We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
wantagh new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Napili Surf Resort in September. Lovely property, very good managment. We had a studio in building 103.....First floor, steps off our lani to the pool. Very quiet, we didn't hear our neighbors at all. The studio was very nice, beautiful kitchen, clean thoughout. Very convient location. We would highy recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean front buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    48
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
126
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our condo was on the ground floor which was perfect for access to the pool, gardens, BBQ and beach. The views were great and the beach lovely. Although we kept missing them, turtles would visit the beach front regularly. We were well cared for by all the staff who accommodated our needs in a friendly and generous manner. We had to move rooms on the last day (which we knew when we booked) and the staff were very helpful and even upgraded us. I must add that the housekeeping was of a very high standard! The farmers market on the other side of the highway is worth a visit for fresh veg but only the once per week. We noted that occasionally the clouds came down from the mountains over the resort area but if you head just 10 mins down the road the beaches are just as lovely but sunny. Once a week the resort hosts a Mai Tai evening to meet other guests and drink wonderful cocktails. The resort also attracts regular return holiday makers of all ages which is always a good indicator. The on site laundry is very good (but only open business hours) and shops/restaurants are nearby. We had take out Thai from the restaurant in Napili Plaza shopping area that was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Aloha Acemedsec,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your positive remarks about Napili Surf Beach Resort. Our housekepping ladies were very pleased with your comments on the cleanliness of unit 117. I am very lucky to work with such diligent staff.

We hope to see you soon. A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General Manager
Napili Surf Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved our stay on Maui and this was the perfect spot to stay! We had an ocean view and the constant ocean breeze and surf noise was just magical! The worst part of our stay here was packing up to go home. We could not recommend it any more if we tried!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was average to below average.

Positives: The beach is nice and there is very good snorkeling.

Negatives: The room wasn't awful but wasn't in great shape either. The mattress was flimsy and very uncomfortable. The room was hot and noisy- there is no AC and we didn't get that much airflow through the room. On day there was a guy with a power saw and a jackhammer working on something all day and making a ton of noise while we were trying to relax by the pool. Other than the beach, the location is not near a whole lot and food options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Jon,

It was definitely unfortunate that our main water line broke during your stay.Thus my maintenance crew had to make considerable noise to dig up and repair the broken main. Normally, our resort is much quieter.

Should you consider staying with us again, please contact me directly.

Thank you,

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Overall this place was great. Clean, very friendly and accommodating staff, really nice grounds, excellent beach, and excellent snorkeling right out in front of the resort. I would definitely recommend this to others and I can't wait to go back. One side note there is no restaurant on the property but there are full kitchens in the condos and plenty of BBQ grills around the property and a market very near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Michael,

Thank you for your recomendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Hope to see you soon A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Napili Surf. The staff was excellent and friendly, and they even refunded us a night of our stay when we checked out - realizing we had booked one night too many (even though they were surely not going to be able to rebook it). The beach was fantastic! The snorkeling was the best we found on Maui (we didn't go to Molokini or Turtle Town). My husband went out at sunrise and saw sea turtles feasting right on the rocks near the beach, and we went out with just our snorkels and masks (no fins or belts), and we found it perfectly comfortable to swim around and see tons of tropical fish, some eels, octopi, coral, and anemones. It was great to have it steps outside of our door!

The only reason we didn't give this place 5 rating is that our unit was the furthest from the beach, and it could be quite noisy with traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. For the most part, our neighbors were all quiet, and that's good, because it is very close quarters around the resort - which also wasn't very conducive to romantic environment. There was no AC, and I doubt it'd be a problem in a beach-front unit, but we didn't get a lot of breeze through the unit, because we were between buildings and backed up to a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am not young myself but I like to have a good time once in a while. I go to Hawaii to sit back and have a few drinks and relax with friends. We like to sit outside at night. During my stay I felt like I was being watched by all the guests. We were not loud but we got notices to be more quiet. Most of the people at this resort were much older than we were, retired, etc. We just didn't feel at home. We felt like we were staying at a retirement resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.