We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a really nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Napili Shores

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Napili Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Just a really nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located at the bottom end of Napili Bay, the resort is not a fancy, high end, place, but it has everything we wanted in a great location. The units are not air conditioned, but the louvered windows and ceiling fan kept us really comfortable. The Expedia Desk smooths your way to the various attractions around the island at a bargan price. The grounds are well tended, everything is clean, and the pools are great. A totally relaxing experience where we found ourselves comfortable and smiling all the time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    201
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
120
211
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Napili Shores in late November 2012. We arrived in the evening, check-in was quick, and we went to our room. We had a studio in building D (227). It was nice and spacious with all the amenities we needed. There is no A/C so we ran the ceiling fans all the time.The unit was clean enough, but not spotless. There was definitely wear and tear showing. Also, there are no actual windows to close off from the outside noise. We were directly outside the garden pool, so there was significant noise during the day into the night until about 10pm. We were gone most days, but when we were there the pool noise got annoying. One day the gardeners were pulling a stump from near the pool, which was quite loud. In addition, the gardeners are working each day to keep the grounds nice and appealing. This work can start in the morning and lasts most of the day. The hotel offers free parking and it was never an issue finding a space. Also, they offer high-speed wired internet, that was ACTUALLY high-speed. This was a convenient and appreciated amenity.
There are two pools on the property, one close to the ocean, right next to the Gazebo and the other closer to the lobby building. Both seemed well utilized, however we did not go in them.
This property (along with all hotels in HI as we could tell) is non-smoking. There in no designated smoking area anywhere on the property, not even in the parking lot. (The property next door had a table and ashtray set up in their parking lot for a smoking area). At Napili Shores they tell you to go out onto the street which is very dark and dangerous at night time or out onto the rocks by the ocean.
There is a little restaurant called the Gazebo on the property that is very popular and get a long line. We called in a pick-up order almost everyday and had breakfast in our room.
Napili Bay is just a short walk to the north of the hotel and has a nice beach for swimming and snorkeling. Just past the adjacent hotel to the south is another bay filled with GIGANTIC turtles! Snorkeling with them was incredible! The location of the hotel is also short distance from several other great beaches.
There are not tons of dining options nearby, and the good ones are quite costly. This seems like the trade off from being a distance from busy Lahaina area. We ate at the Sea House and Pineapple Grill which were both nice dining options. The Sea House offers an early dining dinner special where there were more families with children. Later in the evening it was almost kid-free. We also got take out from Maui's Tacos and Mama's Ribs. These were lower cost meals, but neither were very good.
All-in-all, we had a nice stay and would stay again if we got a similar deal as we did for this trip. The location is optimal and resort is sufficient for our travel needs. Although, I do not know how I would feel in the warmer weather months without A/C. I would recommend it to budget minded travelers looking for a smaller resort with basic amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Mahalo for the complimentary review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently returned to Outrigger Napili Shores for another one week stay after having stayed here in October 2011.

The resort is still a great place to stay location-wise and amenity-wise.

Unfortunately it wasn't as idyllic this time as it was last year because this year we stayed in a one bedroom unit whereas last year we stayed in a studio. The problem with bedroom units is that the layout of the one bedroom unit situates the bedroom at the parking lot side or back of the building. The walkway to each unit is also along the back of the building which means that you probably won't get much sleep because of cars coming and going in the parking lot, car doors slamming, and thoughtless, ignorant people talking as they walk to their unit, not caring that mere inches away on the other side of the wall are people trying to sleep. This happens at all hours of night. As well, if your unit is on the south side of the complex, you have to deal with parking lot noise from Napili Shores as well as the adjacent Napaili Point condo parking lot.

In a Napili Shores studio unit, you are sleeping at the front of the condo unit, which faces the ocean and complex grounds.

We will go back to Napili Shores but only to a ocean view/front studio unit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Mahalo for your review of our property. Unfortunately, the layout of our buildings does put the bedrooms on the parking lot side. If you are a light sleeper, a unit on the 2nd floor may work out better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Outrigger Napili Shores is a very nice place to stay. We have been staying here off and on since 1991. This is an older lowrise, two story, 9 buildings. They have the Gazebo resturant on site and resturant that's changed hands many times now near the entrance. It closed just before we left and they said it's being remodeled, some kind of Bar-B-que place going in this time. The rooms are nice, not fancy. however we encountered Cockroaches this time. This is the second time this has happened over the years.We stayed two weeks in a Studio and it was a little bit small for two people for two weeks, however I think the Studio's are quiter than the one bedrooms. The bed and furniture were hard and something to get use too. The bedroom is towards the parking lot and walk way, so it can get noisy. All in all, it's Maui and fun, I just wished they would take care of the cockroach issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are sorry that you encountered cockroaches on your recent visit. Insects in a warm tropical climate are always a concern and we do have a very regular pest control program however it is possible you could encounter one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Year after year, I visit this wonderful property on western Maui, just south of Kapalua. Small, newly appointed condos and timeshares, with multiple pools and splendid views of Moloka'i and Lana'i. The restaurant is great and the staff are fun and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor; green grass right outside your room which faces a wide green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pleasant Holidays and AAA booked us in this hotel claiming it was a three-star hotel. It's not. The bed was old and saggy, the plumbing and appliances didn't work, the couches were old and hard. The staff was very pleasant, but that didn't make up for the accommodations. The only bright spot was the location on Napili bay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are sorry your stay was not at the comfort level you desired. Our furniture was all replaced with new in 2006 and mattresses are replaced on a regular basis. We wish we had known you were uncomfortable at the time of your stay so that we could have found something more comfortable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is wonderful. We rented our garden studio unit thru VRBO. Great location on the property. If we stepped off of our patio, we could see the ocean, worked for us. The grounds are beautifully maintained everyday. Plumeria trees are outside, dropping their gorgeous little buds for us to keep on our little patio table. Loved that!

The studio was perfect for us. Having no AC was not an issue for us, our unit had an extra free-standing fan which we ran all the time..it was humid while we were there. I cannot comment on how our amenities compared to the other units owned by Outrigger but I can say I didn't hear one complaint from any of the people we talked to.

Loved the BBQ locations. Oh, the wall to watch the nightly sunset, oh wow. The location on Napili Bay is wonderful, simply wonderful. Just a short walk thru a fence, down the path and there you are! We had a swell come in while we were there so the waves were really big in the bay, great for body surfing. Even people surfing inside which we have never seen.

We would walk around the front of the property to Honokeana Bay and swim with the turtles almost every day, so much fun!

The Gazebo Restaurant is always busy, would sit with our morning coffee and watch everyone make a run to be first in line.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff were very friendly. Did not have maid service during our stay so cannot comment on that portion.

Don't hesitate, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Napili Shores 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.