We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Napili Shores

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Napili Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from our second visit to Outrigger Napili and we had an amazing time. We would return tomorrow

The beach is beautiful and great to swim in. The weather tends to be slightly cooler which meant we slept well and didn't get overly hot. Each night we would go to the pool and grass area to watch the sunset. We saw whales from the same spot.

Restaurants are great

We enjoy visiting other beaches as well and there are really good beaches close by. We also were able to walk along the trails that have been made along Kapalua and could head out early am while still cool and have a gorgeous walk. Our condo had a great little kitchen and we looked out at the ocean from our lanai. Altogether a fabulous experience staff right on top of everything.

Room Tip: Ocean view room we had was 159 and was great location. This area is quieter than area across from i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    191
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
110
199
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this place for just two nights, as our plans took us elsewhere on the island, but we wanted to stay on the West Maui side and Napili Shores had good reviews. We were quite happy with the experience. I didn't realize at booking that the units would be furnished with a fully functional kitchen, which was a real treat to have so that we could save our drinks and food without having to go out every time we got hungry. Our unit was on the ground floor near the main lobby and the fish pond. We had a great little view looking out into the main grounds of the venue and enjoyed walking to the beach. Napili Shores is quite literally on the shore of the beach in Napili Bay and that was a treasure. Napili Bay is cute, busy, and has a lot of wave action. We got to watch a beautiful sunset from the beach and be back in our unit within a few minutes.

Due to our airline, we wound up checking in a day late for our reservation. We had booked and prepaid in advance, so when I called the hotel to let them know that we wouldn't make it until the following day, they told us to come as soon as we were able and that they would be holding the room for us since we had already paid. I figured they would have cancelled on us, and handed the room to someone else, but was pleasantly surprised to hear how happy they were to watch our reservation for us. We wound up arriving at 10am the following morning, so having it ready without having to wait for a normal check in time frame was quite nice.

As other reviews mentioned, there aren't too many food options close by. The bulk of your options are back in Lahaina (15 min away), or you can to a town over to find some additional choices.

We encountered very few staff but all were accommodating. We didn't have time to check out the restaurants but saw a long line for the Gazebo! Our unit was well furnished and everything was in good working order. For the price we paid, I was quite happy! Thank you!

Room Tip: The lanai's face into the complex's center yard. We loved having a ground floor unit as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of April, and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms and the property. We got the AAA rate which made the price about $180/night. Our apartment (260) was a corner unit, had a beautiful view and a full kitchen. There is no air conditioning, but at this time of year it wasn't necessary. We were able to keep the windows open all night, and listen to the waves hit the rocks on shore as we went to sleep. The Gazebo restaurant is right there, and while there is a bit of a wait (about 45 minutes) it was well worth it. The atmosphere and view from the gazebo was amazing (we saw a whale), and the food was very good and very reasonably priced. I thought the IMU Barbeque was nice, but overpriced, and would recommend just having a bbq at one of the outside grills. The beach is very nice, and there is a bay a short walk to the west that is very popular with turtles (we could see 7 swimming around at one point, and saw many more when we went snorkeling). Overall, a great experience

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely complex in a quiet setting directly overlooking the beautiful Napilli Bay , we stayed here for 4 days and really enjoyed it.There was a lovely friendly atmosphere throughout the complex.
When we were booking we did see some reviews suggesting the complex may have been a bit dated , however certainly the Apartment we stayed in , 256 I think, was extremely well-appointed and modern,we also had an excellent sea view from our apartment and terrace.
We did personally find the on-site restaurant to be a little limited however the Apartments themselves were well-equipped for self-catering and there were also plenty of Barbecues on site - we ate out most nights anyway and could certainly recommend the nearby Sea House Restaurant although this may not necessarily be suitable for all families.
The Gazebo restaurant had a great reputation but we were always put off by the lengthy queues and again the Apartment was ideal for breakfast.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here ,it was our favourite of all the Apartments we stayed in on Hawaii , and we would thoroughly recommend it if you are thinking of going - it is an excellent,well-maintained complex in a beautiful location - we saw Whales from the seafront and turtles swimming off the rocks and beach -and the beach is superb- Go and we are sure you will enjoy it !!

Room Tip: We stayed in a ocean view room which was excellent although all the Apartments seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 weeks at this resort recently. Loved the location due to the close proximity to both Napili and Kapalua beaches. It was also very convenient to have the Gazebo and the IMU Barbecue restaurants on the property. It was great fun to watch the long line of customers waiting for a table at the Gazebo restaurant every day. Understandably so, due to the great food!

Room Tip: I would request a room far away from the pool with the hot tub. Very noisy, especially in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a fantastic 3 days here from March 29 to 31. Our room
(253) had a beautiful view of the ocean and we saw whales at a distance from our lanai every day.
The Gazebo restaurant had long lines every day, but a little shorter on Monday morning.
We would recommend this property.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week in early-September, 2013. We were riddled with insect bites from the second day. We told the desk staff repeatedly about it and we were assured us they would tell the manager and take care of the problem. It never happened. The bites became infected after using the hot tub, and we ended up going to Doctors on Call for treatment. We we were diagnosed with serious staff infections!! We were told we would be admitted to the hospital if the medications were not effective. We lost 3 days of our vacation, and had to cancel a guided snorkeling tour, because we had to stay out of the sun... the very reason we went to Hawaii! We filed a claim, went through 3 adjusters and were not reimbursed a single penny of our losses, despite having provided all the documentation requested. You have been warned!!!

Room Tip: Don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Mahalo for the feedback. We are sorry for the unfortunate experience. We have a quarterly pest control program to treat every unit on our property which is the standard in this area. In addiditon, should we have an issue arise, pest control will respond quickly, often within the same day as it did in this case. We also filed an incident report for a spider bite with Insurance as requested. As Hawaii is a warm tropical environment small insect pests can be picked up from many locations and some people are more sensitive than others. We recommend those with sensitive skin use an effective form of personal pest control in addition to effective sunscreen while traveling throughout the island to help prevent any insect bites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Napili Shores

Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores
Outrigger Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina
Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Napili Shores 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Outrigger Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.