We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Intimate Setting on Quiet Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Napili Shores

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Napili Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Romantic and Intimate Setting on Quiet Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are visiting Maui as I write this and chose the Napili Shores based on a friend's recommendation. Having never been before we knew that proximity to the ocean would be important, and really had no other expectations. Budget was important and we looked at the VRBO listings for this property before we booked. When suitable dates on VRBO could not be found we booked via the Outrigger website.
The property is nicely manicured with two pools and really, most along the bay fit the same bill. We are staying in a ground floor ocean front unit A building. ...(they upgraded us upon arrival) and the view is spectacular. Not for light sleepers as the waves crash all night, which would be less noticeable in an ocean view or garden view studio, and we love it.
Unit nicely appointed with all the condo-type amenities, the Weber Genesis barbecues come in handy for nice dinners made with food bought from the 24-hour Safeway near the Cannery Mall in Lahaina ( a 10 minute drive away). Not many restaurants in the immediate area, however there are two onsite. The famous Gazebo ( yes the lineups are always there) and the Imu BBQ house which serves Texas-style smokehouse food.
If you are looking for an authentic low key peaceful Maui vacation the Napili Shores is a sure thing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Mahalo, glad you enjoyed your stay! Until next time, aloha..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    204
    42
    16
    6
See reviews for
125
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
devon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this hotel is right by the beach, its a basic hotel but a good equipped kitchen in the rooms. I had a pool view & was very happy with it. This is a hotel to head for if you want it quiet & by the beach. Lovely walks along the coastline & good pick up trips from this location. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: they are all quiet rooms, ask for balcony or downstairs on the sunny sides. only 2 floors - however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oromocto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our first trip to Maui we did a lot of research on where to stay. We decided that Outrigger Napili Shores met our criteria for our visit so we booked it. Our expectations were exceeded by this well managed, well maintained resort. We booked well in advance of our trip and reserved an ocean view studio. When we arrived we found ourselves in an ocean FRONT studio. I was a bit concerned as I had paid in advance booking through Orbitz and didn't want a suprise charge, so when I inquired as to the condo change I was told that owners had decided to have an owners week and the owners of the original condo we booked (through Orbitz) were using their condo so Outrigger upgraded us at no charge. We were told that at Outrigger you never get a downgrade only an upgrade. Having an ocean front certainly enhanced our visit, although all units have great views (it is Maui afterall) the ocean front had more privacy as you didn't get alot of folks walking by your lanai...mind you everyone is so super friendly I doubt this would be an issue anyway.

We arrived after the office was closed, but a quick call on the phone by the door and a security guard led us to our unit (A105) and we registered the following morning. What a fantastic unit this was...clean, modern, and everything you need for your stay. Hint: Pick up some groceries and you can save some money eating in, although you will no doubt eat out a fair bit anyway (hey you're on vacation right?). Do yourself a favour and at least once or twice eat at the Gazebo (at least once in the Gazebo for the experience) and then take out to avoid the lineups. Also we recommend the Iron Imu BBQ, the other restaurant on site, as this 'new' restaurant is very tasty with the smoked meat menu. Food tasted great at both locations, affordable and portions were larger than expected.

The Outrigger Napili Shores is as advertised, low key, traditional Hawaii. Which is what we wanted, we did not want to be on the 6th or 7th floor of a high rise condo. Outrigger is 2 levels only and we were on the ground level, mere steps away from the incredible ocean and views of Molokai and incredible Maui sunsets. We watched whales play everyday (spouting, jumping and fin slapping). My wife snorkelled for the first time ever and swam with giant turtles. This was at the beach just feet away from the resort. Staying in the A building we were right by the gate that led to the beach (Napili Bay Beach). This public beach is shared by a few resorts right on the shoreline but was never overcrowded and you could always find a spot to throw down a towel or chair and soak up the sun or jump in the crazy surf for a swim.

We love children (have two ourselves) but for our second honeymoon we booked this time (after Christmas and New Years) to limit the amount of kids who would be around. There were some families with young children around but all were well behaved and we didn't see any issues around the pools or hottubs that some other reviews have noted.

Staff and crews at the Outrigger are all friendly and approachable and a tip of the hat to the desk clerk, Anaki, for all his friendly assistance and wonderful sense of humour. Having booked with Outrigger (via Orbitz) cleaning services were provided every few days, linens, towel exchange, vacuuming, mopping, garbage, etc. If you book through an owner it's my understanding that you have to arrange and pay for cleaning services separately. Rooms do not have AC but with the cool breezes and ceiling fans, we were under the blankets each night. AC not an issue in my opinion. The outdoor grills are readily available for you to prepare your meals. Please respect other guests and clean the grill once you're done for the next user. A couple times we had to clean the grill after someone else had used it.

I feel we 'hit a homerun' choosing Outrigger Napili Shores and when we return to Maui (note I did not say if?) we will stay here again and hope that A105 is available. One thing to help you out, at the start of your stay visit one of the snorkel rental places like Snorkel Bobs or Boss Frogs as these places will rent all kinds of beach gear for the week. There's a shop like this right on the resort as well but I can't remember the name.

Room Tip: The Ocean Fronts in buildings A and I have the best views and incredible privacy with less foot traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

That's right, you can sit on the pool deck and see Humpback whales from your chair. Of course, binoculars help a lot but you can see them spouting, diving, waving their flukes and occasionally breaching. It's an amazing spot. Right next door is a wonderful beach area that is very calm at one end (great for kids) with waves for surfing at the other end. There's also a space for snorkelers (I saw a huge sea turtle) and tidal pools next door that fill with tiny fish at high tide.
The buildings are nothing to look at but the insides are spacious, well appointed and come with large balconies or patios. Room service is supplied every third day so you need to rehang your towels for reuse. Beach towels were supplied. The kitchen had a full set of dishes and cookware, Wine glasses coffee maker, toaster, stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator. The coffer mugs could have been larger but other wise, it was well equipped The king size bed was very comfortable. And for sleeping comfort it was easy to adjust the breeze coming through the condo.
The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant for breakfast and lunch near the pool called the Gazebo. It is very popular with a constant line. (Guest of the Outrigger can phone in an order and pick it up without waiting in the line.)
Parking is a problem. The parking lot ended at least two building lenghts before our condo. that meant a long schlep with out bags. It also means that if you went out for the evening, you had to park far from your condo as all the spaces were taken by the time you get back.
There was a small mall about 1/2 mile away where you can pick up supplies or a full grocery store in Lahaina about b8 miles south of Napili Bay. If you are someone who prefers to eat most of there meals "at home" and occasionally dine out, This place would suit you perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Outrigger Napili Shores is a very comfortable place, but it lacks the upscale amenities that some might want. The buildings are arranged rectangularly, and most look over a wide expanse of green lawn with nice, but not overly tropical-feeling, landscaping. The ocean-view units might be disappointing, since the best ones are still just partial ocean-view. However, the oceanfront units, such as where we stayed, are amazing, having the best location in all Napili Bay. Stay on the first floor, and you're just steps from the surf and steps from the terrific Gazebo restaurant.

The units are large and remodeled, providing a full kitchen with plenty of room to spread out. The mattress isn't great for those with back issues.

If you're looking for a relaxing place with views, the beach, and snorkeling as a focus, this might be the place for you. If you're looking for crazy activities and nightlife, this might not be for you. Napili Bay itself is lovely, but in December, the normally tranquil bay was rough, not allowing snorkeling-the next bay down did, though. All in all, it's a really good place to stay; if the need for more entertainment and excitement strikes, the Kaanapali resorts are just a 10-minute drive away.

Room Tip: An oceanfront room will exponentially improve your experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The buildings are big and blocky from the outside, borderline ugly. We walked down the long dark outside entry hall to our room and opened the door not knowing what to expect. Light filled the room from the generous lanai! A more than ample living space, with comfortable, newer furnishings, backed by an equally appointed balcony with table and chairs...full kitchen with sparkling slab granite counter tops, beautiful modern cabinetry and full size appliances. Every utensil you would ever use is there. A full size bedroom with a comfy king sized bed made this a very nice setup. The lanai overlooked one of the two pools and a lovely garden area with high end gas grills for BBQ complete with picnic tables. We could not see, but could hear the ocean from our room and a 2 minute walk thru the complex took us right to the water. The manager in the lobby was friendly, helpful and gave us great advice, The staff was pleasant and obviously proud of their place. Everything is well maintained and top notch. The Gazebo Restaurant here is one of the greatest eating views on the island (we saw whales, dolphins and numerous rainbows from our table)...Climb down some steps and you are on Napili Beach...a 5 minute drive takes you to Kapalua Bay if you want great snorkeling, A great night on the town is about 15 minutes away in Lahaina. No hype here, just great value! Next tine we will stay longer. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 242 was awesome. I doubt if there any bad rooms in the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our second stay at Napili Shores. Our first stay was in November 2011 for one week of our two week visit to Maui. Had we known how wonderful Napili Shores was, and how much we would enjoy the location and amenities, we would have booked both our weeks here! This trip to Maui was for only one week, sadly, but we knew for certain we wanted to be at Napili Shores again. This trip, we had our 22 year old son with us, and my husband’s mother and sister. I was able to book our one-bedroom condo unit through VRBO, but could not find a second suitable unit for the two other ladies. I went on the Outrigger website, and booked it through them, and I mentioned what building we would be in, and that a ground floor unit would be ideal. Upon our arrival, we discovered that not only had Outrigger been able to find them a unit on the ground floor, it was in our building and right below us! It was wonderful how accommodating Outrigger was to our needs!

The location and ambiance of Napili Shores were perfect for us. It’s a little far-removed from some of the more touristy areas, but this lends itself to a quieter, more relaxed and intimate feeling. It does mean a little more driving time to get to attractions like Haleakala and the Road to Hana, but any drive on Maui is scenic, so it’s not much of a sacrifice. Located on the west shore of the northern part of Maui, Napili Shores itself has a lava rock shore with many tidal pools. To the north, a quick two minute walk gets you to a beautiful expanse of sandy beach. The south end of the beach has great wave action for those who want to boogie board, and as you go further north on the beach, it’s more protected and the waters are much calmer. To the south of Napili Shores is a nice cove where sea turtles hang out pretty much all day. We snorkeled with the sea turtles several times on our two trips, and saw lots of other tropical fish and sea creatures.

Napili Shores has beautiful, well-manicured grounds with two pools and a hot tub. They have several barbecues for guest use, a shuffleboard court, and a giant checkerboard with black and white painted half-coconuts for the game pieces. There are plenty of deck chairs and beach chairs around the pools and on the lawn near the beach, where the guests gather each evening to admire the amazing sunsets visible from Napili Shores.

There are two restaurants at Napili Shores. The Gazebo is right on the edge of the property overlooking the ocean, offers breakfast, brunch and lunch, and is open from 7 a.m. until 2 p.m. People come from all over Maui to experience their macadamia nut, coconut, banana and pineapple pancakes, so the line up is long every day. But they do offer free coffee to sip on as you are standing in line, and a selection of umbrellas is available if there happens to be a little shower while you are waiting. The other restaurant had its opening night while we were here this time, and it’s called the Iron Imu Restaurant. An imu is the Hawaiian pit barbecue they use to roast pig, although I’m not certain that the traditional method is used for the pork they serve here. They had some opening-night hiccups, but the food was good. I wasn't fond of the format for ordering – similar to a fast-food restaurant – and the decor was a little “cowboy-ish” for my taste.

Napili Shores also has an on-site rental shop for boogie boards, snorkel equipment, surf-boards and the like for very reasonable prices. You can rent for a day, a few days, or by the week.

Our accommodations in the H building were spectacular. The unit was recently renovated by the owners, and was fresh and clean. They had a large fridge, stove, dishwasher and even a wine fridge – all stainless steel. They had any and all kitchen equipment you could need, and also had a couple of boogie boards, two folding beach chairs, and beach towels for our use. The furnishings were all new, and the bed was amazing! The lanais in H building have a partial ocean view without the roar of the ocean and are a little protected from the breeze. The ground floor unit was also nice with the more traditional bamboo-style decor. It was also very clean, and our travel companions had no complaints. The layout of the one-bedroom units on this side of the development does place the bedrooms along the parking lot side, but I enjoy the roominess and privacy of the one bedrooms and I’m willing to sacrifice a little sleep due to noise to get that. If the noise would be an issue for you, the studio condos may be a better choice. None of the units have air conditioning, but we found that the ceiling fans and the ocean breeze were enough to keep us very comfortable.

Due to the late arrival of flights from Vancouver, we had to use the late check-in procedure which went seamlessly. There is a phone at the front that calls security directly, and he is there in minutes to check your I.D. and to give you your key cards. Formal check-in was done the next morning, and went fairly smoothly. There is an Expedia desk in the lobby to book your excursions, but you may want to shop around for those to compare prices. Housekeeping cleans the Outrigger units every 3 days, but our unit was privately rented, so we didn't have that service. There were cleaning supplies in our unit if we required them, but in our one week stay a quick sweeping of the floor was about all that was required. They have coin-operated laundry facilities available to guests in the main building as well.

We are already hoping to return to Napili Shores next winter, and our unit in H building will be our first choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Napili Shores 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.