We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but needs air conditioning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Coppell, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good place but needs air conditioning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the resort for only one night because we already had reservations for the following days at another resort. The location is great and the area is very quiet, in an older, partly residential area of the island. The beach is lovely, but we didn't have time to get in a snorkel. I understand the snorkeling is great in the Napili cove. We rented a studio room with a garden view and the pricing was great. Unfortunately, they were resurfacing our parking lot and we had to walk quite a distance from the other parking lot to our room. We noticed that some tenants were forced to park on the street because of the resurfacing. It was quite hot and humid on the day of our arrival and expected to find the room nice and cool. We were surprised with the lack of air conditioning and were forced to sleep with our patio door open (there was a safety screen in place), but were really hot all night. When we complained upon check out, the desk clerk clearly reminded me that their website clearly stated the lack of A/C. Maybe it did, and I just missed it. The view appeared to be great from the units facing on the ocean, and perhaps the air circulation was better there. Just wanted everyone to be aware.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view and check to see if air conditioning has been added
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    48
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
126
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I absolutely love this little resort! I stayed October 4 - 7th in Room 206. The resort upgraded my room to an ocean view condo and it had ALL the comforts of a home. The condo even had books for reading on the beach. The resort is right on the beach and it is a WONDERFUL calm/safe beach for swimming and snorkeling! The ladies in the front office were very helpful with recommendations on tours to take and places to visit.

While I was there, the condo that was below the unit beside my unit had to be excavated. The property manager called me before the work started and informed me that it would start at 9am and end at 4pm throughout my stay. I have to admit, it was rather noisy during the day, but quiet at night. When I checked out the property manager made everything right, by only charging me for 2 nights. It was very considerate and thoughtful for the property manager to call ahead of time and making an effort to make things right.

I will definitely stay here again when I return to Maui.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first stay on our honeymoon and the only complaint was that we didn't stay longer. The best thing about it is the location. The beach is right in front of the property and we had a view of the bay and beautiful sunsets from the balcony. The rooms are very spacious and have great facilities.
We were greeted by very friendly staff and they were helpful throughout our stay. Most people that stay here are of an older generation but when we stayed there were also a few honeymooners and families as well.
Two great restaurants nearby provided us with breakfast (the Gazebo) and dinner (the Sea House) and the bus stop is just outside where we travelled to Lahaina.
If you want a perfectly idyllic location for a honeymoon (or romantic stay!), it is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay in a second floor condo with an ocean view. The room had been refurbished within the last couple of years and provided everything we needed.
We were quite apprehensive when we first drove to the site - the buildings look a bit run down and from the outside we were expecting something a bit more tired and run down. Our worries were soon dispelled, and by the time we'd seen the apartment then walked around the bay on which the resort is located we were in love with the place.
It is a quiet location with a nice looking pool and barbecue - neither of which we had time to use because we were out exploring. As a base to explore it is not ideal - we got a bit sick of driving; but as somewhere to stay and relax it would be perfect.
Note that internet access is available, but I found it to be quite patchy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantagh new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Napili Surf Resort in September. Lovely property, very good managment. We had a studio in building 103.....First floor, steps off our lani to the pool. Very quiet, we didn't hear our neighbors at all. The studio was very nice, beautiful kitchen, clean thoughout. Very convient location. We would highy recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean front buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our condo was on the ground floor which was perfect for access to the pool, gardens, BBQ and beach. The views were great and the beach lovely. Although we kept missing them, turtles would visit the beach front regularly. We were well cared for by all the staff who accommodated our needs in a friendly and generous manner. We had to move rooms on the last day (which we knew when we booked) and the staff were very helpful and even upgraded us. I must add that the housekeeping was of a very high standard! The farmers market on the other side of the highway is worth a visit for fresh veg but only the once per week. We noted that occasionally the clouds came down from the mountains over the resort area but if you head just 10 mins down the road the beaches are just as lovely but sunny. Once a week the resort hosts a Mai Tai evening to meet other guests and drink wonderful cocktails. The resort also attracts regular return holiday makers of all ages which is always a good indicator. The on site laundry is very good (but only open business hours) and shops/restaurants are nearby. We had take out Thai from the restaurant in Napili Plaza shopping area that was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha Acemedsec,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your positive remarks about Napili Surf Beach Resort. Our housekepping ladies were very pleased with your comments on the cleanliness of unit 117. I am very lucky to work with such diligent staff.

We hope to see you soon. A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved our stay on Maui and this was the perfect spot to stay! We had an ocean view and the constant ocean breeze and surf noise was just magical! The worst part of our stay here was packing up to go home. We could not recommend it any more if we tried!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.