We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Vacation Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Canton, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family Vacation Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family of three generations spent a week at the Mariott's Maui Ocean Club, and it was a perfect vacation for us. Our unit faced the ocean in the Lanai tower, and we had two bedrooms, well separated. The parents and babies were in one while we were in the other. Their room included a mini kitchen, a pull out queen sofa for the two boys and their own bathroom. Our bedroom faced the ocean, the living room was spacious and had a good mini-kitchen and a outdoor seating area that ran around the front and the side of the tower. There is a pirate ship swimming area, which was perfect for our grandchildren, and we could sit there and watch them or wadel with them. One of the problems of this resort is that people put their towels down on chairs to reserve them at about 7:00 a.m. and we found that the chairs were unused most of the morning. The hotel does send people around to make sure the chairs are being used and removing items from them if they are not, but not enough of the time. We just learned to sit in the chairs and make use of them, and it never presented a problem. The kids were old enough 4 and 2 that we could also go into any of the many pools that are on the property. The food for the most part was not great, but the pool bar had good food and great Mai Tais. We were able to walk to other restaurants and shopping and were close enough to Lahaina that we could also get in the car and go there at a moments notice. If you want to be on the island of Maui, which is spectacular and have a family vacation consisting of swimming, relaxing, shopping, eating, and recreating, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    329
    107
    41
    44
See reviews for
466
422
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Marriott Ocean Club 4 times now and are never ceased to be amazed by the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and upkeep, the locale, and the rooms. Each time we stay we try to come up with things that would make it better but usually they make improvements we hadn't thought of and they are great. For instance, this visit there were MANY more hammocks tied to the palm trees beach side. In the past, there were only 3 but now there always seems to be one waiting for you. If you ever get a chance to stay here...DO IT!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are more expensive of course but the garden or island views are exquisite too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We love love love this resort! Can't wait for our return trip coming up in a couple months! Stay here and you will not be disappointed. Fabulous pool and overall area. Only thing I don't recommend is the spa. There are plenty of better options on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although it's a timeshare, it's a really fun place to stay. Judging its rooms, I guess that it was originally built as a resort hotel and then converted to timeshare units. A one-bedroom suite has two rooms of the same size and two matching bathrooms. The "living room" has a pull-out sofa bed and the "bedroom" has a regular king bed and a smaller sofa bed. Very comfortable living with a small fridge and microwave, but no full kitchen. That said, the inside is comfortable and the view from the balcony is just gorgeous, especially for watching sunset. (We had an ocean-view suite.) There are also BBQ grills outside for owners/guests to use. The exquisitely landscaped resort pool is wonderful! Several pools connected by a cave (with real volcanic rocks above) and waterfall, and several foot bridges. There is also a separate sand-bottom pool with a pirate ship for kids. So many activities for kids too. The Longboard Restaurant serves excellent seafood and there are specials and happy hours too. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited for 11 days, 7 for a trade thru Interval. We rented 4 days and were in the Moloki Tower room 6010, ocean front. Beautiful view. Check in was fast. We have been here 8 times before. When you rent rooms parking is $14.00

For our trade we moved to Lani Tower, mountain view, partial ocean view. We had view of Hyatt construction. Sometimes you could hear the trucks backing up, beeping. This construction looks like it will be happening for many months. The day we moved, we we notified by phone when our unit was ready. It took them until 2:00

These units are great,1 bedroom 2 bathrooms.

My only comment, Not enough umbrellas at the pool. Lots of chairs, pls buy more umbrellas. For those who need shade, most of us do, it would be helpful.

Staff is friendly. We will be back, if we can trade.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After hours of research while planning our trip to Maui (including reading many helpful reviews on TA), we decided to spend the extra money and get a 3 bedroom condo at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. I found one on VRBO that was available during our vacation window, and booked it through Evan Price. He was very nice and helpful.
Our condo was on the 9th floor of the Napili Tower. We had amazing views and tons of space. It was very clean and had everything we needed, including a washer/dryer. There is a very well-equipped fitness center in the Lanai Building that my husband used several times, and several outdoor interval training stations.
Pool and pool area are really great--the pool has a water basketball hoop, volleyball net, caves and waterfalls, several hottubs and a fun waterslide. Pool area is clean, with gorgeous landscaping, fun tiki bars, lots of chairs (though you need to get down there by 7:00am at the latest and stake your claim if you want chairs anywhere near the main pool.) There are plenty of chairs on the spacious and open Napili Tower lawn, so that's a wonderful place to spend the day, as well. There are also several hammocks, and Napili and Lahaina Towers have their own separate pools, which are very nice. I loved the big open lawn at Napili. The kids had plenty of room to play football, soccer or Frisbee, and you can check out games like bacci ball to play as well--and it's all just steps from the ocean.
The only drag is the beach situation directly fronting the property. The water is full of coral, so you cannot wade in past your hips or you will cut your feet. That was a bummer. The kids had to walk down the beach path to the resort next door to get to a coral-free swimming zone. This isn't that big of a deal in the grand scheme of things, just something to keep in mind.
The location is also wonderful. There is a paved beach walk that runs between the beach and the resorts, all along Ka'anapali Beach. It's just a short walk from the Ocean Club to Whaler's Village for shopping, restaurants, and to parasail or catch a snorkeling boat.
The grounds are beautiful and impeccably maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The poolside food and drink options were good, though very pricey--but this is true everywhere in Maui, not just at the Ocean Club. They also have a full-blown Starbucks onsite, right on the beach. There is a spacious covered patio area right outside with lots of cushioned seating where you can drink your morning coffee while enjoying a relaxing beach and palm tree view. It's the perfect spot, if you have to stay plugged in while you are there, to sit with your laptop and a latte. We loved it.
We would definitely stay here again. I wish I was there right now!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite in the Napili Tower. There was plenty of room to accommodate our party of 7. The resort is family friendly and offers many different activities for kids and adults. The main pool area is huge and poolside chairs fill up early. The pirate ship for kids is wonderful for little ones to hang out and play.
The staff is awesome!! Everyone is so friendly and willing to help. They make you feel welcome and it's obvious they enjoy working here.
Since we arrived early we knew our suite would not be ready, but we were able to go to a hospitality suite and go and use the pool. My only complaint would be having to wait in line a second time to get our room keys. I had to wait another 30 minutes just to get the keys when the room was ready.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.