We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Red Bluff, California, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a one room suite. Upon arriving we were told our room had flooded, so for the first night we would be upgraded to a one bedroom. It was truly fantastic room 1006. The next day we were moved to 903. A nice room about what I expected. It is lacking in cooking utensils. No BBQ tongs, one very small frying pan, no baking pan or cookie sheets. Clean and partially upgraded, but not to the standards of most of the units. I realize that these are privately owned units and that some owners don't spend as much on upgrades as others. I was hoping to get a unit that looked like the one pictured on the website. That being said the view and location are remarkable. I will be back and hopefully get a fully remodeled unit next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    373
    65
    41
    8
See reviews for
297
790
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mahana at Kaanapali during our recent trip to Hawaii. The best part of the hotel are the views. All rooms have a ocean view that is just breathtaking. The rooms are also well decorated. The beach is right in front of the hotel!
What we did not like was that the kitchen was very dated (at least in our room). It just doesn't do justice to the room. The slider doors in our room were broken and were not working properly. This place can be great if they can do some upgrades but if you don't mind these minor issues, this is a good place to stay during your vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I originally stayed here for our honeymoon 4 years ago. We overwhelmed by the beauty of the location and the quality of the staff at that time and are glad to report nothing has changed!! Whether you stay in a simple efficiency or one of the 2 bedroom units the views are all ocean, all the time. The floor to ceiling windows along the ocean front simply bring views right to every part of the condos. The amenities in the units we have stayed in are top notch and as nice as we have in our own home. This property has been around a long time so if you are looking for large, spacious grounds with resort folks running around it is probably not for you. If you want quiet, accessible, direct beach front with few crowds and unencumbered views of the ocean and sister islands Moloka'i and Lanai on a spacious lanai then this is the place for you. We like smaller more private properties that offer good amenities without those amenities intruding on our private time or ability to enjoy property. The Mahana is surrounded by large resorts with 200 meter walks to the beach past multiple pools and all the folks that go with that. Here you are literally 20 feet off the beach and it is rarely if ever crowded. Perfect couples retreat with great walks along the beach front trail to Whaler's Village and good snorkeling right out your door. Relax and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Upper floors and the 2 room units offer 180 degree views with larger lanais because the sit on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in unit 914. It was beautifully decorated and, on the 9th floor, had amazing views of the other islands. The sunrise/sunsets were to die for! The furnishings were very comfortable and had evey amenity imaginable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And the onsite Expedia concierge made planning excursions a breeze and saved us money. We had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend this facility and particularly this unit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great time and the room accomodations were great. Full kitchen with granite counter, etc. Very spacious and great view with ocean front room. Staff were helpful although we didn't get our room on a lower floor as requested.
The problem with the hotel is in the design. Durng our visit in September, sun rose directly behind the building and set directly in front. Sounds great right? As soon as the sun got to front windows, living room began to heat up. Even with curtains closed and a/c on, room was 80+ degrees. Had to keep curtains closed all afternoon and evening until sun set, meaning there was no view during those timesl

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was in a pretty good location. At the end of the beachwalk. 2 miles from Whaler's Village and close to Kaanapali Beach. Kaanapali beach has rough waters, end up with sand in your swim suit/trunks you cannot seem to get out. We had an ocean view room with balcony. We saw a good size turtle one morning from the sixth floor. Room outdated. Carpets old and dirty. Room dusty. Never unpacked my suitcase since I never felt comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Everything on Maui is expensive so not sure how well this hotel compares to others. We stayed hear because we did not have to pay for parking, internet, etc. Lots of hotels will charge you for anything they can find to. I would recommend staying near Kapalua Beach. More residential. Great beach for snorkeling and swimming. Water is much calmer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just stayed 8 evenings at the Aston Mahana. I travel for business and really get claustrophobic in a typical hotel room. But the Aston Mahana is 1 and 2 bedroom condo units so it feels more like home with full kitchens, living rooms, and appliances. Every room has a full view of the ocean and all of the sister islands. It doesn't have the glitz of the bigger resorts with shops and restaurants, etc. but if you want to feel like you are at home while vacationing then I highly recommend this hotel. Rooms were quiet and we rarely heard anyone else. Grocery stores and restaurants are all walking distance. You definitely need a rental car to explore the island from here. Would definitely return here if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.