to stay. However, the rooms are very clean and home like, the location is superb, and the staff and grounds are excellent. We stayed in a studio Garden View room and I think I would honestly prefer it to an ocean view in this case. The Garden View rooms in the Puamala building were my favorite as far as being more secluded and a little more private than those closest to the beach. The entire time we were there the pool was like a personal pool and there is a very small walk to be on the beach and Napili Bay which is just amazing in and of itself. Just steps from our room we were able to snorkel with turtles everyday we went. The management hosted a cultural celebration and Mai Tai night which was very nice and worth our time, and on Fridays they serve coffee and breakfast items, they seem to take care of owners and guests very well. You are a short drive to Kaanapali Beach and Front Street but far enough away if all of the hustle going on there isn't your thing you don't need to get involved. Several days we walked along the Kapalua Coastal Trail leaving from our room and that was very enjoyable. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Maui. Personally Napili and specifically Napili Surf is the place for me.

Room Tip: The Puamala Garden View Studios were quiet and more secluded if that is what you are looking for. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    54
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
65
147
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have lost count of how many times I have visited this slice of heaven but it is probably somewhere around nine or ten. Typical of resort areas, this is a condo/rental property and you will find two things in common with all of them. The first is that individual rooms can vary in terms of renovations. The second is that you are almost guaranteed to find a mix of owners with renters. Personally, I have always enjoyed that interaction but admittedly, sometimes owners can give the impression that they are looking down at the renters and consider them more of a nuisance. This trip as always, we met some terrific owners. Great folks that hide their wealth so skillfully that you would be forgiven for taking them as part of the army of staff that care for the property on a daily basis.

There are two basic parts of Napili Surf, Ocean View and Garden View. The first is really self explanatory so I will address the second. This separate part of the complex, looks out over its own pool and private gardens. All the rooms face to the back of the Ocean View suites however, they are hidden behind a massive organic screen. This makes the Garden Suites appear to be in their own separate space and time. From experience, these rooms tend to be quieter. Having said that, this property is not for party goers as the pools close at 7:00pm and by 9:00pm, there is a wonderful quiet that covers the area, making the pounding of the waves feel all the more powerful. This beach has been written about so many times that I will not try and add anything other than, it is magnificent! Remember to pack a flashlight as strolling through the property after sunset (usually around 6:30pm) on your way down to the ocean, introduces a plethora of little night time creatures.

Other than different room styles, my family has loved all of the rooms that we have occupied. All were clean, comfortable and carefree. The property does not have air conditioners but the ocean breeze and ceiling fans, do not make this a requirement in even the hottest of seasons. The sea turtles are permanent residents and are easily seen while standing on the beach. The bay is also home to the large population of Humpback Whales that use these waters as their nursery. Cavorting porpoises will sometimes leap playfully from the water as you focus on whale watching (bring binoculars).

This is wonderful location for families and with the Napili Market just a short trip away, groceries are easy to pick up on a day to day basis if you are just leisurely unsure of food until the thought hits you. There are two barbeque stations and all of the rooms I have been in, have dishwashers. Eating out in Maui can be expensive so having the ability to eat in, lightens the drain on money that seems to accompany tropical vacations with family. The staff are all wonderful and they are very quick to resolve anything that might pop up. Staying at Napili Surf is what I would consider a Hawaiian vacation should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Aloha "Baudley",

Mahalo for taking the time to share with the readers of Tripadviser your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. I could not have composed a better and more balanced description of the Surf, especially, if you will, the personality of the guest and owners.

On behalf of the staff and owners, thank you and we hope to see you again soon,

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are a family of 5 and really wanted a more laid back Hawaiian experience. This place is perfect. We had am amazing room on the 2nd floor overlooking the beach. The rooms are super clean, it is very quiet and perfect for a relaxing getaway. The rooms are a bit dated yes, but I found that added to the charm. I understand they are individually owned and managed by a management company. All the staff did a great job and were very helpful. The place is spotless. If you want the hustle and bustle, Kaanapali is just a 10 minute drive. Went there one day and so happy we chose Napili for our vacation. There are barbecues with a little herb garden, gardeners and staff taking care of the pool daily and beautiful tropical flowers all around. We watched breaching whales from our balcony, swam with the sea turtles and watched rainbow after rainbow. Don't miss any sunsets! They are wonderful. It did rain a bit but would not take long to clear up and most of the time we just sat and let the warm hawaiian rain cool us off. There is a waterfront trail we almost missed and glad we didn't. At the opposite end of the beach, there is a trail on the other side of the hotel there. Take a walk there and enjoy the beautiful views. On the one beach there were 3 weddings going on at the same time. A really special spot. At the Napili Surf, there was a Hawaiian Show on the lawn, so perfect. I understand this is done monthly which includes a Mai Tai party. Weekly morning coffee and fresh pastries and fruit for guests. \What more could you ask for. If you are going expecting room service and all the amenities, wrong place. If you want to take in a little piece of heaven and enjoy one of those special spots that you don't find very often, you have found the right place. Just hope they have room for us when we go back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Life isn't just about fixtures. We have stayed at some incredible places, perfect service and amazing food but something about this hotel was different.

We had room 220 which had a balcony facing the beach and was self catering. It was nice with plenty of room but the key was where the hotel is.

The beach is stunning and there are plenty of really good restaurants and breakfast places nearby. Just down the road is snorkel bobs where you can hire snorkeling gear. Don't think about it, do it. The first day we went out to try the gear and we'd heard people mention turtles in the water, yeah yeah. I turn around at one stage and floating next to me is a turtle roughly the size of a pool table. Unbelievable, completely passive, couldn't care that my wife and i floated by it for 10 minutes whilst it ate the greenery from some rocks.

We loved staying here and the staff were very helpful. Also they have washing facilities for clothes if you need (very useful after a week travelling).

Room Tip: Get a view of the beach with balcony. We spent hours just relaxing to the sound of the waves with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Family of 4 stayed in Unit 212 at Napili Surf. Top floor, nice view of ocean from balcony. Quiet complex and very well kept....friendly staff too! Daily housekeeping is a bonus. Complex has about 50 units total and include a weekly reception for guests as well as weekly morning coffee/baked goods for guests. 2 pools in the complex, neither very big but suited our needs. Easy proximity to the beach and boy, what a beach - Napili Bay is beautiful! First time staying at Napili Surf and will not be our last. Have stayed in a few other areas of Maui (south of Lahaina at Puamana, Kihei area and Kahana) and will definitely be back to stay here again....and again! This resort has received many 5 stars and deservedly so.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The first thing to note about Napili Surf is that it is a small place with limited amenities. This not a large resort by any means. Come here only if you want a quiet, relaxed atmosphere in an out-of-the way location in a small complex.

We encountered folks here who have been regulars for decades - so, they are clearly doing something right.

First, it is important to provide a bit of detail about Napili in general -- this applies to all of the places in this area: It is toward the end of the long string of resorts and condos which line the West Maui area. Only Kapalua is further afield. This means that you can end up doing a lot of driving to get to shopping, other areas of Maui, etc. A mixed blessing. Traffic around here is definitely less than you would find in Lahaina or Kaanapali for example.

Weather can be an issue here. We have stayed in 2 different places in Napili - once in the Summer and once in the Winter and, in each case, found that while it can be sunny in Kaanapali it can be cloudy and rainy in Napili. This means that when you get lousy weather in Napili - you might find great weather just a couple of miles down the road.

The Beach and Surf: Napili Bay is beautiful - but can be a little crowded. The concern we found on this last trip here was that the surf is ROUGH. I would be concerned with taking small children here. As an adult I found the water bashing me about on numerous occasions. The reward, however, is some great snorkeling as the fish and turtles here are plentiful.

We stayed for 9 nights and I came away with mixed feelings. Here are what I see as some key strengths and weaknesses.

STRENGTHS: (We stayed in one-bedroom unit 208)
- The units are clean and well equipped along with grounds which are immaculate.
- Daily maid service was a definite plus.
- The biggest strength is you are only steps from the beach - which makes getting to the beach totally hassle free. Many other local places such as Napili Point have poor beach access.
- Small informal complex with parking quite close to your room
- Fairly quiet - and it seems that the management goes a long way to keep a quiet atmosphere.
- Rates - I checked around and the rates here seem to be a little lower than many other condo complexes.

WEAKNESSES:
- I pick just one of note - a weakness which, unfortunately, seems common to many condo developments... Lack of Privacy. Check out my pictures. While the brochures naturally highlight the views of the beach - what they don't show is that many-to-most of the units have little privacy. Right across from our 2nd story room was another complex and we felt like other people were looking in... they probably were.. we certainly had the occasional "show" from the units across the way.
- So... I went condo shopping at other local developments and found this to be a common problem with other units. Suggestion - when shopping for a condo on the beach - make sure that it just faces the beach - and does not overlook other public or common areas.
- Expect to have to keep your drapes closed whenever you are changing or don't want other folks to be looking in on you.
- This is a minor one but an irritant none-the-less... watching TV is just not comfortable. Something needs to be done to make this more comfortably for multiple adults to watch the TV at the same time. Also, no decent reading lights in the living room area.
- No washer-dryer in the units. You have to use a common facility. Not a bit deal, but a minor hassle.

DEMOGRAPHICS: Tends to be a bit older. While we definitely saw a few younger couples and families, a majority of the folks here are probably in their 60s and 70s.

Bottom-Line: I have mixed reactions. High praise to the folks who run this place, and I like having such easy access to the beach - but, for me, I probably want a place which is a bit more central and where the weather is a bit better.

Room Tip: Best views are from units 201-204. If you want privacy, consider the back building. These units hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing property, right on Napili Beach. You can walk out of the condo and right onto the beach, where there's great waves to play in, decent snorkeling, and seaturtles to swim with! We were there only 2 days, far too short, and saw turtles three different times. The beach can be busy at time, but never felt crowded.

The condo is well kept, clean, and updated. Gorgeous kitchen that was very well kept, and a very modern and beautiful bathroom. Free wi-fi that worked very well, and on-site (coin) laundry. Parking is also included - a big deal as this is a popular beach and there really isn't public parking. The other renters when we were there were mostly retirement age couples - and it was quiet and friendly. We found it restful and enjoyed it very much.

My only very minor complaint was that during the day it could get rather warm in the condo and there was no air conditioning. I tend to like it cooler than most people, I think, and my partner was not bothered by the temperature. Once the sun went down and the ocean breeze kicked in, it became very comfortable. We were there in January, so if you like it cool and you go in the summer, you might want to factor that into your decision. It was not a major factor in my mind.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf for your Hawaii vacation. We appreciate your comments and know that your post is extremely helpful to Tripadviser readers.

We hope to see you very soon again at the Surf.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.