We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Pearland, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2013 and really enjoyed our unit. We were in 315 and had a great view of the ocean and saw some simply gorgeous sunsets during our stay. The unit was nice it was very clean and up to date. The kitchen had new appliances that all worked so we purchased food from the Costco and ate all of our meals in the apartment saving us quite a bit on meals. The unit had a queen size bed, a Murphy bed and a sofa pull out bed. Across the street from the property there is a supermarket but prices there are a bit high. The unit had a washer and dryer but the washer is a bit slow so it takes a few hours to do a load of clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay in unit 315 which is in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program. Both us and the owner of the unit are thrilled to hear that you found it to be clean and up to date. Just two clarifications, in addition to the sofa sleeper and murphy bed which give you some options in this one bedroom two bath unit, the bed in the bedroom is a King size and the owner also wanted to point out that the design of the new Bosch european style washer/dryer is made to take a little longer but does a reverse agitation to get clothes cleaner and dry faster.
As with all the units here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali you found the same spectacular oceanfront views and the gorgeous sunsets you described. As well, every unit whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has full kitchens and washer/dryer for your convenience and as you mentioned, save you some dollars on eating out all the time. Should you decide to go out though, despite our second to none oceanfront location on the quieter side of northern Kaanapali beach, we are within a short walk or drive to many shopping and dining options.
We very much hope you can return to stay in unit 315 or any of the other 128 units here in the rental program at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. Our entire staff awaits to exceed your expectations and help you to create many more fond memories.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    374
    65
    41
    8
See reviews for
298
791
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked 8 rooms for the duration of our wedding vacation and it was unbelievable. Brian, the general manager, went the extra mile with our group and most said it was the best view and best vacation they have had! Thank you to Brian and the staff of the Aston for an amazing trip.

Room Tip: Every room has a full ocean view - Also, if you do stay here, there is an amazing breakfast place ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha again and mahalo for allowing us to host your friends and family for your wedding here on Maui. Congratulations on the nuptials and we're very happy to hear that your entire group enjoyed their time here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.
We're exceptionally pleased to hear that you found our staff to have provided amazing service as that is always the goal of everyone at our 24 hour front desk, in our daily housekeeping department and on-site maintenance staff. Of course, the spectacular views are a given with our second to none oceanfront location here on the northern end of Kaanapali beach and as you mentioned we are very conveniently located to many shopping and dining options when you decide not to use the fully equipped kitchens we feature in all of our units as well as the complimentary gas grills located at our recently renovated pool/jacuzzi deck.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for many an anniversary celebration. Good luck with the upcoming volleyball season and again thank you for allowing us to host your friends and family for your special occasion.

Take care and mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a nice place. As others have mentioned, great location with oceanfront views. If you have a car, (and you would be mad not to hire one in Maui), you will be midway to all the west coast has to offer. South to Lahaina and then North to Kapalua, Duke's next door which has great food. Good value for what you get considering the outrageous prices some resorts charge in the area. Quieter and more peaceful than some of the larger resorts as well, seems more suited to couples and families with teenage children.
Like other Aston properties, rooms can vary with their decors and furnishings. We viewed 4 different rooms and saw some hideous furniture. Check the photos and equipment list carefully. We chose room 212 which was fantastic. Modern renovation with a very comfortable bed and new flat screen TV. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Check the photos carefully, room furnishings vary.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your great comments regarding our perfect oceanfront location on the quieter and more peaceful end of northern Kaanapali beach where every unit features absolutely spectacular ocean views from the floor to ceiling windows or from your private lanai. Every unit in the rental program, including unit 212 that you stayed in, here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali needs to meet the same high standards. I think there is some confusion as when you go on-line and see pictures of individual units with their room numbers these are not units that are in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana.
The entire staff and all of the owners in our rental program take great pride in the condition of the rooms, whether they be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, all featuring full kitchens and washer/dryer for your convenience. We are confident our guests will be happy with any of the 129 units in our rental program and the Aloha Spirit shown by our 24 hour front desk staff, daily housekeeping staff and on-site maintenance.

We very much hope you can return again soon to create more memorable experiences of your time at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and on the beautiful island of Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for a three mini break, having stayed nearby in Kaanapali Shores. The thing about much of Maui including the Mahana is that it is stuck in the 1980s. The check in was okay, although the reception staff are fairly robotic. The beachfront location is great and the apartment, which is serviced, has a lovely outlook. You can't beat the view, but the rooms are fairly dated. They are completely clean and fine, but nothing to really rave about. The pool was nice, and the free dvd rental nice but this place is not really resort style. The is no on site dining or breakfast option. Would I stay here again? Probably not. I am not sure i would recommend it to couples, it might be something for the family market.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room if you can, stock up on groceries from the store across ten road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent trip to Maui although I'm not quite sure what was meant by most of Maui and the Mahana being stuck in the 1980's. My interpretation would be that this is a compliment and somthing that I believe we strive for here on Maui, we take pride in retaining the sights, sounds and culture of the past and do not wish to have too much construction, tall buildings or hustle and bustle.
All of the units in the rental program here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali feature full kitchens and although there is no restaurant on our property we feature complimentary gas grills at the newly renovated pool/jacuzzi deck, have a coffee cart for snacks, assorted sandwiches and other items from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. as well as being located within a short walk or drive to many dining and shopping options.
The entire property, from the rooms in the Aston rental program to the lobby to the landscaping around our beautiful oceanfront property have all been renovated in the recent past. All of the owners of units at the Mahana and the staff that work here take great pride in the spectacular oceanfront views available and the upgraded, clean and comfortable surroundings provided.
For guests who are looking for a large and modern full service resort with many pools, restaurants and other outlets and large crowds than the Mahana is not your place.

Mahalo and we hope you otherwise enjoyed your time on the beautiful island of Maui.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We are so happy we chose the Mahana for our week long stay on Maui. Each unit faces the ocean which is literally right in front of the property. You can sit on your lanai every evening with a perfect sunset view - it provided everything we dreamed coming to Hawaii would be like. Location is great being at the quieter end of Kaanapali - there is a beach walk that begins here and goes the whole length of Kaanapali and lets you stickybeak all the resorts and hotels along the beach - this really highlights the privacy of the Mahana. There is a supermarket less than 5 minute walk away and with the units being self contained this is amazing. Housekeeping fantastic. Couldn't recommend this place enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Aloha and first of all congratulations on your recent nuptials, we're honored that we could be a part of making your honeymoon perfect. We're also glad to hear you were able to "stickybeak" although I have to confess I'm not sure what that is but it sounds like fun.
We're especially proud to hear you found our housekeeping to be fantastic and our unique oceanfront location with spectacular views on the quieter side of northern Kaanapali beach to be something you'll recommend to all of your friends back in Australia.
We look forward to hosting you again for future anniversaries, our entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali awaits.

G'day mate.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in February to see the whales, excellent accommodations. Two bedroom, well appointed kitchen, wide balcony, small drawback was clothes washer did not work. Walking distance from grocery store and excellent hairdresser. We were able to see whales and dolphins from the balcony and, of course, Maui offers amazing sunsets and Rainbows.
Staff was friendly and helpful, even telling us to go back and change to warmer clothes for sunrise visit to top of volcano.

Room Tip: Come in February and choose a higher floor for better view of whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor. We're especially thrilled to hear that you found our staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to be both friendly and helpful. Our 24 hour front desk staff is always there to help you check-in and out, answer questions and also provide the complimentary pool towels, our housekeeping staff provides daily service to assure you have the excellent accommodations you mentioned and we also have on-site maintenance to help you with whatever issues may come up (I'm not sure if you reported your issue with the washer however that is something they could have addressed right away).
As you mentioned the biggest thing that sets us apart from all the other properties in Hawaii is our second to none oceanfront location and views. Year round our guests are treated to views of various marine life (with the humpback whales prominent from December thru May or so), as well as the rainbows and spectacular sunsets right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Although many of our guests never want to leave these beautiful views and the fact every unit here has full kitchens as well as the complimentary gas grills down at our pool/jacuzzi deck, we are conveniently located within a short walk or drive to many dining and shopping options.
Our entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to welcoming you back with the Aloha Spirit of the islands soon and we thank you for including us in your memorable vacation.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A special thank you to the Aston Mahana for making our first trip to Maui quite memorable. Our studio condo was located on the 9th floor, and the views were absolutely awesome. All of the rooms have ocean views and we could hear the waves even with the slider closed! The room was updated and quite nice. We had reserved a studio queen/queen murphy bed, but we were placed in a nice studio king. If you are gone during the afternoon, make sure you close the shades because the resort gets a direct hit from afternoon/evening sun. Next to the pool area is a row of commercial grills and a food prep area--what a nice feature. Swimming is 100 yards down the beach due to the coral reefs that are located directly in front of the resort, and the resort does not have a lot of "flashy" kid activities and play areas--this definitely made for a quiet, calm, and relaxing vacation. If you like noise and lots of beach action, you can find that down the boardwalk. Charlena, one of the front desk employees, was so nice and helpful! Also, Susan, the Expedia Expert, gave an informative presentation about events and tours on the island. We paid a resort fee that included parking, internet, washer/dryer soap, pool towels, etc.. If we return to Maui, we will most definitely stay at the Aston Mahana!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments and we're thrilled to hear Charlena and the rest of the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali were able to make your first trip to Maui a memorable one.
We completely agree that the views from every unit here with our second to none quiet oceanfront location are awesome with the sights of various marinelife, rainbows and of course the beautiful sunsets appearing daily right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
We're also happy to hear that you took advantage of the complimentary gas grill area located at our pool/jacuzzi deck and hope you also enjoyed the convenience of the full kitchen and washer/dryer in your unit.
All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali look forward to showing you the Aloha Spirit on your next visit.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.