We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel, location and ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 35%
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel, location and ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights last week with our 8&10 year old.
The check in & check out were fast and smooth. Skipped the timeshare thing..too busy having fun! LOL..
The pool was fun, fun, fun! Tasty but over priced food at the boardwalk by onsite starbucks by the pool area. Sidewalk to Whaler's Village (10 minutes walk) with at least 3 beach showers along the way for those who want to rinse off the salt and sand. Property is on the beach, lots of lou ge chairs but got taken up quickly by 6.30am - staffs will remove anything prior that. We didn't care about lounge chairs. Sat on the room balcony overlooking the ocean woth Lanai and moloka'i on the background. Fun activities during the day for small fee or free. Snuba in the pool was so much fun!
Valet was prompt and courteous.
We got a great deal to stay in this property. Lucky us!
All in all, thanks Marriott!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    318
    99
    41
    41
See reviews for
452
396
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Marriott Apr. 13-20th. Check in was quick and efficient. Nice staff all around. A really nice luggage guy named Jay helped us. We were in the Lanai Tower, which is the older section of the hotel. The room was nice, and had a partial ocean view which we didn’t expect, so that was a nice upgrade. The bed was great, as was the LCD TV. We stayed in the lock-off studio unit, but there was no stove or kitchen sink, only a small refrigerator (old and pretty sad), and a microwave. The grounds are very lovely and the pool is one of the best we have seen. A lot of families there enjoyed playing in the pool, as there is a volleyball net in one section, a basketball hoop in another, and a very cool grotto with waterfalls on each end, each one being hard enough of a flow to give you a great pounding massage! There is also a nice water slide that is fun. The beach is great out front, and the snorkeling is really good too. You can enter the water through a sand channel in front of the Activities Center; otherwise it is very shallow and rocky to enter elsewhere. Be sure to go out at least 100 feet or more to see the nicer coral, as the closer in reef is all dead and brown. I usually don’t eat at the hotel, as the prices are very high, but I highly recommend the little take out place next to Starbucks on the property. The barbecued chicken is really good. It looks like a little old hole in the wall, but it’s quite good. Overall a nice place, but very dated in the older buildings. We have stayed at the Westin Ka'anapali Ocean Resort Villas for the same price and they are far better than the Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have owned a timeshare at this resort for 11 years, come every year for spring break and are never disappointed. Our ocean view/pool view room is always in the Molokai Tower which is the original tower that used to be a hotel and is now a timeshare. We have the 1br/2ba room which sleeps 4. Note there is not a full kitchen but there is everything but an oven/stove. The rooms are very spacious and love how they're newly decorated every 3-5 years. The hotel lobby and common areas are refurbished often as well. The new memory foam sofabed mattress is a nice touch. The gym is one of the best gyms I've seen at a hotel and has 3 rooms of equipment. We overlook the main pool which is awesome. This year they added a weekly Saturday Hawaiiain entertainment night from 6-8 by the pool so they kept the pool bar and restaurant open later than normal-really enjoyed this. The staff is great as usual-a lot of them have been at this resort forever so it's always fun to see them every year. The only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is the food/restaurants. The marketplace, which is the only place to get to go food at the resort, closed during the week at 7pm which is so early. Plus the prices at the marketplace are outrageous now-$14.50 for a burger at a timeshare resort is pricey. We ate at Longboards but the menu not that great. The pool bar is good and like that they have happy hours from 10-11 and 4-6 with special drink prices. The golf courses outside the hotel are good but very pricey-luckily we got 2 for 1 super twighlight price of $75 for 2 after 3:30 and got in 18 holes but that didn't include drivinig range balls. There always seemed to be lounge chairs by pool no matter what time was. Seemed to be enforcing the 1 1/2 hour lounge chair rule where you must show up or else they take them. Lots of bbqs/tables to grill at. All in all this place is heaven. We see same group of friends every year so it's so fun.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is 8005 which has 2 balconies and excellent view of main pool/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at this property 24 years ago when it was a Marriott Hotel. The return trip as a vacation club did not disappoint. This property has a great location on Kanappali that allows for walking along the beach on a walkway. It has great access to Whalers Village with shops and restaurants. The changes to this property were mostly good in terms of the pool and the way they made vacation club accommodations from hotel rooms. We had a 2 bedroom shared with another couple. The older building does not have full kitchen or laundry which did not bother us since we were traveling on to Kauai which has those facilities. There is a starbucks on the property but I missed the great fruit stand which was there on our first visit. We still loved sitting outside the starbucks and enjoying every morning watching the ocean and the whales.
The staff was very good and concierge booked a whale watch and golf for us. You do need to get to the pool early if you want good seats but there was a smaller pool near our room which was quieter and easier to find a seat later in the day. This property has great views from all parts of the property. Although we booked too late for an ocean view the mountain view was beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! This was our first trip to Maui and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations and friendly staff. They were the definition of practicing "Aloha". The property has a Starbucks, open at 5am, two restaraunts, cafe, and pool bar. A full exercise facilty with all of the latest equipment. Daily activity list with events for all ages.
They have valet car services, a little spendy but, worth it if you plan on touring the island towns. They also provide blankets for the sunrise trip to Haleakula.

Room Tip: Get your spot at the pool early, loungers are taken quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in April 2013. This is an overcrowded (especially during Spring Break and Xmas holidays!) resort that is being managed well. We stayed in the Molokai Tower, which is part of the original Marriott Hotel that was built in 1984, and which was modified into a timeshare "vacation club" resort in 1999. We loved the one bedroom because our 2 kids slept on a comfortable "memory foam" sofa bed and had their own bathroom. The carpets in all the corridors and elevator areas look like they are from 1984 and desperately need to be replaced! We loved the "Beachwalk" Grill for lunch but we found "Longboards" restaurant, for dinner, lacking in chef creativity. During major holidays one has to get down to the pool area before 8:00 am to reserve lounge chairs, a sad fact of life in most major resorts these days. I would NEVER spend $80K to purchase 10K points at this resort. We attended the sales presentation here and were even more convinced to stay away from owning here after that!
The staff were friendly and competent and overall we had a good time here. The restaurants nearby, reachable by walking along the beachwalk, such as Leilani's on the beach and restaurants at the Hyatt nearby, were awesome.

Room Tip: Ocean Front is the best. If you bring a good pair of binoculars, you may even be able to see some Hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Having a Starbuck's on the beach path is nice, and the restaurant had good food for dinner. The beach path is great for just a walk or to get to Whaler's Village...food, shopping. Along the path you also pass quite a few other restaurants connected to other hotels. Rooms at this Marriott are spacious as they normally tend to be. One nice feature is if you are having one couple staying in the bedroom and one couple using the pullout sofa, there are two bathrooms...very convenient. Pools are great...people saving chairs by the pool, not so much. Driving into Lahaina is easy. Great town for dining and shopping...or shaved ice. We took a sunset cruise from the port....good times!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;