We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view from room 1113!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Save Saved
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Offers from $249
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful view from room 1113!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our Maui part of our honeymoon, and when we booked we requested a high level room, and specified we were staying for our honeymoon. We weren't disappointed - we were given a room on level 11 (there's 12 levels) with an incredible view. When we arrived in our room there was also a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine, which was lovely.

We had a studio apartment - we were expecting a tiny little shoe box with a tiny fridge. Instead we had a fully equipped kitchen with a full-sized fridge, and for a "studio apartment" it was huge! The balcony was great, as you could watch the sunset every evening, and we saw sea turtles in the ocean most mornings which was just amazing.

The staff were all very friendly & happy to help, and the hotel pool was great. It's so quiet at night and it was lovely to be able to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean.

We were a bit surprised to find how far things are apart in Maui - not like in Waikiki when you can walk downstairs & find loads of different restaurants. You definitely need a car to get around, but as we preferred to have dinners close by without having to travel too far we enjoyed dinner at the Ka'anapali Beach Club (their pizza is amazing!) and also Dukes (can't beat their happy hour prices). There is a supermarket about a 15 minute walk away but if you're buying heavy things (eg alcohol) it can be tricky carrying them back.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we'd love to come back.

Room Tip: Request a high level room - you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha and congratulations on your recent nuptials from all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're honored that we were a part of your honeymoon and very happy to hear that our friendly and helpful staff was able to exceed all of your expectations. As you found out here at the Mahana we offer the best oceanfront location and spectacular views of various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets from every single unit here on the property whether it be our studio, one bedroom or two bedroom units. As well all of our units are very good sized and feature fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience.
Our comfortable pool/jacuzzi deck also features complimentary gas grills and we are within walking or a short drive away from many shopping and dining options as well.

G'day to you and mahalo for coming to see us all the way from Australia, the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    847
    343
    65
    40
    9
See reviews for
268
715
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Came here as part of our honeymoon. Finding the place was a bit tricky because the sign just says Mahana and not Aston from what we saw. Apart from that check in was great. Jean was very friendly and helpful and they even gave us a honeymoon gift. They initially gave us a room on a lower floor but we had wanted more privacy and switching was no problem at all.

We loved our oceanview room. The kitchen was well stocked with pots pans and cutlery etc. Bed was comfy. The sunsets were amazing. Dinner on the lanai was awesome. In truth we didnt get to use the facilities like the hot tub or pool because we were so busy doing other stuff but they looked clean and had a great view as well. There was also lots of BBQs for use.

Overall we had a great stay and would come back again.

Room Tip: Oceanviews were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your honeymoon here on the beautiful island of Maui. We do apologize about the sign however here at Aston we don't manage all of the condominium units here at the Mahana so our name is not on the sign. We are glad you found us without too much trouble and that Jean and the rest of the Aston staff here was able to exceed all of your expectations to allow you to have a great stay.
Every unit here has spectacular oceanfront views and also feature fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience. These spectacular oceanfront views are easily seen from the private lanai or floor to ceiling windows in each unit or even from the pool/jacuzzi deck where our complimentary gas grills are located. Yes, the sunsets are amazing, never get tired of them.

We very much hope you can return to see us again here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for anniversaries or just any time you make it back to the best (No Ka Oi) island in the world, Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed 10 nights at the Aston Mahana in unit 918. We were celebrating my wifes birthday which actually fell on Sept 18 (918). We had a great time. The room was excellent and the staff at the Mahana was great and accomodating. Susan at the activities desk was fantastic and helped us pick out the best ways to see Maui and really enjoy ourselves. We would recommend the Mahana to anyone visiting Maui. The views were spectacular from our room.
Mahalo!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front. We enjoyed being on the higher floor but to be honest, I cant see having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and happy belated birthday to your wife, all of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy that we could be a part of your celebration of 9/18 in unit 918. We're extremely proud to hear that you found the entire staff to be great and accomodating. It is the goal of everyone here from our 24 hour front desk who are there to insure a smooth check-in/out and answer your questions, our daily housekeeping staff who make sure your unit is clean and you're comfortable and our on-site maintenance staff who keeps everything functioning properly and who will respond in a timely manner if there are any issues.
Yes, I agree that the views are spectacular at the Mahana from any unit and any floor. Every unit here also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for our guest's convenience.

We're very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations and very much hope you'll return again to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali again for future celebrations.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Aston Mahana for the last two weeks in September, 2013. You won't find a property closer to the water anywhere. We enjoyed breakfast from our 10th floor balcony each morning listening to the surf, drinking local coffee and reading the local newspaper. There's a grocery store, coffee shop and other shopping within walking distance. The snorkeling is good at the reef just offshore.

Be sure to attend the welcome session one of your first mornings. Susan, the concierge, gives an excellent overview of day trips and is very helpful when booking them. We took her advice on several trip options and we're very happy with our adventures!

Room Tip: Selecting a room on the fifth floor or higher will provide you with a spectacular ocean view. We wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali here at Trip Advisor. We also believe that our location here steps from the northern end of Kaanapali beach is excellent and allows us to provide spectacular views to every guest no matter what floor height or unit on the property. Every unit here also has fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for convenience and a private lanai and floor to ceiling windows to allow our guests to see the aforementioned spectacular views of various marine life, colorful rainbows and beautiful sunsets with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Our quieter location allows our guests to enjoy a nice comfortable stay however we are also a short walk or drive away from many shopping and dining options as well.

We very much hope you'll come back to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Aside from being located in what is considered to be the best "stack" of the entire buidling, due to its units' front and side spectacular views. (It is a corner unit with front facing ocean and side facing beach/resort.) This unit is beautifully decorated with high end contemporary furniture with a "zen" twist. The kitchen is a tad dated but it is extremely clean, functional and have all the amenities needed. There is also plenty of parking for free.

The buidling is oceanfront and this unit has a breathtaking view which could be described as a "live" painting. You can watch the Green Sea Turtles swimming leisurely in the ocean without ever leaving the unit. Aside from the extremely comfortable bed in the master bedroom, you can easily be lulled to sleep by the calming sounds of the waves.

All the neccessities you need for your stay are generously provided. Immediate access to a 2 miles clean and soft sandy beach is direct from the building. There is a concierge desk that can provide recommendations for popular activies and great restaurants. It is also located in a beautiful and safe resort area with other highly ranked condos/timeshare/hotels.

We booked direct through vrbo.com (#6798955), Kathy Sheenan was easy and a pleasure to deal with.

I would highly recommend looking into this rental for anyone who is looking to stay in Kaanapali area of Maui.

Room Tip: Look for corner units ocean front. Units including "19" is apparently has the best corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay at the Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views provided from every unit here, Aston managed or not. On each floor in both towers, Molokai and Lanai, the end units are the two bedroom two bath units. In between are located all of the studio and one bedroom units.
The common theme at this property for every single unit is spectacular oceanfront view and every unit also has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer as well.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Aston Mahana in July 2013. The experience overall was fantastic. We had a pretty standard room on the 4th floor and although people recommend getting a higher floor (we tried but apparently they were booked out) we were very happy with the view we had. The palm trees were actually at a good height for getting photos of the palm trees against the sunset.
The location is fantastic. We brought our own snorkel gear and one of our best experiences of the trip was snorkeling straight out from the hotel. On our way back we (almost literally) ran into a very big sea turtle. It was feeding along the shore, about 5m out and we had a great time drifting along with it and getting some fantastic photos & video on our GoPro. The snorkeling along that whole beach is brilliant. We saw other smaller turtles and a reef shark, also. We did scuba diving this trip, too, but check out In2Scuba, Maui, for that review ;)
The hotel doesn't have much in the way of facilities, but is close to a shopping center and we usually prefer to eat away from the Hotel anyway.
The room itself we very well-equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities, a nice bed and balcony and, of course, great view. The bathroom was fairly dated and I'm not too keen on shower curtains, but for the price I was definitely happy.
I'd recommend Duke's Beach House restaurant just down the beachwalk from the Hotel, too - good food & a great time watching the sunset over dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for coming to visit us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali all the way from Australia. We're thrilled to hear that you found our oceanfront location steps away from northern Kaanapali beach to have been fantastic and of course that you enjoyed the spectacular oceanfront views afforded from every unit here, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom and no matter what floor you're on.
While you are correct that we don't feature an on-site restaurant we do have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit along with the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi deck and a coffe cart in the lobby open from 7 to 5 where you can get coffee, smoothies and assorted food items.
We are also a short walk or drive away from many shopping and dining options.

The entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali hopes to host you again the next time you venture across the Pacific.

Mahalo and G'day, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a one bedroom condo on the 8th floor and it was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The view from the lanai was absolutely paradise. We could see the islands of Molakai and Lanai with beautiful sunsets everyday. They provided coffee and a local newspaper everyday. The property was well maintained and we also enjoyed the snack bar by the pool. I liked the location because we were close to restaurants,grocery stores and the beach walk. I would definitely return to this property. All rooms are waterfront and have fantastic views...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your description of the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali as a beautiful property. Both the owners and the staff here appreciate that and work very hard to make sure all our guests' expectations are exceeded and they have a comfortable stay.
Our oceanfront location steps from the quieter end of northern Kaanapali beach of course does give us the advantage of being able to provide absolutely spectacular oceanfront views from every single unit here at the Mahana. From the private lanai or the floor to ceiling windows in every studio, one bedroom or two bedroom unit here, all with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer, our guests are able to see various marine life, colorful rainbows and beautiful sunsets with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. Paradise as you described it.

All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali very much hope to be able to host you again in the near future.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana
Mahana Kaanapali
Resortquest Mahana
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.