We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, magical place to stay with great staff and marvelous views with all the comforts of home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Surf Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Surf Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Napili Surf Beach Resort
50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Bartlett, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magical place to stay with great staff and marvelous views with all the comforts of home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We loved our stay on Maui and this was the perfect spot to stay! We had an ocean view and the constant ocean breeze and surf noise was just magical! The worst part of our stay here was packing up to go home. We could not recommend it any more if we tried!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    43
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
119
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This place was average to below average.

Positives: The beach is nice and there is very good snorkeling.

Negatives: The room wasn't awful but wasn't in great shape either. The mattress was flimsy and very uncomfortable. The room was hot and noisy- there is no AC and we didn't get that much airflow through the room. On day there was a guy with a power saw and a jackhammer working on something all day and making a ton of noise while we were trying to relax by the pool. Other than the beach, the location is not near a whole lot and food options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Jon,

It was definitely unfortunate that our main water line broke during your stay.Thus my maintenance crew had to make considerable noise to dig up and repair the broken main. Normally, our resort is much quieter.

Should you consider staying with us again, please contact me directly.

Thank you,

Scott Ullrich
Napili Surf Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Overall this place was great. Clean, very friendly and accommodating staff, really nice grounds, excellent beach, and excellent snorkeling right out in front of the resort. I would definitely recommend this to others and I can't wait to go back. One side note there is no restaurant on the property but there are full kitchens in the condos and plenty of BBQ grills around the property and a market very near by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockyHawaii, General Manager at Napili Surf Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Michael,

Thank you for your recomendations. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Napili Surf Beach Resort.

Hope to see you soon A Hui Hou!

Scott Ullrich
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Napili Surf. The staff was excellent and friendly, and they even refunded us a night of our stay when we checked out - realizing we had booked one night too many (even though they were surely not going to be able to rebook it). The beach was fantastic! The snorkeling was the best we found on Maui (we didn't go to Molokini or Turtle Town). My husband went out at sunrise and saw sea turtles feasting right on the rocks near the beach, and we went out with just our snorkels and masks (no fins or belts), and we found it perfectly comfortable to swim around and see tons of tropical fish, some eels, octopi, coral, and anemones. It was great to have it steps outside of our door!

The only reason we didn't give this place 5 rating is that our unit was the furthest from the beach, and it could be quite noisy with traffic noise at all hours of the day and night. For the most part, our neighbors were all quiet, and that's good, because it is very close quarters around the resort - which also wasn't very conducive to romantic environment. There was no AC, and I doubt it'd be a problem in a beach-front unit, but we didn't get a lot of breeze through the unit, because we were between buildings and backed up to a hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I am not young myself but I like to have a good time once in a while. I go to Hawaii to sit back and have a few drinks and relax with friends. We like to sit outside at night. During my stay I felt like I was being watched by all the guests. We were not loud but we got notices to be more quiet. Most of the people at this resort were much older than we were, retired, etc. We just didn't feel at home. We felt like we were staying at a retirement resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here 5 days and each and every day we had either sanding and grinding going on downstairs, near the pool or next door in any one unit. EVERY DAY.
Tough when there is no air conditioning and you have to have all windows open so you get air so you won't roast.
Nice locale but I can,t ever recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach,CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been coming to Hawaii (all islands) for over 30 years. Maui is one of our favorite islands. We have never stayed in the Napili area so we decided to spend a week there August after two weeks in the Kanaapali and Honokowai areas. I had "checked out" the Napili area on a previous trip and decided after checking properties that Napili Surf looked great. So this is where we stayed. BEST CHOICE ON NAPILI BAY !!!!! We stayed in a studio 218 and had a fabulous view of the sea. Upon arrival (requested by my fabulous husband of 44 years) Napili Surf had waiting a beautiful tropical flower arrangement, champagne and a fresh cold sliced pinapple in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary. (No charge !!) The room was immaculate, view fabulous and right on Napili Bay. Walked right down to the beach, they even had beach chairs to use. The grounds were immaculately kept. Pool beach side to boot. A short stroll down the beach was the SeaHouse Resturant with a fabulous happy hour and the dinner was excelent also. (No need to drink and drive !) We asked Scott the manager for late checkout since we had a late flight. He said oh let me check the computer.....he said no one was checking in right after us and to stay as late as we want ! When I went to settle the bill I asked where close by was a internet place where I could print out our boarding passes for the flight, he said oh right here. Help yourself to our computer !! What ALOHA Customer Service !!! I would highly recommend the Napili Surf.......we will certainly be back. We want to take all our kids and grandkids. Great grassy area for kids to play, suffle board for older kids. Thank you Napili Surf for a fabulous beach.....including several turtles coming close to take pictures.....great view, friendly staff and super guest relations !! PS they even have a Mai Tai party on Wednesdays Sunset on the grass and a Friday AM, coffee and breakfast !! How great is that !! ALOHA

Room Tip: On their website they have weekly specials.....check it out every week you never know what deal you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napili Surf Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Surf Beach Resort

Address: 50 Napili Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#2 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront on Napili Bay, nestled up against Kapalua and its world-class golf courses, Napili Surf Beach Resort is minutes away from Kaanapali and historic Lahaina Town. Fully-equipped condos offer the amenities and convenience of a resort, including daily maid service and free wireless Internet, with the comfort of your own home. Beautiful oceanfront grounds, two swimming pools, three barbecues, each with its own herb garden. Napili Surf Beach Resort is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Napili Surf Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Surf Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Lahaina
Napili Surf Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Surf Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.