We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Shores to your Saves list
Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

This property is really in a beautiful location, it sits on the south end of Napili Bay. Our room was a "garden view" room and though it was a little dated, it was very clean and had a new stove and dishwasher. Maui is a very expensive island and so we cooked our meals on the property utilizing the two barbeques just outside of our room. The room as noted was very clean and the grounds were well attended. We also found the front desk staff to be very polite and friendly, this wasn't always the case at other local shops and stores. I would highly recommend that if you plan on doing any cooking that you stop and shop at the Costco adjacent to the airport, it's a crowded adventure....but you'll save 50% on you're food supplies. Their is a small grocery in the Napili Plaza near the resort, but they had the highest prices, next choice would be Star Market in Kahana and our choice with fair prices and good selection is Safeway in Lahaina. Price examples: Milk gallon: $7.99 Dozen eggs: $6.99 Bread loaf: $6:50.
We found the wine and alcohol prices to be similar to the mainland, so after shopping we would have a couple of stiff drinks to soften the shock from the grocery bill........it works! Remember you're on holiday so load the plastic and go for it, it's a beautiful island. One sad note: at home in Montana everyone smiles and greets each other, so many of the tourists looked glum and a little shocked when we said hello......they didn't appear to be having alot of fun?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    212
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
125
226
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

personaly i wouldnt recommend going there i didnt enjoy it, i went there the end of december to new years and it rained everysingle day we had one day of pure hot sun. but it was windy. the rooms are nice, you get a dvd player so bring your dvds for the night! because at night there nothing to do at all! if your staying at napili shores remember to rent a car! it takes aleast 15 minutes to go to a grocery store. there arent that many restaurants the top restaurants are... some steak houses which arent that good. there is a subway, pizza hut, mcdonalds, and the best meal we had was at costco which was about 20 minutes away. the beach was okay alittle small rocky in some places. i didnt get to try the scooba diving. i wouldnt go back.

  • Liked — very polite people, let me use the computer free.
  • Disliked — maids come every 3 days.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We selected Napili Shores because it was good value for money in an area of Maui in which we wanted to stay. Previous reviews had mentioned great snorkelling at the nearby beaches with plenty of turtles etc and this was the clincher for us (and proved to be true).

To be honest first impressions upon arrival were not fantastic as it seemed a lot older than expected and a little dated. However this feeling did not last and as soon as we had settled into our studio apartment we began to relax and soak up the charm. The interior of the apartment was fairly modern with stone bench tops etc.

The staff were very helpful and always seemed willing to help in providing advice during our stay. We ended up booking a couple of trips through the resident expedia staff member who was also very helpful and we would definitely recommend attending her presentation on your first day there - she offered good advice whether booking trips or not.

We also really liked the horseshoe lay out of the place and in general there seemed to be a very social and friendly vibe, whether it was longer term time share owners or first timers such as ourselves. The central pool/spa seemed to be a bit of a hub for this.

The Gazebo Restaurant seemed to be very popular for residents and visitors alike and the only thing I could attribute this to is it's ocean views. We didn't eat there but the menu looked average and the coffee looked horrid. However for coffee fans there was one of the best coffee shops we have had in the USA in the near by Napili Shopping Plaza (can't remember the name but it was in the same complex as the Taco Shop, Boss Frog Snorkel hire etc). It offered well made espresso coffee and a wide range of tasty treats.

If you've got a hire car the location is fine - we were only a ten minute drive to Lahaina (where we ate most of the time) and most of the rest of the island was fairly accessible. Based on our short itinerary I think we would have been driving heaps no matter where we stayed. Given the great local conveniences such as the local beach, nearby coffee shop, friendly vibe and proximity to Lahaina, I would highly recommend Napili Shores.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed 7 days with our 4 year old daughter in August. That was the second year we stayed at Napili Shores, because of the location right at the beach and the playing area for children in the middle of the horseshoe built property. Our daughter made many friends during our stay. We had a one bedroom apartment with partial ocean view, with a Lanai, which was perfect. Beautiful kept lawn, the pools are not too crowded. The front desk staff very helpful, great Hawaiian hospitlity. Kudos keep up the wonderful place in Paradise.

  • Liked — location/beach access/
  • Disliked — the noise of the diners while waiting in line at the Gazebo Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

This hotel has a beautiful property BUT the management is not interested in looking after their quests. There is a restaurant on site called the Gazebo and every morning as a paying guest you are woken up to the arrival of cars parking outside your unit and people loudly talking on their way to the restaurant. At no other hotel we have ever stayed at do they allow people the freedom to park anywhere and quests to have to fight for parking with diners.
The restaurant is located at the pool and the diners will sit on the pool furniture as a line-up develps and again, we, as the guests either have to try to find seats or have this long line-up snake around the pool and have people stare at us as they talk loudly on their cell phones as we are trying for peace for our holiday.
They do nothing to control the parking and often we come back to the hotel to find no parking since it is taken up by diners or residents of the neighbouring hotels and people going to the beach.
Also, they seem to like to do repairs during the Xmas holidays to further inconvenience their guests. This gives you the added joy of work noise starting before 7am!!!
Management seems not interested and the place is expensive for the lack
of attention to detail.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — attention to the client's comforts
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

I stayed at Napili Shores during the Thanksgiving holiday. When I checked-in to the hotel, the front desk staff told us that they're in a low season right now, and he offered us a free upgrade. We made a reservation for a studio, but he upgraded us to an one bedroom with living room and kitchen!

The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The kitchen utensils and gadgets are very clean as well.

Our sliding door to the balcony broke, and we called the front desk. They sent a maintenance guy pretty quickly, and the door was fixed within minutes! All hotel staff are very friendly here.

One thing I have to point out is that this hotel does not have A/C. However, Maui's weather is pretty nice, and not exteremly hot during winter time. We turned on the fans and opened our balcony door at night, and it wasn't hot at all.

My only complain about this hotel is that it's located on the west side of Maui, far away from the airport, Hana, Kihei, etc. Otherwise, I think this hotel is a great place today with very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

If you're anything like me, you find booking a hotel sight-unseen a scary process. But let me try and alleviate any fears, The Outrigger Napili Shores is GREAT! Our second floor ocean-front studio (room #275) was beyond anything I could have possibly hoped for, I get goosebumps thinking about how it felt to walk in for the first time. The kitchen was stocked with all the cooking essentials and I really wish we would have taken more advantage of staying in to cook. The bathroom was huge, the bed was comfortable. And then there's the view. Oh that view. I could have spent day after day on our lanai, just meditating on the sound of the ocean, wishing the sunsets would never end, watching early morning paddle-boarders and people traversing the tide pools. There is a small strip of grass leading down to the rocky tide pools (divided by a chain link fence, but didn't at all detract from the view), which were so much fun to explore. I much preferred our location to the properties to the north. Because we weren't directly on the beach (only a 2 minute walk away), it was much quieter and the traffic wasn't nearly as busy. Plus The Gazebo Restaurant is right there on-site. The line moves quickly and is well worth any wait. We ate there three times in our five day stay. Yuuuuum. I'd recommend highly The Outrigger Napili Shores and will definitely stay there on our next trip to Maui!! Thankyou thankyou for such a great stay!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — we had to drive everywhere, there weren't a whole lot of dinner options within walking distance
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.