We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Maui Ocean Club to your Saves list
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a beautiful property. Loved the landscaping and lots of room to lie around as long as you're not by the central pool. Went at Christmas and there was still loungers available around the grounds. However, dont bother around the pool unless you are willing to be up at 7 to drape your towel to hold a chair. We had a view of the pool area and every morning we would see towels draped on the loungers with no bodies to occupy them for several hours. I dont know why staff doesnt remove them after an hour. It was totally ridiculous! What made up for it was the amount of loungers and hammocks spread throughout the property. I thought we would have to rent chairs given the way people were hoarding them by the pool but when we walked to the grassy area, there were quite a number of chairs available.

There is 3 pools and it would be nice to designate 1 as adult only.

We had a 1 bedroom in the older towers. The room was okay. Didnt have a full kitchen or fridge. Next time, we will try for the newer towers where it is fully furnished.

Great location, nice walkway to Whaler's Village. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    352
    113
    44
    50
See reviews for
505
452
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Once again our stay was excellent. Our valets were exceptionally helpful in directing us to snorkel beaches and activities. It is a pleasure to the same staff each year. It feels like a second home. Can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at this resort for the third time this year and loved it! Got a ground floor unit since we had children and grandchildren with us. It was perfect! Was a little concerned about sound from the pool, but it was totally quiet. The windows were marked from water/sprinkler, something. The staff spent over an hour scouring it to get it clean - and they did! Beautiful view of the ocean! Highly recommended! Only one negative - the bed was not a full king and was not very comfortable, not sure why.

Room Tip: Ground floor highly recommended. Great for kids and if you want quick access to your stuff. When we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love this resort! I would go back in a hear beat!!

It's on the water. The pool is AMAZING! Perfect for kids! My 4 yr old actually learned how to swim here (from his parents not the staff). The pirate ship splash area is so much fun and both kids spent hours here. It is walking distance to shopping and restaurants. You literally do not have to leave this resort once you check in. Everything is walking distance. Even the amazing snorkeling at nearby Black Rock.

The only negative thing I have to say, is I wish it had more of a kitchen set up. But we used the BBQ's and bought a griddle that we used for eggs and pancakes in the morning. So all in all we didn't miss the stove that much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to the Marriott Maui Ocean Club with my Wife, Son, and in-laws. There were six of us all together. We booked two Oceanfront rooms. The rooms were fairly Small but beautiful. They had a king size bed and a couch with a pull out bed. There was also a patio where we sat outside in the mornings. The resort was huge and I never felt like it was crowded. I've stayed at other resorts in Hawaii and felt like they were overcrowded.

Resort/Pools:

The resort has several towers and is mostly timeshares. The grounds are very clean and easy to get around in. The resort is located a short drive from Lahaina, and a very short walk to Whalers Village shopping center. This is very convenient considering the small number of food options on the resort

FOOD:

The resort has only one restaurant, longboards. They also have a starbucks which also serves hot food and a snack shop near the pool. I did not eat there so I cannot review it but my in-laws did and they said it was very good. It's located beach front and even has a few tables in the sand. We ate at many nearby restaurants. We had Bubba Gump, Melting Pot, Leilanis (very good), hula girl, hard rock, and starbucks on the resort. Whaler's Village is a very nice little mall within 10 minutes walking along the beach with restaurants and ice cream and shopping. Plus there is an ABC store (BUY YOUR ALCOHOL THERE).

Activities:
This was my first time to Maui and it was an amazing experience. It is so calm and relaxing compared to Honolulu. I LOVE Honolulu but really needed to relax this vacation and Marriott made it easy. We did a sunset dinner/booze cruise, and the atlantis submarine. I wanted to go Snorkeling but the surf was too high. I also heard the road to hana is worth the day trip as well.


EXTRA:

Our flight got canceled going home :) so we stayed another night but this time it was in a two room Villa. This thing was INCREDIBLE. It was MASSIVE. Had a BEAUTIFUL kitchen, dining area and living room, 3 large HDTV's, a walk in shower, and a two person jacuzzi tub. We will definitely stay in one of these next time if it's available.

Overall the Marriott Ocean Club was an amazing experience and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Maui.

Room Tip: Two Room villas are amazing and perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We are owners of 2 weeks at Maui Ocean Club. Luckily Marriott started the new points program so we got to spend 13 nights in a 2 bedroom ocean front suite in the Lahaina Villa. The facility is so well maintained. They paint things all of the time, keeping it so fresh. We had no problem finding chairs in the sun or in the shade whenever we wanted. We did notice one table that had towels draped on chairs and no one showed up for hours. We got to see lots of whales breeching, and lots of spouting almost every day. We were there after the holidays so not too many children and lots of quiet around the pools. I'm disappointed they added a Starbucks in favor of the great Marketplace they had before. I like Starbucks but now you have to go to Safeway or Foodland for simple supplies like bread and milk. Longboards is always a good restaurant to enjoy a sunset dinner. Menu hasn't changed in a long time but spareribs and fish are great and salads are always fresh. Glad we made this investment and can return each year or choose a different destination using our points.

Room Tip: Lahaina villa 5th floor and above gives you a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have owned at Marriott Maui Ocean Club since 2001. While I do have a couple concerns (people saving chairs for hours and never using them, lack of an "adult only" pool), for people that trade in or rent.... Of course you are not going to get the OCEAN FRONT unit on the upper floor. People who own an pay over $2000 owner dues per year will (and should) get those. The couple times we have traded our time we didn't get the best room. I'm looking forward to our visit in April.

Room Tip: Know the policy and what exactly you are entitled to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Maui Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Maui Ocean Club

Address: 100 Nohea Kai Dr, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Maui Ocean Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Maui Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Maui Ocean Club Hotel Lahaina
Marriotts Maui Ocean Hotel
Marriotts Maui Ocean Resort
Marriott Lahaina
Maui Marriott
Marriott Maui Ocean Club
Lahaina Marriott
Marriotts Maui Ocean Club
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Maui Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.