We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Relaxed Beach Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, Relaxed Beach Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband, daughter and I visited in August and stayed in three different beachfront rooms over 9 days. (We knew we would have to switch because we made our reservations late.) It was no problem! The housekeeping staff took care of us. The two rooms in the front seemed bigger, but all were lovely and very clean. When we go on a beach vacation, we don't want to dress up to go to breakfast or summon a valet if we want to go out for coffee. We like to relax in a quiet garden near a beachfront pool, walk on the beach, and snorkel with turtles, and that is what we got. The Sea House Restaurant, on the other side of the beach, is beautiful, and we loved the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    39
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
106
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I didn't think it would be possible to have the Napili Surf Resort exceed my expectations. I had read all of the previous reviews and I expected a lot. We stayed in an efficiency room 219. This unit was well equipped. The kitchen was supplied better than ours at home. Closet/dresser space was very large, easily handling all of our clothing. The unit was spic and span and was maintained that way by houskeeping who amazed us with their attention to detail Even the ballasters on our balcony were cleaned regularly to remove salt and a random bird dropping. The shower was very large allowing us to dry our snorkeling gear.

The view from our balcony was perfect. We had unobstructed views of the ocean. The grounds were immaculate. Each morning the grounds crew picked up any debris from palm trees and raked the beach in front of the resort.

Unfortunately we were not able to do much snorkeling off shore due to high surf. North winds brought high surf, perfect for surfers but not perfect for snorkelers. Yet the crashing waves being lit by the sun was appealing. We had to drive to the leward side to find good snorkeling. A very good spot was Olowalu Beach. Very good snorkeling just off shore. Go out about 1/4 mile to find clear water. Lots of reef fish not found in the Caribbean. Also Black Rock behind the Sheraton was a very good snorkel site. Be sure to dive down to hear the Humpback Whales singing (in season).

Room Tip: Second floor units offer unobstructed views of the ocean. The view of the from first floor units ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the New Years period. It felt just like a home away from home. The staff are incredibly friendly, the view is picture perfect (worth getting an ocean front room) and the facilities are all there for you. Many people visit the Napili bay during the day so it can get quite noisy but not unbearable. It is about a $30 cab ride out of Lahaina, where we spent most of our time, but renting a car solved that problem. If I were to return to Maui, I would stay here time and time again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the top floor - best view and worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here in September. When we arrived, we enjoyed the weekly Mai Tai social. A rainbow appeared, and the sunset over Napili Bay was spectacular. The grounds were meticulously manicured, and the unit was clean with a balcony where we enjoyed coffee in the a.m. and dinner cooked on their grill in the evening. There is a grocery store nearby where we bought food to grill. - A big money saver! The snorkeling was awesome. Many colorful tropical fish and lots of sea turtles. 3 weddings took place on the beach while we were there. The price was reasonable. We would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Aloha Dlreau,

Thank you for your taking the time to review our resort. We consider Tripadviser the ultimate tool for travellers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are hopeing to return.

A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in August 2012 with our 3 children, ages 13, 9 and 9. The place was perfect for us! The pools are small, but the kids still enjoyed them. They did a lot of swimming and snorkeling; the location is perfect, so close to the beautiful beach. Our first floor unit was close enough for us to go back and forth from the beach to get a drink or a toy. The snorkeling was good with lots of turtles to see up close. The complex is close to a grocery store, where we bought fresh fish to cook on the grill in front of the units. We stayed at the Westin for 7 nights before we came to Napali Surf for 5 and although I liked the Westin too, I preferred Napali Surf because the location was better, the kitchen better equipped and the unit bigger.

Room Tip: The first floor corner unit facing the ocean is incredible with 2 big patio's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently stayed in unit #202. It was very comfortable, quiet, and overlooking the beach. Seemed a good value for the area. Most of the visitors in the Napili area seemed to be couples in their 50's. Not many young children here. Grounds were impeccably maintained, great location on the beach. Less than a 10 mile drive to Lahaina or Kaanapali, which seemed more more crowded an congested. I'd stay here again without question!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights recently and loved the place. It's right on the beach with very attractive grounds and a small swimming pool. We were in a studio unit with garden view and that was perfect for us. Our first night, there was a tsunami alert and the staff handled it very professionally, phoning everyone to prepare to evacuate, advising us on what to bring and where to go. Fortunately it turned out to be nothing, but better safe than sorry in my opinion. We found everyone ( staff and other guests ) to be very friendly and the weekly get togethers ( Mai Tai's on Wed, coffee on Friday morning) help to get to know some of the other guests. Although the rooms do not have air conditioning, we didn't find this to be a problem as there is always a pleasant breeze so it never got too warm. All the units have good size balconies and we usually ate breakfast and lunch on the balcony which was very pleasant. The beach is quite good but there is also another very nice beach ( Kapalua) only a short walk down the road. We also enjoyed the walking trail just beyond Kapalua beach. Some minor negative points about our unit is that the tv is rather small and the bed is only a double. But this is more than offset by the many positives including the fresh pineapple and Kona coffee provided on our first day. We met several guests who stay for a month and come back ever year and it's easy to see why.

Room Tip: some guests may prefer one of the ocean view units however they are quite a bit more expensive. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Hotel
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina
Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.