We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent amenities; avg rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Shores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Shores to your Saves list
Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, decent amenities; avg rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Rooms a little outdated, although comfortable & inviting. Wind blows a lot, and whistles through unit, which can be bothersome at night. Noise echoes across lawn area, not bad just noticeable. Lots of families.

Awesome location near beach, scenery of nearby Molokai fabulous. Gazebo great for breakfast. Nice lawn area in middle, good for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Mahalo for your recent complimentary review of our property! The wind in Napili and Kapalua can at times be pretty brisk and while it is the breezes that bring our returning guests back again and again, they can sometimes be a little more than we want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    225
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
141
245
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a very scenic location near a beautiful beach and great snorkelling. The condo unit we had was G257 and had a partially view of the ocean from the balcony. The room had nice decor but lacked air-conditioning. It was a bit warm even with the breeze. Also there was no washer/dryer. There was internet, but it didn't work very well. There were two pools and a large grassy area with barbeques. We had a nice stay but the lack of air conditioning is a problem. You have to keep doors and windows open to get a breeze, which also lets in all the noise. Noisy sprinklers at night, noisy birds in the morning, noisy people all the time. The staff were very friendly. The condo and surroundings were very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Mahalo for your recent review of our Resort! We believe our location is second to none with stunning views of Molokai, Napili Bay, Sunsets, and Whales in season. We are sorry you found your stay to be a bit on the noisy side and would have been happy to relocate you to a quieter room had we known noise was a problem during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Napili Bay is breathtaking and the view from our unit, H building 2nd floor was lovely. We unfortunately arrived during a busy construction / repair time (June must be offseason) as they were repaving the parking lots so you had to move your car to the opposite side of the complex on alternate days so they could replace old asphalt. Since there is no air conditioning and you have to keep all windows open to get the breeze you ended up inhaling fresh tar. They were also cleaning the koi pons up front so that smelled pretty bad too.
Our unit was very nice. One bedroom facing the Gazebo restaurant. Luckily we are early risers so morning hustle and bustle didn't bother us. Staff at front desk is lovely and very helpful. Nice views, ocean waves at night, very soothing. Would try again in winter months to hopefully avoid building repair projects. No fitness center, but if u want to walk there are paths to explore.

Room Tip: Go for the units closest to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mahalo for your complimentary review of our Resort. We are very sorry for the inconvenience from the two projects. Unfortunately, both of these were brought about for emergency reasons giving us less than perfect timing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A few positives about this hotel: The staff are friendly; The rooms are clean; and the furniture, kitchen and bathroom look like they were renovated at some point. (Granite counter tops, very clean fridge, furniture isn't worn out, etc.) Internet works well sometimes, although it doesn't seem able to stream video.

Now for the gripes. There's no AC and the fan barely works at all. In other words, you have to keep the doors and windows open to get any breeze at all.

Then there's the issue of the noise. As of 7:00am I've heard the family next door teaching their baby to talk, kids have been shrieking in the pool, people are coming and going in the parking lot. If you have kids--no problem. Otherwise, beware.

Lastly, as other commenters have said, it's a condo, not a resort. There are no real amenities on site. No bar or restaurant, except for the Gazebo that had a line of 20 people on it for breakfast one day (didn't bother waiting on that line).

Pool is average looking, but the kids seemed to enjoy it from sun up to sun down.

In closing, great for families with kids that want to save some money and don't mind not having AC.

Room Tip: Away from the pool and/or parking lot if possible. Choose an upstairs unit, with high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. While we do have no AC, as is the case with most accommodation's in Napili, we view it as a positive because many of our guests prefer the open air, birds chirping and ocean breezes to the hum of an AC unit and the Napili area normally has more than adequate natural breezes for cooling. With that said, we do realize we are not everything for everyone and if AC is a must, then we are probably not a good fit for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first stay at Napili Shores and we had a great time. We wanted a casual, more laid back vibe and we def. got that here. We enjoyed being able to drink coffee on the lanai in the morning and then being able to walk to the beach with our snorkeling equipment and beach chairs and hang out for the afternoon. Kapalua Bay was great snorkeling but you have to take a short drive there, which was no problem. The beaches there did get quite crowded and a couple times it was too much and we just left. Our 14 yr old son was with us and he found some other kids to play Frisbee and catch with on the big grassy area on the property so that was a big plus. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The housekeepers only came every 3 days which was ok since we could request towels as needed. I did have a couple issues that I want to mention. I didn't mind at all that there was no a/c as the wind would blow enough to keep our condo cool at night (and day) with the louvered windows open. BUT when you leave them open it is loud. I did not appreciate the fact that the patrons of the Gazebo restaurant were using our private parking lot to drop off and pick upstarting at 6:45 in the morning!! Everything echoed and many of the breakfast goers would speak loud and I could hear their flip flops and kids....ugh! The management needs to do something about the crowds at that restaurant. I saw there's a sign right by our condo that says "Gazebo Restaurant" and points to the walkway through the complex. I hope if we do return next time they will have found a solution so that the residents of the condo's are a priority over the restaurant patrons. Also we requested an upstairs unit through our travel agent but they didn't have on when we checked in. We got VERY lucky that the people upstairs were never there and were super quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSRGenManager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Mahalo for your complimentary review of our Resort. We appreciate your feedback and use it make our Resort the best it can possibly be.

Specifically, regarding the noise which is sometimes associated with the Gazebo patrons in some areas of the property, we are working with our owners toward putting together some new plans aimed at minimizing any disruption to our guests from this early morning traffic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

OMG, I'm exhausted. I've been at the Napili Shores for 3 nights and I've never had worse sleep on a vacation. There is no AC so you are forced to keep your windows open and the parking lot is right outside of the bedroom. Also, you can hear everything in the upstairs condo. I cannot recommend it.

It is clean. This is definitely a place for families with small children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mahalo for your review of our resort. Many of the resorts in Napili do not have air conditioning and that can be an issue for some, however we do try to make it well known that we do not have it. While there may be more noise throughout the day as we maintain the property, it is very quiet in the evenings and many of guests often prefer the soothing sounds of the ocean and the tropical breezes to the hum of an air conditioner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Things I liked about this hotel were the full kitchen in the room (can go to grocery store for food and save money), located on the beach, walk to Napili Beach, nice pool/hot tub.

Things I did not like were there is no air conditioning in the room (only a ceiling fan), does get noisy with people working on site, people walking by, birds making noises in the early morning hours. Also, the restaurant/bar on site is not associated with the hotel so you can not charge anything to you room. There is another place on site called The Gazebo where you can charge stuff, but this place is not open for dinner or after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Napili Shores, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mahalo for your review of our resort. Many resorts in Napili do not have air conditioning. This has both advanages and disadvantages for different people and we realize we are not for everyone. Those who enjoy cool tropical breezes, sounds of the ocean, birds in the morning find us to their liking. Those who want a controlled and relatively quiet environment may not find us right for them. We do try in all of our literature and advertising to make it clear that we do not have air conditioning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#20 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,865 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,034 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
23.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
4.5 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#21 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761 (Formerly Outrigger Napili Shores)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Napili Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.