We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort - Beware of the construction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great resort - Beware of the construction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the property. Property varies in age, indicating there were several "phases" over the years. Lobby and original phases appear a bit dated, but are kept in great shape. We stayed in the newer tower and had a really nice 2 bedroom with ocean view. It must be noted that there is a large construction project occurring on the east side of the property. The noise was constant with numerous pieces of construction equipment operating at the same time. They started around 8 and conclusion time varied from 4-5:30pm. (they even worked Saturday morning). We were not informed of this in advance and management was sincere when we addressed it on-site.

Again, unit was nice. Well appointed, comfortable and clean. Had two balconies that were nice early in the morning and in the evenings when the construction was not present. Grounds are lush and well maintained. There are 3 pools which offer variety. Shopping on property is virtually non-existent (or not open). If you need a quick pair of shorts or small grocery items, go next door to the Hyatt. They have a really nice sundry store and a Macy's.

We ate at longboards one evening and were surprised as the reviews on TA were not overwhelmingly positive. Wife had the fish of the day and loved it.

Overall, very nice trip and looking forward to our next trip to Hawaii. Property functioned as it should, but would have appreciated more transparency regarding the construction. I think most would understand as it is not in the properties control....

Room Tip: Avoid the side where the construction is happening. It looks like it will be a long time before it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    326
    104
    41
    42
See reviews for
461
413
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First and foremost you have to know that the Marriott on Kaanapali Beach is a beautiful location, central to everything, and they have amazing grounds and pool areas, but understand that this is a Vacation Club location, not a full service hotel. It was converted a few years back and they built two new towers. With this being said, this "hotel" lacks in the service department.

Upon arriving we tried to upgrade our room and it was like pulling teeth to get them to show us another room - we actually had to speak with four different front desk people. They had originally put us in one of the new towers which are much further out from the central core of the property where the restaurants and pool are. Eventually they agreed to upgrade us to a full ocean view room which was great. Next, we went to the "concierge" and asked about fun activities on the island - were just rudely handed some standard pamphlets with no other attempt to give us advice. There is no room service here and if you're not an "owner" you really don't get the four-star treatment that you pay for. We completely skipped the sales pitch on the vacation club by the way!

That being said, this is a beautiful property with great pools and a central location along the beach front walk. If you're looking for a full-service hotel that caters to your needs then this is not the place to stay. We enjoyed our trip, but will probably stay at another hotel next time.

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view room, it's worth the price. Also, if you want to be close to the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The Maui Marriott Ocean Club was a wonderful place for my wife and I to spend a quiet week together. The rooms were spacious and clean, the check-in and check-out was fast and easy, the staff was wonderful and the valet was quick, courteous and very efficient. Our room was a one bedroom suite with an ocean view and two baths. It had a sink, microwave, bar fridge and dishwasher. The kitchenette was stocked with all the dishes we needed and a nice table for eating breakfast every morning.
The hotel has three beautiful pools, a workout room which contained a number of treadmills, stair steppers, ellipticals, and weight machines. There is a rec room where Zumba workouts are held every day along with movies in the afternoon.
The "Longboards" restaurant had excellent food at reasonable prices and the "Beachwalk" had a lighter breakfast and lunch menu as well as snacks and drinks. A Starbucks right next to the "Beachwalk" provided a necessary jump start to the morning.
With the beautiful views and the lovely Maui sunsets along Ka'anapali Beach, this resort cannot be beaten.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very nice timeshare resort. The lobby is nice looking and open. It's not spectacular but it's way nicer than most timeshare resorts. We rented a 2BR/2BA unit with a full kitchen in the Lahaina Villas building, about 12 floors with an adjacent parking garage. The condo was nicely appointed and very spacious. We exchanged Hyatt points through Interval (more on that later).

As far as timeshare resorts go this is probably one of the nicest and more closely resembles a full resort. What would make it a full resort would be more dinner/bar options that stay open past 9:30pm. But Whaler's Village is only a 10 minute walk up the beachside path.

There's definitely a family atmosphere here. The pools are great and visually interesting. We have a 12 and 13 year old and they loved all the different pool "ponds." There were pool areas for volley ball, basketball and plenty of bridges and coves. There is a pool slide that's ok. It's decently fast but would be better if it was longer and taller. Our boys got bored with it after a few runs. Also plenty of hot tubs. The pool bar has pretty good food and drinks, including really good smoothies for the kids. It's a bit pricey but what do you expect. And there are plenty of lounge chairs in "semi-private" areas and with nice shade. We never felt like we had to compete for lounge chairs but maybe it gets busier in the summer. We also rented the "cabanas" which are wooden lounge chairs with mats and a quarter-circle shade-thing. They are nice-looking and very comfortable. They're set up on a grass area overlooking the beach and the staff will come by to take drink and food orders -- that's living.

The beach worked out great. The boys enjoyed "shore-break" boogie boarding and fooling around. We surfed on many days over the coral reef. The water is pretty shallow over the reef break like 3 - 5 feet in some areas so everyone wears water shoes. The waves were mostly 2 - 4 feet tall and not very powerful which is perfect for beginners and weekend warriors on longboards like me.

The coral reef in front of the hotel is very alive and great for snorkeling when the wind is down and the ocean is decently calm. After traveling to other spots we tried the reef in front and it was just as good as not better as more hyped spots. We saw big sea turtles every time, plenty of tropical fish and the coral was beautiful yellows, greens, browns and even blues. The best entrance to the coal reef is about 30 yards north of the property. There is an ocean activities center that will rent all types of equipment. They are great there. We took our boys on their first scuba dive with them and had a great time.

Overall we loved our stay. The only bummer was that we were given a "garden view" unit but never told about it in advance. I'm guessing this has something to do with the Interval exchange. I really think the resort de-prioritizes Interval exchange customers. There was no communication of the view type even though the resort sent an email asking for preferences. Now a garden view could've been ok but the worse part was that right next door there is a big construction project going on. Looks like they are building another resort. So our view was mostly dominated by a 100' crane. Fortunately the construction site wasn't that busy so there wasn't much noise. The front desk could've been much more helpful in finding a better unit for us but claimed to have their hands tied. Eventually they comped us the cabanas for the week which are nice but this could've all been handled much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights last week with our 8&10 year old.
The check in & check out were fast and smooth. Skipped the timeshare thing..too busy having fun! LOL..
The pool was fun, fun, fun! Tasty but over priced food at the boardwalk by onsite starbucks by the pool area. Sidewalk to Whaler's Village (10 minutes walk) with at least 3 beach showers along the way for those who want to rinse off the salt and sand. Property is on the beach, lots of lou ge chairs but got taken up quickly by 6.30am - staffs will remove anything prior that. We didn't care about lounge chairs. Sat on the room balcony overlooking the ocean woth Lanai and moloka'i on the background. Fun activities during the day for small fee or free. Snuba in the pool was so much fun!
Valet was prompt and courteous.
We got a great deal to stay in this property. Lucky us!
All in all, thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Marriott Apr. 13-20th. Check in was quick and efficient. Nice staff all around. A really nice luggage guy named Jay helped us. We were in the Lanai Tower, which is the older section of the hotel. The room was nice, and had a partial ocean view which we didn’t expect, so that was a nice upgrade. The bed was great, as was the LCD TV. We stayed in the lock-off studio unit, but there was no stove or kitchen sink, only a small refrigerator (old and pretty sad), and a microwave. The grounds are very lovely and the pool is one of the best we have seen. A lot of families there enjoyed playing in the pool, as there is a volleyball net in one section, a basketball hoop in another, and a very cool grotto with waterfalls on each end, each one being hard enough of a flow to give you a great pounding massage! There is also a nice water slide that is fun. The beach is great out front, and the snorkeling is really good too. You can enter the water through a sand channel in front of the Activities Center; otherwise it is very shallow and rocky to enter elsewhere. Be sure to go out at least 100 feet or more to see the nicer coral, as the closer in reef is all dead and brown. I usually don’t eat at the hotel, as the prices are very high, but I highly recommend the little take out place next to Starbucks on the property. The barbecued chicken is really good. It looks like a little old hole in the wall, but it’s quite good. Overall a nice place, but very dated in the older buildings. We have stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas for the same price and they are far better than the Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have owned a timeshare at this resort for 11 years, come every year for spring break and are never disappointed. Our ocean view/pool view room is always in the Molokai Tower which is the original tower that used to be a hotel and is now a timeshare. We have the 1br/2ba room which sleeps 4. Note there is not a full kitchen but there is everything but an oven/stove. The rooms are very spacious and love how they're newly decorated every 3-5 years. The hotel lobby and common areas are refurbished often as well. The new memory foam sofabed mattress is a nice touch. The gym is one of the best gyms I've seen at a hotel and has 3 rooms of equipment. We overlook the main pool which is awesome. This year they added a weekly Saturday Hawaiiain entertainment night from 6-8 by the pool so they kept the pool bar and restaurant open later than normal-really enjoyed this. The staff is great as usual-a lot of them have been at this resort forever so it's always fun to see them every year. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is the food/restaurants. The marketplace, which is the only place to get to go food at the resort, closed during the week at 7pm which is so early. Plus the prices at the marketplace are outrageous now-$14.50 for a burger at a timeshare resort is pricey. We ate at Longboards but the menu not that great. The pool bar is good and like that they have happy hours from 10-11 and 4-6 with special drink prices. The golf courses outside the hotel are good but very pricey-luckily we got 2 for 1 super twighlight price of $75 for 2 after 3:30 and got in 18 holes but that didn't include drivinig range balls. There always seemed to be lounge chairs by pool no matter what time was. Seemed to be enforcing the 1 1/2 hour lounge chair rule where you must show up or else they take them. Lots of bbqs/tables to grill at. All in all this place is heaven. We see same group of friends every year so it's so fun.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is 8005 which has 2 balconies and excellent view of main pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.