We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pools and beach are great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #13 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pools and beach are great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very nice timeshare resort. The lobby is nice looking and open. It's not spectacular but it's way nicer than most timeshare resorts. We rented a 2BR/2BA unit with a full kitchen in the Lahaina Villas building, about 12 floors with an adjacent parking garage. The condo was nicely appointed and very spacious. We exchanged Hyatt points through Interval (more on that later).

As far as timeshare resorts go this is probably one of the nicest and more closely resembles a full resort. What would make it a full resort would be more dinner/bar options that stay open past 9:30pm. But Whaler's Village is only a 10 minute walk up the beachside path.

There's definitely a family atmosphere here. The pools are great and visually interesting. We have a 12 and 13 year old and they loved all the different pool "ponds." There were pool areas for volley ball, basketball and plenty of bridges and coves. There is a pool slide that's ok. It's decently fast but would be better if it was longer and taller. Our boys got bored with it after a few runs. Also plenty of hot tubs. The pool bar has pretty good food and drinks, including really good smoothies for the kids. It's a bit pricey but what do you expect. And there are plenty of lounge chairs in "semi-private" areas and with nice shade. We never felt like we had to compete for lounge chairs but maybe it gets busier in the summer. We also rented the "cabanas" which are wooden lounge chairs with mats and a quarter-circle shade-thing. They are nice-looking and very comfortable. They're set up on a grass area overlooking the beach and the staff will come by to take drink and food orders -- that's living.

The beach worked out great. The boys enjoyed "shore-break" boogie boarding and fooling around. We surfed on many days over the coral reef. The water is pretty shallow over the reef break like 3 - 5 feet in some areas so everyone wears water shoes. The waves were mostly 2 - 4 feet tall and not very powerful which is perfect for beginners and weekend warriors on longboards like me.

The coral reef in front of the hotel is very alive and great for snorkeling when the wind is down and the ocean is decently calm. After traveling to other spots we tried the reef in front and it was just as good as not better as more hyped spots. We saw big sea turtles every time, plenty of tropical fish and the coral was beautiful yellows, greens, browns and even blues. The best entrance to the coal reef is about 30 yards north of the property. There is an ocean activities center that will rent all types of equipment. They are great there. We took our boys on their first scuba dive with them and had a great time.

Overall we loved our stay. The only bummer was that we were given a "garden view" unit but never told about it in advance. I'm guessing this has something to do with the Interval exchange. I really think the resort de-prioritizes Interval exchange customers. There was no communication of the view type even though the resort sent an email asking for preferences. Now a garden view could've been ok but the worse part was that right next door there is a big construction project going on. Looks like they are building another resort. So our view was mostly dominated by a 100' crane. Fortunately the construction site wasn't that busy so there wasn't much noise. The front desk could've been much more helpful in finding a better unit for us but claimed to have their hands tied. Eventually they comped us the cabanas for the week which are nice but this could've all been handled much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    308
    96
    39
    41
See reviews for
440
384
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights last week with our 8&10 year old.
The check in & check out were fast and smooth. Skipped the timeshare thing..too busy having fun! LOL..
The pool was fun, fun, fun! Tasty but over priced food at the boardwalk by onsite starbucks by the pool area. Sidewalk to Whaler's Village (10 minutes walk) with at least 3 beach showers along the way for those who want to rinse off the salt and sand. Property is on the beach, lots of lou ge chairs but got taken up quickly by 6.30am - staffs will remove anything prior that. We didn't care about lounge chairs. Sat on the room balcony overlooking the ocean woth Lanai and moloka'i on the background. Fun activities during the day for small fee or free. Snuba in the pool was so much fun!
Valet was prompt and courteous.
We got a great deal to stay in this property. Lucky us!
All in all, thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Marriott Apr. 13-20th. Check in was quick and efficient. Nice staff all around. A really nice luggage guy named Jay helped us. We were in the Lanai Tower, which is the older section of the hotel. The room was nice, and had a partial ocean view which we didn’t expect, so that was a nice upgrade. The bed was great, as was the LCD TV. We stayed in the lock-off studio unit, but there was no stove or kitchen sink, only a small refrigerator (old and pretty sad), and a microwave. The grounds are very lovely and the pool is one of the best we have seen. A lot of families there enjoyed playing in the pool, as there is a volleyball net in one section, a basketball hoop in another, and a very cool grotto with waterfalls on each end, each one being hard enough of a flow to give you a great pounding massage! There is also a nice water slide that is fun. The beach is great out front, and the snorkeling is really good too. You can enter the water through a sand channel in front of the Activities Center; otherwise it is very shallow and rocky to enter elsewhere. Be sure to go out at least 100 feet or more to see the nicer coral, as the closer in reef is all dead and brown. I usually don’t eat at the hotel, as the prices are very high, but I highly recommend the little take out place next to Starbucks on the property. The barbecued chicken is really good. It looks like a little old hole in the wall, but it’s quite good. Overall a nice place, but very dated in the older buildings. We have stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas for the same price and they are far better than the Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have owned a timeshare at this resort for 11 years, come every year for spring break and are never disappointed. Our ocean view/pool view room is always in the Molokai Tower which is the original tower that used to be a hotel and is now a timeshare. We have the 1br/2ba room which sleeps 4. Note there is not a full kitchen but there is everything but an oven/stove. The rooms are very spacious and love how they're newly decorated every 3-5 years. The hotel lobby and common areas are refurbished often as well. The new memory foam sofabed mattress is a nice touch. The gym is one of the best gyms I've seen at a hotel and has 3 rooms of equipment. We overlook the main pool which is awesome. This year they added a weekly Saturday Hawaiiain entertainment night from 6-8 by the pool so they kept the pool bar and restaurant open later than normal-really enjoyed this. The staff is great as usual-a lot of them have been at this resort forever so it's always fun to see them every year. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is the food/restaurants. The marketplace, which is the only place to get to go food at the resort, closed during the week at 7pm which is so early. Plus the prices at the marketplace are outrageous now-$14.50 for a burger at a timeshare resort is pricey. We ate at Longboards but the menu not that great. The pool bar is good and like that they have happy hours from 10-11 and 4-6 with special drink prices. The golf courses outside the hotel are good but very pricey-luckily we got 2 for 1 super twighlight price of $75 for 2 after 3:30 and got in 18 holes but that didn't include drivinig range balls. There always seemed to be lounge chairs by pool no matter what time was. Seemed to be enforcing the 1 1/2 hour lounge chair rule where you must show up or else they take them. Lots of bbqs/tables to grill at. All in all this place is heaven. We see same group of friends every year so it's so fun.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is 8005 which has 2 balconies and excellent view of main pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at this property 24 years ago when it was a Marriott Hotel. The return trip as a vacation club did not disappoint. This property has a great location on Kanappali that allows for walking along the beach on a walkway. It has great access to Whalers Village with shops and restaurants. The changes to this property were mostly good in terms of the pool and the way they made vacation club accommodations from hotel rooms. We had a 2 bedroom shared with another couple. The older building does not have full kitchen or laundry which did not bother us since we were traveling on to Kauai which has those facilities. There is a starbucks on the property but I missed the great fruit stand which was there on our first visit. We still loved sitting outside the starbucks and enjoying every morning watching the ocean and the whales.
The staff was very good and concierge booked a whale watch and golf for us. You do need to get to the pool early if you want good seats but there was a smaller pool near our room which was quieter and easier to find a seat later in the day. This property has great views from all parts of the property. Although we booked too late for an ocean view the mountain view was beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! This was our first trip to Maui and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations and friendly staff. They were the definition of practicing "Aloha". The property has a Starbucks, open at 5am, two restaraunts, cafe, and pool bar. A full exercise facilty with all of the latest equipment. Daily activity list with events for all ages.
They have valet car services, a little spendy but, worth it if you plan on touring the island towns. They also provide blankets for the sunrise trip to Haleakula.

Room Tip: Get your spot at the pool early, loungers are taken quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in April 2013. This is an overcrowded (especially during Spring Break and Xmas holidays!) resort that is being managed well. We stayed in the Molokai Tower, which is part of the original Marriott Hotel that was built in 1984, and which was modified into a timeshare "vacation club" resort in 1999. We loved the one bedroom because our 2 kids slept on a comfortable "memory foam" sofa bed and had their own bathroom. The carpets in all the corridors and elevator areas look like they are from 1984 and desperately need to be replaced! We loved the "Beachwalk" Grill for lunch but we found "Longboards" restaurant, for dinner, lacking in chef creativity. During major holidays one has to get down to the pool area before 8:00 am to reserve lounge chairs, a sad fact of life in most major resorts these days. I would NEVER spend $80K to purchase 10K points at this resort. We attended the sales presentation here and were even more convinced to stay away from owning here after that!
The staff were friendly and competent and overall we had a good time here. The restaurants nearby, reachable by walking along the beachwalk, such as Leilani's on the beach and restaurants at the Hyatt nearby, were awesome.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the best. If you bring a good pair of binoculars, you may even be able to see some Hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.