We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Shores to your Saves list
Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Peoria, Illinos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“solid value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

Having reviewed the resorts carefully, mostly on this site, we decided on the Outrigger Napili Shores. We were doing Maui-on-a -budget, and felt like this would be a good value. We also were looking for a more peaceful, less crowded location than the main resort area. We found it!

Pulling up to the lobby, I was a bit concerned, as it is rather unimpressive. However, our room (gardenview studio) did not disappoint. "Posh and pampering" won't come to mind, but "pleasant and practical" will. The view by the ocean is even better than the higher end resorts , and the Napili Bay beach is very close. The Gazebo Restaurant was very good. The line starts forming around 7:00 am, for a 7:30 opening time. Sip the free coffee, watch the whales, and share tips and info with those in line with you!

Keep in mind that Napili isn't super close to most activities/drives, etc. However, for what we wanted from this trip, Napili Shores and it's location was a great choice!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lobby/exterior
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    222
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
130
238
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

We booked through Maui Beachfront Rentals and I think the rate was very good. It seems like most of these places get snatched up quickly for this time of year because we were limited in what we had to choose from booking 3-4 months in advance. We met a very nice couple who was staying for a month, right over the ocean for the same price we were paying up by the lobby-good for them for planning ahead!
The unit itself (#236) it was clean and had everything it reported it would have. The decor is fine, what you would expect from a rental condo. It had a view of the koi pond and garden and a little peek of the ocean to the left. We knew we were getting a garden view. There were a few extras we hadn't expected that were nice such as a hair dryer, a noodle for the pool/ocean, two boogie boards, a foam ice chest and one beach chair. The could have provided more bath towels-we brought our own beach towels.
The bedroom of this unit is basically over the parking lot and walkway of the second floor of the building and this place is loud at night.
The Outrigger Napili Shores is opposite a neighborhood and cars were flying down the road all night. Everytime someone parked and locked their rental car in the lot, the alarm horn went off. People were knocking on doors at 4:45 a.m. and those off to the airport early rolling their suitcases down the cement coridor and talking to each other-all of this sounds like it's going on in the bedroom-it is loud. We didn't have really hot weather, but still needed to have the window open and the fan going-but even if the single pane glass slat windows were shut tight-they wouldn't have been effective in blocking out all that noise. It was more quiet in the living room, but then you are sleeping on a fold out couch that wasn't super comfortable. Pick your poison. Bring earplugs and expect noise. It was the worst the first night (a Monday) and calmed down a bit after that.
The other thing about this unit is that if you are sitting on the lanai or on the couch you look directly down into the Fish and Poi restaurant. It didn't really bother us, but it's a little unusual.
The grounds are pretty and well kept with two pools and one HOT hot tub. There are several BBQ's for use near the upper pool and we used them a couple times-that was nice.
The other people who were staying here were super nice and friendly! Lots of grandma/grandpa types some with their families and some with groups of friends, but they were all so very nice to our little girl.
We did not eat at either the Fish and Poi or the Gazebo-everyone was sure lining up every morning for those pancakes though! Was it my imagination or does the whole resort smell a little like syrup? I swear it does! We had a great dinner at the Sea House at the Napili Kai.
The stretch of beach is beautiful and we saw tons of whales. We played in the waves for hours-the water is so pretty and brilliant shades of blue. There are tide pools and big sea turtles too. It's a great little area.
So all that said, I rate the place as a whole as "OK"-but I think in Hawaii, you probably shouldn't expect more than OK for $145/night.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2007

Before booking our vaction we had the Travel Agent check on the smoking regulations. The policy at that time was no smoking in the rooms but smoking was alright if you were 20 feet from the rooms. This is a good policy and we were happy to comply. The problem is that in January 2007 after we had already booked the Condo Owners passed a change to this policy. Thier new policy is no smoking on the property.

When checking in we again asked about smoking and were told that 20 feet from the rooms was OK. I am sorry to say that the Condo Owners have taken enforcement to a level that is ratter disappointing. Even though we smoked at thier assigned smoking area (Beside the garbage cans) there was constant harasment. To the point that on several occasions smokers were told to leave the site and smoke on the street by a Condo Owner.

Needless to say these the Condo Owners should slow down let the Management Staff for Outrigger advise the guests on the Smoking Policy Change. There is no need for the Condo Owners to enforce changes, they are not trained in any sort of hospitality and end up being rude.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Condo Owners
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIZONA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

My first ever experience on the islands of Hawaii, we stood here. My husband and I have been to many different places, from Florida to Puerto Rico. This place was wonderful! The staff, service, cleanliness, room, etc.; Ever since, when we go to Maui (we have gone back of course!) I don't want to stay anywhere else. We have gone to other hotels on the island, just to check it out. Napili Shores is definately the place we want to stay that has all of what the other's offer. Less busy, noisy and more of the island appeal we were looking for. Like I said, we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Liked — The authentic hawaiian experience
  • Disliked — nothing really!
  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We have just returned from the Outrigger where we stayed for 9 nights. Room 154 was excellent. View of the ocean but not directly in front of it. Arrived on a Monday night which wasn't so good as the restaurant is actually closed on a Monday. After a long flight, we just wanted a quick bite to eat and then bed.

Nice to have your own kitchen area with large fridge/freezer, dishwasher and also a flat screen TV.

Disappointed with the location. Napili is known as one of the cloudiest/wettest parts of the island and when you are travelling from Scotland in January, it's nice to have a bit of sunshine!

Ate in the restaurant (Fish & Poi) on a couple of occasions. Food was to a good standard although the first time we ate there we received our main course while we were still eating the starter! Even though the guy noticed this, he just dumped them on the table and took off!

We didn't have a hired car but eventually hired one for 2 days. Nearest restaurants at Napili Plaza are 15 minutes walk away and Lahaina is 15 minutes drive away. Most of the snorkelling trips/whale watching depart from other parts of the island and do not pick up from Napili which was why we hired the car. Also the trips are much cheaper booking in Lahaina than direct. The trip to Hana does pick up from the hotel and is worthwhile doing. Very knowledgeable guide who was born and bred in Maui - also very unusual as everybody else seems to be from every other part of the States.

Would have preferred staying in Lahaina with plenty choices of restaurants and bars. Outrigger was a little too quiet for our liking. No atmosphere in the bar (it's tiny) and also closed on a Monday night! Would recommend for familiies and older people (lots of them). We are mid 40s (no kids) but like a bit of an atmosphere and good choice of restaurants.

Saying that, we can't fault the rooms or the grounds which were immaculate.

Didn't have a problem with the rooms being cleaned every 3 days. Most of these condos are privately owned therefore I imagine the owners wouldn't want interrupted daily. Just makes you more independent. One slight complaint is that when the maid did come (we had just finished our breakfast and had not done the dishes), she placed our dishes in the dishwasher and put it on for an hour! Bearing in mind there were only two of us - with two cereal bowls and two glasses, it was a tad wasteful!

If you are staying at the Outrigger the staff are friendly and helpful. Would recommend car hire if you want a bit more variety. A taxi to Lahaina costs $30 one-way. The bus into Lahaina is hourly but they go off at 9pm. A taxi to Napili Plaza costs $10 one way and has three restaurants. We preferred the Outback Steakhouse. Roy's was a bit pretentious!

Not the fault of the hotel - but more central for us next time we go.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, room facilities
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

We just returned from our stay at the Outrigger Napili Shores and loved it. The room was newly remodeled and we were pleasantly suprised to find high-end touches like granite counter tops. The kitchenette was great - all new appliances and fully stocked with every kind of dish/ glassware/ container you could need (we even had margarita glasses!) We also had a great balcony with a beautiful view of the ocean, and a high vaulted ceiling. We had our 8 month old with us and were glad to see that the hotel was very family friendly. All in all, we were really glad we had chosen the OUtrigger Napili instead of one of the larger, high-rise hotels, and we would definitely stay again if we return to Maui.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoCal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

Stayed only 2 nights before we could get in to the Napili Kai up the beach. Room was remodeled and furniture was new with flatscreen tv. However, we were not told that housekeeping comes only every 3 days and we were responsible for taking out our own trash. We had roaches in the nightstands, were not provided a key to the safe, and our ceiling fan only worked in the position where in forced hot air down over the bed. We reported these things yet nothing was done. Check in is 3:00 pm, we arrived at 6:30 pm. We asked for a late check-out, only an extra hour, and they wanted to charge us $25.00 even after all of the problems with our room. It is a good place for families and great beach access and good restaurants, but we won't stay there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.