We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect beachfront location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect beachfront location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Our room 506 was excellent! The staff are friendly & helpful. The room has a king bed & sofa bed with a dining area, full kitchen, washer, dryer, reasonably sized bathroom. The balcony looked straight over the beach, a pity we were a little later for whale season, though afternoons watching the paddleboarders & waves crashing on the beach at sunset was lovely. The pool & spa are good, with disability access to both. The pool area has bbq's & tables if you wanted to eat in. The location is in the quieter end of Kaanapali & close to shops & supermarket. There is access to the beach boardwalk, Dukes is right next door for a meal or a drink or two, you can walk along the boardwalk all the way to Whalers Village. If you dont rent a car, the local bus is nearby & for $4 you can get an all day pass, single trips are $2. I recommend attending the briefing on the first morning where all the available tours are explained as well as some tips about the local area. Walking down to black rock at the Sheraton at sunset is a MUST, they have a cliff diving ceremony each night at sunset.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write your comments here and for choosing to stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're thrilled to see that you found our staff to have been both friendly and helpful.
Although you didn't see any whales this trip as we're right at the end of whale season which is December thru May generally, it's great to see you still loved the specatacular oceanfront views provided from every unit here of other marine life, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing right in front of the backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
As you also found out our second to none oceanfront location in on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach yet is convenient to many shopping and dining options. Should you not like to leave the property of course everyone of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units have fully equipped kitchens as well as washer/dryer for added convenience and at our pool/jacuzzi area there are complimentary gas grills.
We completely agree with you that we provide the perfect beachfront location and the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali looks forward to welcoming you back with the Aloha Spirit and hope to again exceed all of your expectations.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    387
    69
    43
    8
See reviews for
315
818
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My stay at this particular Aston condo was the unthinkable! I had the time of my life! From night swimming to evacuating for a tsunami! That pretty much sums up my stay in just a few words!

But let me tell you more! We got to Maui later than scheduled. We err supposed to get there at 3:00 Maui time. However in Chicago Illinois we got bumped. Instead of going to San Fran. we had to go to LA which come to find out the tickets Chicago gave us were in valid. An with a family of 6 with 2 elders and 2 young children who'd been traveling at that point for about 15 hours we were done. An amazing young lady gave up her seat as well as her significant others so we could have the 2 other seats we needed! (If that girls reading this, thanks again! I actually think about how I want to help someone like that at some point in my life!) anyway aside from all tht we were supposed to get there at 3pm and since our condo had cooking appliances we wanted to cook in some night to save a little $ but we didn't have time once we checked in at 11 pm! However the next day we did a little exploring, swimming, shopping ect. and met back up at the hotel pool around 7:00 pm. from there we went grocery shopping! This is where the fun begins! The shelves were bare and there was a dude with 5 carts filled with bottles of water! We thought oh maybe Saturday nights is when the boat comes in with all the food?! But when we got back to our awesome condo we realized we forgot the room key card! So my mom went down to get one (thank god!) and my dad conversed with a condo owner who said and I quote "oh I see you've stocked up for the Tsunami!" Not two seconds later did my mom coming stoping up freaking out scared that there was a tsunami! But anyway the tsunami turned out to be nothing that effected us we just had to evacuate for a few hours! Great stay most helpful calming staff ever! Best hotel in Maui! Not to mention the salon who pierced my ears! Memories were made!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your stay last Fall. It sounds like you had an eventful time getting here and then experienced the tsunami warning while here. I remember that as I came down to the property and I agree that our entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali did a great job calming the guests and making sure all of their needs were taken care of during the warning.
Despite all of this we're gratified to hear that you had "the time of my life" and that you consider us to be the "best hotel in maui".
We very much hope you can return again soon to create even more fond memories.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked our fabulous stay at Aston Mahana through Donna Bender who is an Aston Specialist. Everyone at the hotel was very nice! Our room was a simple studio, right on the ocean, very clean and quiet (although a little dated), and for my husband and I it was perfect! Loved having a kitchen to save money on dining out. Dinner on the lanai, fresh fish and veggies (from the nearby markets of course), while watching the sun set over Lanai and Molokai; priceless!
(We did not use the fitness room or restaurant.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo to both you and Donna for recommending the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We are very happy to hear our entire staff was nice and that our housekeeping, who provides daily service, and on-site maintenance staff kept your unit clean and comfortable for your stay.
All of our units have fully equipped kitchens as well as washer/dryers for our guest's comfort and the pool/jacuzzi area has complimentary gas grills plus our second to none oceanfront location here at the northern end of Kaanapali beach is convenient to many shopping and dining options.
As you experienced, the views from all of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are absolutely spectacular.

We hope you went home with many fond memories of your stay here and pictures of those beaufitul sunsets between Molokai and Lanai. We do hope we can host you again someday soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this property for 5 nights in early March. As previous reviews have noted the views and proximity to the ocean cannot be beat. After a few days, we decided that the area right in front of our unit was the humpback whale expressway. I honestly cannot remember many times when there was not a whale visible passing in front of the Mahana. You could just sit on your lanai and see all the whale activity one can imagine, breaching, tail slapping, etc. That being said, IMO the whales are the only reason to stay here. We got a premium studio. It was fine but certainly not deluxe. The paint on the walls were chipping, the linens very cheap, and the maid service poor. Not that we needed it but it would be very difficult to actually cook meals with the items the kitchen was stocked with. The real problem that I see is that when we were leaving I asked how one could get a premium room that was in better condition. The problem appears to be that there are not set standards for condo owners, therefore when you select this property it is a crap shoot if you will get a nice unit or a less nice one. Also, the Mahana seems to attract a more senior population. Not sure this property would appeal to young people, especially honeymooners. Bottom line is if your top priority is watching whales, I would say to stay here.But if it is not whale season, or if you bore of watching whales after a few minutes, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay at the Mahana. It appears that you did not stay in one of the units in the Aston rental program here as we require all of our owners to meet the same high minimum standards with regards to their units and Aston provides consistent amenity and linen items in all our units and of course the full service of a 24 hour front desk for checking in/out, answering questions and providing complimentary pool towels as well as on-site daily housekeeping and maintenance for all of our units. There are 129 units in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program so we also can show our guests other units should they desire.
We are happy to hear that you got a great show with the humpback whales in town which is generally from December thru the early part of May however the views from every unit here year round are spectacular with other marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets daily setting right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
I would agree that our location is ideal on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach however our convenience to many shopping and dining options plus offering studio, one bedroom and two bedroom two bath units, all with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers, make us perfect for any family grouping.

We do hope you'll return again soon and give the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali the chance to show you the Aloha Spirit and exceed all of your expectations.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Mahana is in a quiet part of Kaanapali, but very close to the a large supermarket/foodstore.
Yes the rooms are a bit dated, but everything was realy clean and all appliances worked perfectly.

It was realy great to sit on the balcony in the late afternoon and watch the sunset, not being overlooked by any of the other rooms or condos.

All staff we met were pleasant and friendly. The only thing it lacked was a restaurant. The pool is a bit small, but with the ocean 10 yards from the pool ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top, the unobstructed views over the top of the trees was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for coming to visit us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali all the way from the UK. We're thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be both pleasant and friendly as that is what we strive for every day.
We apologize if you found your unit to be a bit dated which is a surprise to us as we require every unit in the Aston rental program to meet very high standards but will continue to make sure all of our units exceed the expectations of every guest.
We completely agree that our location on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach provides a place to relax yet is conveniently located to many shopping and dining options. Our pool/jacuzzi area features complimentary gas grills and of course all of our clean and comfortable units have both fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers for our guests convenience.
We very much hope you can make the trip across the Atlantic again to see us in the near future.

Mahalo again for taking the time to provide your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had an amazing trip to Maui. Our unit at the Aston Mahana couldn't have been better. When you walk in your door, It feels like you are going to walk in to the ocean as that is all you see through the floor to ceiling glass. The staff were nothing great, but they were friendly and helpful and addressed all of our needs. This is a managed property so it doesn't have the same service or amenities as a resort or hotel. We knew this going in and it was perfect for us. They upgraded our room and it was huge! Full kitchen, living room, dining area, bath, and a large master suite with closet and king size bed. The pool area is nice. Short walk to Dukes pub or Black Rock. Nothing but good things to say about this place. Awesome value!

Room Tip: Pay the extra bit of money for an upgraded\renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and for taking the time to post your comments. We're excited to hear that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful, it is always our goal to show the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests and exceed their expectations.
Yes, the view as you enter our lobby looking right over the pool/jacuzzi area is spectacular isn't it. This of course is the same view available from every unit here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali due to our second to none oceanfront location. Every unit here, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom has this same oceanfront view of various marinelife, rainbows and the beautiful sunsets appearing with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit also features fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's comfort.

We very much hope you return again soon to experience the "gem" that we have here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at Aston Mahana based upon reviews and feedback from numerous other TripAdvisor Travellers. One point that cannot be disputed is that all units at this property offer amazing water/beach views!! Beyond the view, staff is hardworking and very friendly! Although an A++ effort score, staff is poorly trained and often left very short on support. The dirty towel drop bin is behind the front desk (gross), phone calls are constantly answered mid-conversation due to one person working the desk at a time, and the property is outdated and unkept. The HOA/Management Team needs to take a hard look at their margins and decide whether they want to maintain mediocrity or pursue the tremendous potential that the property and staff provide. We checked in on Wednesday of last week and encountered the filthiest two rooms (we moved rooms) that we have ever seen.... Premium rooms are markedly better than standard rooms but still fall far short.... Recommend exploring basic hotel training/cleaning standards and move forward from here..... To their credit, staff was responsive when problems were raised but this did not change the overall experience and the fact that problems occured in the first place....

Room Tip: Request a high floor. Request new (clean) sheets. Throw the old dirty duvet on the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your feedback on your recent stay. We are very appreciative of your comments regarding the amazing views and the friendliness, responsiveness and hard work displayed by the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We'll have to agree to disagree on the condition of the property and our units however we will take all of your comments into consideration as our goal is always to exceed all of our guest's expectations and get better every day.
We hope you had a nice and relaxing time on Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.