We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, best stay of the trip, we will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Dunedin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant, best stay of the trip, we will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Napili surf was great, so relaxing. We had an upstairs unit we gave us a great view out to the ocean and spent many hours sat on the deck having a drink, readng and watching the world go by. Being in the block which also housed the office we were also just that little bit further from the pool which kept the noise from there to a minimum which we really appreciated. The area is briliant with a perfect beach, rock pools with resident turltes that visit two or three times a day and the Napili has its own little piece of beach before the main beach.
The breakfast next door is great but the wait can be a bit long to get in. The bar at the other end of the beach has a happy hour(or 3) where there is a tapas menu that is stunning and you can happily sit there for hurs watching the world at play.
If you enjoy a walk Kapalua golf resort is just a few hundred metres away and after a wander around the pineapple grill there is brilliant.
Highly recommend this and we will be aiming to go back for some more R+R and might sneak in a game of golf as well now I know its there.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and make sure you have ocean views of some sort, close to the pool if you want to kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    43
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

It is a lovely little hotel. We would visit again. Loved the location. It was close to many great beaches. We could walk to breakfast next door which was nice or cook our own. I loved the pool and BBQ grills with the fresh herb garden right next to it. We stayed 7 days and loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in #103 and loved the location by the pool. Snorkeling is good at Napili Bay -right out our patio door- and even better at Kapalua Bay -a short walk up the coast. Every morning we took a 3.5 mile walk along Kapalua Coastal Trail. It was 3.5 miles from the door of our condo to our turnaround point on the trail. We like this condo because we came to snorkel and hike. It is removed from the tourist areas. Staff is friendly- we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located directly at the shore of Napili bay. The bay is fantastic for swimming and surfing. The rooms are clean and well equipped. Gardens are well maintained. We liked the barbecue area a lot where an excellent Weber grill invites to preparing lunch or dinner as well as it is easy to get in touch with other guests. They do a Mahtai evening as well as breakfasts every Friday. We enjoyed our stay a lot and will definetly come back one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in 218 which is an excellent Ocean view appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hidden gem is the best place to stay in Maui. You can't beat the price for what you get. We stayed in room 219 and I recommend that you try to reserve this one. It has a perfect view of the ocean and beach from the balcony. We left our sliding glass door open 24/7 as the ocean breeze kept the room cool and comfortable. The decor is perfect with a super comfortable king size bed and easy chair. The fully stocked kitchen allowed us to have wonderful breakfasts on the balcony as we watch surfers and snorkeler's. The room is situated so that we are shaded all day long. The downside, I couldn't get my husband out early to enjoy all that Maui has to offer.

The grounds are kept immaculate and they have a gas grill for all to use. They have a laundry room where they even provide free laundry soap! The staff is super friendly and they provide you with plenty of brochures. Make sure that you don't miss Warren and Annabelle Magic show on Front street. It was one of the Best magic shows we have been to. Splurge on the Royal Flush package. The appetizers are enough that you won't need to have dinner before or after.

I see from previous reviews that they complained about ants. Yes, there are a few very tiny ants, this is Hawaii!! Tropical islands of course there are going to be some critters lurking around. Trust me, they are Not a bother!

Don't be turned off by the outside appearance of this resort. Not that it looks bad, just it is not a hotel. Once you open the door to your room, you will have truly entered paradise!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an ocean view. Room 219 has the best views always shaded and perfect king size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Napili Surf Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed unit 219. We hope to see you again very soon.


A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just completed an 11 day stay at the Napili Surf and loved every day there. We stayed in studio condo that had plenty of room for the three of us and every amenity needed. Having a full kitchen and laundry helped us save more money for fun activities and travel lighter with less to pack. The grounds are beautiful, well kept and right on a small but fun beach which had plenty of waves to keep boogie boarders busy. The snorkeling was great as there are a number of varieties of fish to be seen and sea turtles that swim through regularly from the rocks near the Naplili Surf end of the beach. Also, yoga is offered on Saturday mornings - lovely to get your morning stretch done with a rainbow to send you on your way. The staff were excellent - every person helped in any way they could and they handled any request we had - very friendly and accommodating. There are restaurants, stores and scuba rental shops very close by as well as being an easy drive to many other towns and beaches. We felt very much at home in Maui because of the Napili Surf and would definitely stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The view from our room is breathtaking. Nice big balconies. Each room has everything you could possibly need with full kitchen facilities, herbs and spices, brewed coffee maker etc. We are surrounded by bigger more expensive resorts but we are not the slightest bit envious. There is something special about this place. Relaxed family atmosphere. Beaches and coves all around you full of turtles and tropical fish. Best sunsets on the planet.

Room Tip: 2nd floor have slightly better views. Rooms 218-220 get the best sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUllrich, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha Drew,

You came a long way to visit Maui! Thank you for selecting Napili Surf Beach Resort and taking the time to evaluating your experience at our resort. My staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

A Hui Hou!
Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.