We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, However They Have Cockroaches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Napili Shores

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Napili Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Outrigger Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Pinole
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Place, However They Have Cockroaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Outrigger Napili Shores is a very nice place to stay. We have been staying here off and on since 1991. This is an older lowrise, two story, 9 buildings. They have the Gazebo resturant on site and resturant that's changed hands many times now near the entrance. It closed just before we left and they said it's being remodeled, some kind of Bar-B-que place going in this time. The rooms are nice, not fancy. however we encountered Cockroaches this time. This is the second time this has happened over the years.We stayed two weeks in a Studio and it was a little bit small for two people for two weeks, however I think the Studio's are quiter than the one bedrooms. The bed and furniture were hard and something to get use too. The bedroom is towards the parking lot and walk way, so it can get noisy. All in all, it's Maui and fun, I just wished they would take care of the cockroach issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are sorry that you encountered cockroaches on your recent visit. Insects in a warm tropical climate are always a concern and we do have a very regular pest control program however it is possible you could encounter one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    191
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
110
199
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Year after year, I visit this wonderful property on western Maui, just south of Kapalua. Small, newly appointed condos and timeshares, with multiple pools and splendid views of Moloka'i and Lana'i. The restaurant is great and the staff are fun and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor; green grass right outside your room which faces a wide green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pleasant Holidays and AAA booked us in this hotel claiming it was a three-star hotel. It's not. The bed was old and saggy, the plumbing and appliances didn't work, the couches were old and hard. The staff was very pleasant, but that didn't make up for the accommodations. The only bright spot was the location on Napili bay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are sorry your stay was not at the comfort level you desired. Our furniture was all replaced with new in 2006 and mattresses are replaced on a regular basis. We wish we had known you were uncomfortable at the time of your stay so that we could have found something more comfortable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is wonderful. We rented our garden studio unit thru VRBO. Great location on the property. If we stepped off of our patio, we could see the ocean, worked for us. The grounds are beautifully maintained everyday. Plumeria trees are outside, dropping their gorgeous little buds for us to keep on our little patio table. Loved that!

The studio was perfect for us. Having no AC was not an issue for us, our unit had an extra free-standing fan which we ran all the time..it was humid while we were there. I cannot comment on how our amenities compared to the other units owned by Outrigger but I can say I didn't hear one complaint from any of the people we talked to.

Loved the BBQ locations. Oh, the wall to watch the nightly sunset, oh wow. The location on Napili Bay is wonderful, simply wonderful. Just a short walk thru a fence, down the path and there you are! We had a swell come in while we were there so the waves were really big in the bay, great for body surfing. Even people surfing inside which we have never seen.

We would walk around the front of the property to Honokeana Bay and swim with the turtles almost every day, so much fun!

The Gazebo Restaurant is always busy, would sit with our morning coffee and watch everyone make a run to be first in line.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff were very friendly. Did not have maid service during our stay so cannot comment on that portion.

Don't hesitate, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quiet, well maintained, ocean view, nice cafe attached, north out of the busy Lahiana area, and has two general stores/strip malls with eateries within 5 - 10 minutes, Wife and I used this place for four nights as home base for exploring Maui. It worked out perfectly for us, especially with the kitchenette, microwave and coffee maker. Wouldn't hesitate to go back if given the chance.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the "B" building. Had a decent ocean view and was central to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Mahalo! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my first trip to Maui and we will definitely come back to this property. The Staff was great. Our room was perfect right on the beach. Laid back atmosphere and I loved the fact that there was no air conditioning. You dont need it here. I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a clean safe and tranquil place to stay. I will be back again. Aloha

Room Tip: I would recommend the First floor condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Mahalo! We could not have said it better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This property had everything I had hoped for...........I wanted to share the weeks with my grown children and so rented the one bedroom. My daughter's family (two kids) came for the first week and we found there was enough nearby to explore without going too far. . Snorkeling was a short walk away and a bay filled with turtles was nearby as well. The beach at Napili was easy for the kids as the waves are gentle and yet fun. The next week my other daughter arrived and the accomodations were great for her gourmet cook husband and comfortable for drinks on the lanai and a swim at the pool. The green grassy area makes the property feel expansive and spacious and that allows for more relaxation. The people who work at Napili Shores are helpful and gracious. You can't beat the sunsets! We rented from the rental pool rather than from an individual owner and possibly the service improves when this is done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Napili Shores

Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Napili Shores
Outrigger Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina
Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Napili Shores 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Outrigger Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.