We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Oakley,CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort - and we found it to be excellent! From the outside hallways the rooms look a little utilitarian but inside are upscale, well decorated and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and all the staff we encountered were helpful and efficient.
For our first visit (Jan 2012) we were in a 10th floor mountain view. This time we requested ocean front or ocean view and it did not disappoint! We were in a 1 bedroom on the 2nd floor and had great views of the surf and sunsets! The kitchen is "mini" - refrigerator, sink & microwave, but we found it sufficient for breakfasts and some lunches. After a quick trip to Safeway down the road we also used the on site BBQ's to broil steaks on 2 occasions - paired with a microwaved baked potato it was a nice break from restaurant fare. Overall an excellent resort!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    337
    108
    42
    46
See reviews for
473
432
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid River
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

After checking in, only half our cards worked......back to the desk..... Upon turning AC on in master BR it sounded like a woodpecker was stuck in the wall....call to front desk for maintenance. Bought ice cream and put in mini freezer, next morning, liquid soup. Call to front desk, told they are not very good for ice cream, sorry. Day 10, went to go in room and none of our keys worked, run to front desk and they said oooops they made a mistake and only activated for 10 days instead of proper duration. They also did not honor general room area request even though property was not at capacity.
We have stayed at many Marriott properties and are multi week owners. This, despite it's great locations has had the poorest service and by far theWORST parking....Glad to be leaving tomorrow!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort and we would appreciate an opportunity to personally address your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to our timeshare here at the Marriott Maui Ocean Club and we noticed a decline in several things, but yet still experienced some positives. Here they are:

Negatives:

Pool side service is slim to none; even the private $50.00 daily cabana chaise lounges service has slipped. Servers all seem to hate their jobs or had negative attitudes (except wonderful Maureen who never fails to smile and deliver wonderful service).

Pricing for anything seems to be getting out of hand, but that's everywhere on Maui.

Pools were cloudy and not clean and clear.

The lock-off rooms in the main two towers were very small and we could hardly prepare any food in such a small space.

In unit 5106 where we stayed, the AC barely worked, plus the door had a huge air leak in it so the cooled air in our room was just sucked out and the AC unit never stopped chugging away.

For people like us who want to get away from the crowds, this is not the place anymore with screaming children everywhere, even in the more private pool areas.

Having to listen to a boring sales person trying to get more of your money, and one who wasn't even taking the time to look at you straight in the eyes, but was rather drifting off away to the side . . . so rude!

Positives:

Lovely location, but sadly with too many people on the popular Kaanapali Beach.

The housekeeping staff gets the best vote . . . so friendly and kind, and they probably work the hardest!

Decent pool side food, if you can get it served to you before it goes cold (note: go up to the Beachwalk and order yourself because it truly is cold every time you order from the slow serving people 'working' the grounds'.

We're going to use our points to stay at a different Marriott in the future, which is sad because this is ranked as Marriott's prime, best location in the Vacation Club chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had heard so many wonderful things about the Maui Ocean Club. We got ocean front, 3 floor in suite 3010. Perfect. The room was very nice comfortable and clean. No complaints. Even with a kitchen that does not have a stove, I was able to prepare several meals in. Which was a huge benefit. We were also on the other side of the resort from the construction-That was a must have. There were complimentary washers and dryers in a well designed laundry room on the walk out level. Really nice to be able to do 4 loads at once. Plus it makes packing for your trip easier.

I believe we were in one of the older towers as it did look a bit "worn" but still very pleasant and attractive. We enjoyed the pool when the ocean was too rough. The pool is great with several waterfalls and slides. Clean towels were also just steps away. There are gas grills in several locations that are power washed/cleaned each morning. Great being able to grill your supper and enjoy your meal outside.

We also liked the fact that we could learn to paddle board right there at the resort. The fee was reasonable and the instruction was great. That was a blast! The beach was only "steps" away and just grand. There were a few rocky sections but they are easy to see and stay away from.

All of the staff were just the most helpful pleasant people you could imagine. Always smiling and eager to assist you. I felt like royality. When I did encounter a problem (toilet kept running) a repair guy was there within the hour. I also got a follow up phone call from the desk to make certain that everything was done to my satisfaction. Great service. :)

Without a doubt, this was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction. If you want quiet, request ocean front, not ocean view- y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I are MVC members, and to say that I wish we had gone somewhere else is an understatement!

When we booked the room inSeptember 2012, we specifically told them that we wanted an early check in... 3pm. When we arrived at 3:05, we were told that our room was not available, and that they would call us on our cell # within a few minutes...at 4:30pm, we had to go to the front desk and ask what was going on... We were told that they didn't have the right number. Told them right then and the to call the number that they had, and lo and behold it rang. Their excuse was that sometimes they have spotty cellular service at the pool area...what BS!

The room we got, 2024, is nothing but two old hotel rooms remodeled into a room and a large living room, with an island view. The view itself is fine, however the room it located right above where they pick up tourists for their 2:30 am volcano tours, so every night, we are woken up by the bus idling for 30 minutes waiting for people who didn't set their alarm clocks properly. Went to the front desk to ask that the location be switched, so that we can enjoy our room, and was told that it is a third party operator so they can't control it...again, BS!

Since we are MVC owners, we went on the 'learn about the MVC program updates' tour, which turned into a sal pitch for more points. We told the guy straight up, within 5 minutes of the presentation that we were not interested, and he still didn't get it, an hour and a half later, we were still getting the 'pitch' to buy more points. Our sales guy kept saying that he had to show/tell us these things, over and over again...despite being told we were not interested. Then we had to deal with the QA Manager, who then tried to sell us the points again, and offered us a free vacation to the resort as an incentive.

If we had the option, we'd be leaving this hotel after our third day, but since we would be losing out on our week and points because of crappy customer service, my husband and I are going to spend our anniversary wearing earplugs and counting down the days until we leave.

We will NEVER come back here, and make sure to tell everyone we know who is considering coming here, that they'd be better off at any other different resort on the island.

Room Tip: If you are coming, try and get an upper room floor, although even when you request it, they aren'...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience at Marriott's Maui Ocean Club. This is not typical of the guest experience at our resort. While every attempt is made to accommodate villa and view requests, it is not always possible to do so. We would appreciate an opportunity to personally respond to your concerns. Please contact us at customer.care@vacationclub.com or at 800 860 9384. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Like most Marriott resorts this one is beautiful and the scenic backdrop of Maui is breathtaking. Our 9th floor room had a view of everything -- the mountains to our left, the enormous, intricate pool below us and the ocean behind that. We actually enjoyed the pool most, even without kids. It had a fantastic water slide and multiple waterfalls. Ate at the hotel restaurant the first night. Food was decent but worth it for the unbelievable view of the sunset. The Starbucks and takeout place next to it are convenient for breakfast. Would not recommend food at the pool bar. Generally the amenities are not that greats because its a timeshare place, not a true hotel.

The deceiving part is even though its on the ocean you will need to walk 10 to 15 minutes to actually swim in the ocean. The Marriott is at one end of a long strip of beach resorts and its own slice of the beach is so small that no one uses it. They sit on lawn chairs overlooking the beach instead. We walked about 15 minutes each day to Black Rock, next to the Sheraton, for great swimming and snorkeling. It is a small inconvenience, but if you want a true luxury experience at a more full scale resort you might want to look at the Westin or Hyatt further down the strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in the Lahaini Tower at MOC earlier this month. The suites have kitchens, dining areas and small washer/dryer units which allow you to limit how much you have to pack for the trip.The rooms are spacious, and each has a small balcony. Going to sleep by the sound of waves crashing into the surf is very relaxing. There is a large parking garage directly behind the tower. This property is loaded with amenities, both prearranged activities (too many to list here - visit their web site) and those you can do on your own. There are lots of pools, with slides and waterfalls, whirlpools, and plenty of space, both sunny and shady, to spread out around the nicely manicured grounds. There is also a nice fitness center on site. The property sits right on a sandy beach, and is just a short walk from shopping and dining at Whalers Village, as well as an excellent golf facility. There is a popular Starbucks and a small market Rooms either have a mountain view or an ocean view. The mountain views are nice, but the ocean views are spectacular. I recommend taking in the weekly orientation meeting on Monday morning to get an idea about all of the activities offered by the resort. This was our second visit to this property, and we will be back again on our next trip to Hawaii.

Room Tip: If you can find an ocean view room, it is something you won't soon forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.