We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, Clean, Quiet Maui Beach Access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Napili Shores

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Napili Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Napili Shores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easy, Clean, Quiet Maui Beach Access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Year after year, I visit this wonderful property on western Maui, just south of Kapalua. Small, newly appointed condos and timeshares, with multiple pools and splendid views of Moloka'i and Lana'i. The restaurant is great and the staff are fun and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor; green grass right outside your room which faces a wide green space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    205
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
124
214
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pleasant Holidays and AAA booked us in this hotel claiming it was a three-star hotel. It's not. The bed was old and saggy, the plumbing and appliances didn't work, the couches were old and hard. The staff was very pleasant, but that didn't make up for the accommodations. The only bright spot was the location on Napili bay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are sorry your stay was not at the comfort level you desired. Our furniture was all replaced with new in 2006 and mattresses are replaced on a regular basis. We wish we had known you were uncomfortable at the time of your stay so that we could have found something more comfortable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is wonderful. We rented our garden studio unit thru VRBO. Great location on the property. If we stepped off of our patio, we could see the ocean, worked for us. The grounds are beautifully maintained everyday. Plumeria trees are outside, dropping their gorgeous little buds for us to keep on our little patio table. Loved that!

The studio was perfect for us. Having no AC was not an issue for us, our unit had an extra free-standing fan which we ran all the time..it was humid while we were there. I cannot comment on how our amenities compared to the other units owned by Outrigger but I can say I didn't hear one complaint from any of the people we talked to.

Loved the BBQ locations. Oh, the wall to watch the nightly sunset, oh wow. The location on Napili Bay is wonderful, simply wonderful. Just a short walk thru a fence, down the path and there you are! We had a swell come in while we were there so the waves were really big in the bay, great for body surfing. Even people surfing inside which we have never seen.

We would walk around the front of the property to Honokeana Bay and swim with the turtles almost every day, so much fun!

The Gazebo Restaurant is always busy, would sit with our morning coffee and watch everyone make a run to be first in line.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff were very friendly. Did not have maid service during our stay so cannot comment on that portion.

Don't hesitate, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quiet, well maintained, ocean view, nice cafe attached, north out of the busy Lahiana area, and has two general stores/strip malls with eateries within 5 - 10 minutes, Wife and I used this place for four nights as home base for exploring Maui. It worked out perfectly for us, especially with the kitchenette, microwave and coffee maker. Wouldn't hesitate to go back if given the chance.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor room in the "B" building. Had a decent ocean view and was central to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Mahalo! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my first trip to Maui and we will definitely come back to this property. The Staff was great. Our room was perfect right on the beach. Laid back atmosphere and I loved the fact that there was no air conditioning. You dont need it here. I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a clean safe and tranquil place to stay. I will be back again. Aloha

Room Tip: I would recommend the First floor condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Mahalo! We could not have said it better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This property had everything I had hoped for...........I wanted to share the weeks with my grown children and so rented the one bedroom. My daughter's family (two kids) came for the first week and we found there was enough nearby to explore without going too far. . Snorkeling was a short walk away and a bay filled with turtles was nearby as well. The beach at Napili was easy for the kids as the waves are gentle and yet fun. The next week my other daughter arrived and the accomodations were great for her gourmet cook husband and comfortable for drinks on the lanai and a swim at the pool. The green grassy area makes the property feel expansive and spacious and that allows for more relaxation. The people who work at Napili Shores are helpful and gracious. You can't beat the sunsets! We rented from the rental pool rather than from an individual owner and possibly the service improves when this is done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay in September 2012 was our 14th at Napili Shores. Since our first visit in 1984, we have been charmed by the resort and have recommended it to others. Our most recent stay was not quite as pleasant, which was a disappointment. That said, here’s a fair and honest review to help others decide if Napili Shores is the perfect fit for the kind of vacation you’re looking for.

ROOMS/CONDOS: It would probably be somewhat misleading to describe these units as condos. Both floor plans (the one bedroom and the studio units) are on the small side. For more than two people in a unit, it could feel crowded. However, the lack of size has never been a compromise for the enjoyment we get (as a couple) staying in an oceanfront unit. Everyone has their own preferences in location, but in our opinion, the view from the ‘A’ building is the best seat in the house. Units are well kept but not upscale. Furnishings are modest. Don’t expect for appliances to be state-of-the-art. The kitchens are equipped for fixing most meals. There’s no A/C, but ceiling fans and leaving your sliding glass door open usually provide comfortable sleeping conditions. It’s good to note that often you have your sliding glass doors and louver windows open and the walls are fairly thin, so considerate neighbors are appreciated during quiet times! (i.e. TVs, voices, foot traffic to units, doors closing, etc.) Sometimes the waves can be ‘too loud’ in the oceanfront buildings. Garden view units hear people come and go from the parking lot. Ample free parking.

GROUNDS: The grounds are well maintained and very pretty. Wide areas of grass provide plenty of room for kids to throw a Frisbee. A giant checker board is tucked under plumeria trees. There are two well-maintained swimming pools (garden pool and oceanfront pool) and a Jacuzzi. Gas grills and picnic tables are available near both pools. A laundry room with coin-op machines is located under the front desk/lobby area. The complex has an “Old Hawaiian” ambiance that is peaceful and beautiful. Don’t miss taking a drink out to the oceanfront pool deck or grassy knoll overlooking the ocean for a fantastic vantage point for spectacular sunsets. You’ll have the company of other guests who enjoy doing the same and it’s also a good time to share or ask for tips about the island.

LOCATION: The location is one of the biggest reasons we’ve come back time and time again. Napili Bay is one of the best beaches on the island. (unless you are looking for something like Waikiki Beach with tons of people and lot of action!) Napili Bay is a beautiful crescent-shaped bay that is perfect for relaxing on the beach, swimming or floating in the waves, body surfing (or boogie boarding, depending on the surf) and snorkeling. Turtles can be seen in the rocks in front of the walkway that leads from the public access to the beach and from the second floor units in Building A. You can snorkel either in Napili Bay or Honokeana Cove (in front of neighboring complex Napili Point). Honokeana Cove is more of a challenge to get into -- but the snorkeling is among the best spots on the island. Most mornings (aside from bad weather creating poor conditions) the cove is crystal clear and you can see beautiful coral heads, colorful fish and if you take your time and look closely, at least 5 ‘resident’ turtles.

RESTAURANTS: The Gazebo is open for breakfast and lunch. It continues to be be a success, so there is often a line to get seated. (phone in orders for take out
are accepted) Favorites are the macadamia pancakes and omelettes. Help yourself to free coffee as you stand in line to be seated. Café O’Lei is an option if you don’t want to leave the property for dinner. Comments are that the food is affordable and good. This restaurant overlooks the koi pond. There is a restaurant at Napili Kai Beach Resort (at the other end of the crescent shaped Napili Bay) called Sea House. They’ve provided some competition for what people claim are ‘great breakfasts without the lines’, lunch and dinners in a pleasant atmosphere. You can walk down the beach to eat there.

STAFF: Unfortunately, here is where we were disappointed. Numerous times we (and other guests) had issues with the key card to get into our room and a majority of the front desk staff members we encountered were not understanding nor showed any empathy. The garden pool and jacuzzi were not in use for the first 3 days we were there and in the days to come the Jacuzzi was not heating properly. Again, the majority of the front desk staff members did not seem to care and everyone we spoke with had a different reason as to why it wasn’t working. Without going into detail, we encountered many of the staff members who did not have the “true aloha spirit” that other reviewers commented on. These employees were not pleasant or helpful, which reflected poorly on Napili Shores. To be fair, we DID encounter a couple of staff members as well as the general manager who were very kind and considerate.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the second floor of Building 'A' are the 'best seats in the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsrmanager, General Manager at Outrigger Napili Shores, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Mahalo for this complimentary review of our resort. We try very hard to make sure all aspects of each stay exceed your expectations. We do sincerely appologize for the issues you encountered with key cards and the spa. At the time of your stay we had just purchased a new key card system which our existing key cards did not work well. We have replaced the old cards and all should now work well.

The spa did also develop a mysterious habit of shutting the heater off which our pool representative made a few failed attempts to resolve. This was the reason for the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Napili Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Napili Shores

Address: 5315 Lower Hoanoapiilani Road, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Napili Shores 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Napili Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Napili Shores Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Napili Shores
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Napili Shores Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Napili Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.