We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach and fabulous weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and fabulous weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We opted to have a ocean view room which is about a third more then a garden view. For us it was worth it. The Napili Surf has very comfortable units which are fully equipped. Our one bedroom was perfect for us.and the bed was very comfortable. The housekeeper comes in the Morning and cares for the room. The grounds are meticulously maintained and there is not a leaf blower in sight or sound. The Napili Surf is steps from the beach and Bay so the gentle sound of the surf is soothing. Right next door is the Gazabo restaurant so a truly wonderful breakfast is75 yards away. I was a little concerned because our room was so close to the pool but that was absolutely was no problem. The guest are peaceful, pleasant and respectful. Perhaps it is less peaceful in the summer, but in December it was just beautiful.

Room Tip: For us closer to the beach was better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Aloha Kathleen,

Mahalo for taking the time to write about your experiences at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your positive comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. I am very appreciative that you noted that the Surf does not use leaf blowers in order to keep the noise down. While more expensive to hand rake the leaves, we feel it is worth it.

A Hui Hou (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    54
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
65
147
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our first time with Napili Surf Beach Resort and we would definitely consider staying here again! The studio unit was fully equipped with everything one could think of for a cosy and worry-free vacation! Going through all the cabinets and we were completely surprised by the thoughtfulness of whoever came up with the idea. Excellent location to anywhere around Maui and Napili beach is just 5 minute walking distance. The beach was not so packed compared to many other beaches in Maui. Snorkeling visibility was not the best but good enough to try out, especially during noon time. Better places for other water activities were just less than 10 minute drive away. Free parking for guests was also an advantage when everyone else had to struggle to find packing space to get access to the beach. Wonderful place to relax without burning a big hole in your pocket.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Aloha!

Mahalo for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort. Your comments are important to us and Tripadviser readers.

Though it is not often, the bay can have poor visibility especially in high surf. Upon your return, we will hope for better visibility as Napili Bay is excellent for snorkeling and swimming.

A Hui Hou! (See you soon),

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

On a beautiful beach, in perfect weather, it's hard to knock it. But,.......
No a/c - if there is no tradewind, buyer beware.
We were in three different units and all of them need upgrades to the beds. Really.
The closer to the ocean, the better. It will drown out some of the noise from constant gardening blowers and construction on adjacent property. A gardener was actually blowing leaves next door, in the rain. No wonder it took over an hour.
My husband really loves this place so I cannot bash it. And, in all honesty, it was our third time there. Quirks are easily overlooked if the wind blows and you hear the ocean all night long.
And, we love the staff.

Room Tip: End unit, second floor, ocean front, first building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Aloha!

Mahalo for choosing Napili Surf for your families' Holiday vacation. We value your comments and appreciate your taking the time to evaluate your experience at the Surf for the Tripadviser readers.

A Hui Hou! (Hope to see you soon),

Scott Ullrich General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Napili Surf and would definitely visit again. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The apartment was lovely and we had everything we needed. I think this place is excellent for the price. We stayed in one of the cheaper studio apartments which didn't have a sea view. I was a little concerned about this as we really wanted to make the most of our trip to Hawaii and take in all of the beautiful sunsets but we really loved our garden view room and the beach is a very short walk away. Napili beach is perfect, not surrounded by big resort hotels, the sea was safe and we saw at least 8 turtles swimming by the rocks right in front of us. This place is truly magical and well worth the visit. The location is excellent and we couldn't have asked for more. If we're ever lucky enough to visit Maui again, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate your experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort . Your comments are important to us and the readers of Tripadviser. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are contemplating returning to the Surf.


A Hui Hou (See you soon)!

Scott Ullrich General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed here several time. Great location, and beach. This is not a party place. It is a great place to relax. Beach is perfect for anyone. Waves are small so anyone can swim and play. Has 2 small pools, BBQ grills, and free boogie boards (behind bamboo fence by office). Parking is free and there is not a resort/cleaning fee. It is recommended that you tip the maid at the end of your stay (which you should do anyways). The is no AC, but if you leave the windows open and put a fan in the window it's fine. This is full kitchen so cooking, snacking is easy. Patio/Balconies all have chairs and hooks (wet swim suits) and showers have lines to dry clothes. Beach towels are provided. Going to the beach if you are looking for sun all day long at the bottom of the stairs turn right and set yourself up between the stairs and the tree. Turtles daily. Close by is a small store, Pharmacy, coffee house and snorkel rental. There is a bus that can take you all the way to Lahaina. This place is off Napili Bay about 20 mins north of Lahaina and about hour from OGG airport. Breakfast at the Gazbo next door is a must. Also recommend R B Steakhouse for dinner. Most anything is comfy wear so leave the fancy stuff at home. Buy your take home chocolate at Safeway its cheapest place and gas at Costco near OGG airport if your a member. WIFI not so good, but your here to relax so leave laptop at home. No restaurant,gym or elevators. If 2nd floor will have to walk up stairs.

Room Tip: If you can afford it do 2nd floor ocean. 1st floor garden stay 122 or 123
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to evaluate your experiences at Napili Surf, especially the details of the resort, the beach and environs. I absolutely cannot agree with you more about our poor WiFi reception. Almost the day of your departure, we have upgraded our system for better coverage and signal strength. I look forward to your return and comments on our new system.

A Hui Hou ( See you soon)!


Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you like quiet, secluded and beautiful surroundings to relax in we can't recommend the Napili Surf highly enough. We had an immaculate ground floor apartment with an ocean view, a 30-second stroll from the patio door across a manicured lawn to a beautiful beach, perfect swimming and snorkelling (if you don't mind sharing the fun with two rather large sea turtles!), sunset views to die for, super BBQ's if you fancy cooking, and just the sound of the waves in the evenings and night. As it was our first visit to Maui we spent most days driving to see different places, but we'd have been just as happy spending all day at the Napili Surf - it's that good. Downsides? None that we can think of - we were very sorry to leave at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: If you really like peace and quiet, the garden facing rooms look even more secluded. Also we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your positive post on Tripadviser. Your comments are very gratifying for our hard working staff and informative to the readers of Tripadviser.

I am sorry that you had to leave our part of Paradise and hope that you can return very soon,

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We really liked the Napili Surf Beach Resort for the wonderful facility, the gorgeous location, the fantastic Napili sunsets and most of all the ultra-pleasant hospitality. General manager Scott Ullrich and Shannon, the night shift manager go out of their way to ensure you have a fun relaxing stay. We stayed here 4 nights Sep. 10th-14th basically to extend a vacation we had already planned at a condo in Kihei.

I will start this review by saying what this place is not. It is not a super fancy expensive all-inclusive resort that you overpay for facilities you are unlikely to use nor is it a loud place with lots of nightlife activities but where you will be bothered by noisy people partying at all hours of the night. Likewise it doesn’t have an onsite golf course nor onsite 5-star dining. If that is what you want, Maui offers lots of other fine establishments catering to that. Instead, what you will find here is a very comfortable clean and friendly facility that provides everything you need to enjoy a beachside Hawaii vacation at prices that do not break your budget. At Napili Surf, you are staying on one of the west-side’s most beautiful beaches without all of the crowds of Kannapali or the expense of Kapalua. You have the choice of an ocean-facing condo or a less expensive garden-facing one, which is where we stayed. Ours was a simple studio setup but many have one or more bedrooms. We liked the peaceful environment of the garden wing and the quieter secluded pool right outside our room. It met our needs very well, especially considering that we were out and about enjoying the activities like boat trips, snorkeling, hiking and sightseeing but still having significant beach time each day. The nearby BBQ setups near each building were clean and worked well and were very handy to avoid kitchen clean-ups the nights we stayed in.

Again I’ll reiterate, the friendly aloha attitude from hosts Scott and Shannon really made the stay great. On more than one occasion they helped guide us to good west-side locations. They also provided several onsite activities that typically aren’t included elsewhere. One evening guests were invited to a unique Polynesian dance show held on the lawn that instead of being the same old luau show was all done by a dance group that included young adults, teenagers and children of all ages right down to a 4-yr old boy who was really into it. Scott hosted the show from an open bar where he served up excellent Mai-Tais and local beers from the Maui Brewing Co. This was followed by an optional yummy BBQ dinner cooked and served onsite by staff from the neighboring Iron Emu restaurant. Another day, overlooking the beach they served a great breakfast of local Hawaiian baked goods and fresh Maui coffee. We especially liked the coconut-macaroon dumplings and the Hawaiian corn-bread French toast served with fresh pineapple jam. Other days we had great Hawaiian style breakfasts at the Gazebo oceanfront restaurant which is just a 5-minute walk from your room. There are other weekly activities held onsite for guests as well - My wife was upset that we would miss the Monday yoga session held on the grounds - something we will plan for next time.

Concluding this review, although we found Napili Surf almost by accident, I would have no problem basing my entire Maui vacation around it and I strongly recommend it to others looking for this type of place. We all know Hawaiian vacations can get pricey. Staying here affordably allows you to stay at a wonderful peaceful beachfront location while leaving enough cash for the daily activities you come to Hawaii for in the first place.

Mahalo
Jon & Ellen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha J_ and E_ from Denver,

Thank you for your very positive remarks on your Tripadviser post. Your impressions are very important to us and are very helpful in describing the experience at Napili Surf Beach Resort to Tripadviser readers.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.