We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aston Mahana stay for 9 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Offers from $249
Ranked #5 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Aston Mahana stay for 9 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for about 9 days...actually today is our last day as I'm writing this.

I was actually really surprised with how much I liked this hotel. It's the smaller of the three surrounding hotels and is a bit tricky to find as you have to turn in to Lower Honoapillani road off of the highway 30 then left where you see the sign MAHANA.

The service was great and really helpful. They always handed us fresh beach and pool towels to use when we needed them and gave us pretty much whatever little things we needed like laundry detergent etc.

The pool in the back doesn't look like much but in person it's actually really nice. The hot tub is great to relax in and at night there arent any people there so it's pretty private. You can also access the beach from the back gate and walk north or south to either the next hotel or Duke's for some food.

Also, there is a concierge, Susan who was really helpful on our second day for booking activities with Expedia and giving us trip advice. We had an excellent time thanks to her.

The cleaning staff are great too, our towels and linen were always clean and I think one time our dishes were done in the dishwasher :). On top of this, they are honest. I had dropped some money by accident when unpacking clothes and I found it on our bed when we got to the room.

Fast notes:
-Hotel rooms by the water can be a bit on the loud side with the waves crashing but it's actually really nice.
-Balcony rooms are awesome to relax on and include deck chairs.
-Trade in your beach towels daily for fresh ones.
-Use the back gate to access the beach and other hotels if you like.
-Use the concierge service for booking activities. (The second day you get to have some free breakfast and info on what to do in Maui with the concierge).
-Rental movies for when you just want to relax from the machine downstairs.
-Don't underestimate the pool and Jacuzzi.
-If you have kids there is a PlayStation 2 in each room.
-PARKING: included and free but at night it can get a bit tricky.
-If you like BBQ there are grills out the front entrance and by the pool for easy access.
-If you like quick food there is a little market and subway across from the hotel access road 10 minute walk east.
-You get a free photo package, book it your first day and it takes an hour.
-The in-room safe is nice to keep you sane.
-Full kitchen and washer/dryer and closets and a little eating counter by the kitchen. In room coffee and appliances.
- THE LAUNDRY SOAP SMELLS AMAZING. I wish I could take a giant box home with me.
-NO RESORT FEE


We highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay again!

Room Tip: Ocean waves can get a bit distracting unless you love that sound. I personally liked it. The A/C i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your great comments and all the tips for our future guests. All of us here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali also wish you the best with your upcoming nuptials.
We are exceptionally gratified to hear your comments regarding the staff here being helpful, great and honest. All of us, from our 24 hour front desk staff where you received your complimentary pool towels and were welcomed on arrival, our housekeeping staff who kept your unit clean daily and provided all of the amenities you loved and our on-site maintenance staff who's here should you need their assistance work very hard to make sure we exceed all of your expecations and go home with fond memories of your stay on the beautiful island of Maui.
We also believe as you found out that our location is the best around with no better oceanfront views, a quiet space on the northern end of Kaanapali beach where you can easily walk or drive to many different shopping or dining options when you're not utilizing the fully stocked kitchen in your unit or the complimentary gas grills down at our relaxing pool/jacuzzi deck.

Mahalo again for your great comments and choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we very much hope you can come back to see us for an anniversary celebration in the near future.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    848
    343
    65
    40
    9
See reviews for
268
715
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We are so happy to have found this place. We had a premium one bedroom, two bath condo that was perfect, except for the air conditioning was loud. But fortunately the trade winds came in and we didn't need the AC for 3 days. The kitchen is well appointed, the bed very comfortable. This is the only resort that had direct beach views which was spectacular. My one complaint was we had three palm trees in front of our window on the 5th floor, could not see the sunset very well. But we did manage to see whales and turtles on either side of the trees. They charge you $15 a day fee for the safe, unlimited DVD movies, parking and the Internet. Also, they provide plenty of soap, shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms and dish and washer machine soap which I feel is a very nice touch. The cleaning staff did make the bed every day, removed old towels only if you had them on the floor but did not always give new towels in return. And if you expect the floors or the bathrooms to be cleaned while you are there, don't count on it. They do the bare minimum which was a little disappointing as the tile floors were gritty. All in all, we managed and would go back to the resort; our 10 day visit was wonderful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask and pay for the premium room, everything is remodeled and updated. Try to get the 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for providing your comments on your recent stay here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay and as you mentioned the second to none oceanfront views that our property location provides of beautiful sunsets, various marine life and the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. We are also glad to hear that you were comfortable in your unit with all of the daily amenities we provide, the fully stocked kitchen and washer/dryer and do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our housekeeping service. We will definitely use your comments to work with our staff here who provide daily housekeeping to make sure that all our guests are taken care of.
We very much hope that you will return to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali and give us another chance to exceed your expectations and show you the Aloha Spirit.

Mahalo for your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay! We loved the view from the lanai and best of all, the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep. Upon arrival they saw our toddler and gave us a basic studio with a KING bed, which was more than what we were expecting. Our room was lovely and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to cook yummy dinners. We also used the washer/dryer a few times and they were great. We loved that this was a quiet hotel, away from the busy-ness of shops, yet close to enough to walk/drive if we needed to. We also took our lil one to the pool a lot, and it was great. Never too crowded and clean. They have a DVD service that we used to get free movies -- they had a few family movies to choose from so we were happy. The view was the crowning glory of this place. We saw a sea turtle from the 7th floor, no whales. Guess we'll have to come back :) This was our first time to Maui and we felt so incredibly blessed to be able to experience the perfect weather, friendly people, over-the-top views. It's our best vacation yet!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui. We are honored to have been a part of your perfect/best vacation ever.
We completely agree that our location here on the quieter side of north Kaanapali beach provides the best oceanfront views you'll see anywhere from every one of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units which all also feature the full kitchens and washer/dryers for our guest's convenience.
We hope you will return again very soon where our friendly staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali awaits to show you the Aloha Spirit and help you to creat more memorable experiences.

Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a 2bdrm condo for 5 nights and we were allocated room 909. The master bedroom faces the ocean with access to the balcony (also from living room) and the second bedroom faced the mountains. Both bedrooms had ensuite bathrooms (no bath). In the master bedroom cupboard was a washer and dryer. Housekeeping came daily and provided laundry detergent and dish washing powder in addition to the usual soap and towels etc. The kitchen was well stocked and supplied. Coffee maker (and a single pouch of coffee daily), a few tea bags and sugar but no kettle/jug. The only negative thing was the TV reception did not seem to work although we didn't try very hard as we were not interested. Free DVDs are available in the lobby and we watched one one night. Free wireless was strong.
Mahana is a relaxed quiet place and not too many kids which was a plus for us. A mostly older crowd. Great views from the condo all round and we saw whales.
There is an activities person to help with booking trips and they provide some coupons for deals and things like a free dessert at Dukes next door. They ask you to attend a time share presentation in return for a discount on some activities. We just said no.
Across the road is a supermarket which has a great fruit and veg section and fresh poke (marinated raw fish) and all the things you need (pharmacy inside as well). Snorkel Bobs has an outlet there also to hire equipment.
The beach directly in front of Mahana is not too good for swimming due to rocks but if you walk north to Kaanapali Shores (a few minutes only) there are few rocks.
The walk to whalers village shops and restaurants takes at least 30 minutes. Nothing wrong with Mahana but with more money I would go to a resort further south where the beach is better although a bit more crowded.

Room Tip: All the 2 bedroom condos are corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your in depth comments on your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're very happy to hear that the two bedroom two bath unit you stayed in was comfortable for your family group with it's fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer and of course the world class oceanfront views available from every unit here.
One of the reasons the Mahana has a lot of marine life to view from the units and beach here is due to the beautiful reef fronting the property where you will find sea turles feeding daily. A few hundred yards in either direction are great spots for both swimming and snorkeling. Our little area on the northern end of Kaanapali beach has the some of the best views in the world and without a doubt the Mahana has the best oceanfront views anywhere from every unit.
We are also a short stroll or car ride from many shopping and dining options and in addition to the fully stocked kitchens in every unit there are complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area.
We do hope that you will give us another chance to show you the Aloha Spirit of our staff and exceed your expectations. Mahalo again for your comments and we will use them as we are constantly looking to make ourselves better.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali was such a great experience. Our unit was so interesting, clean and very welcoming. Each and every person we dealt with was so helpful, friendly, and very polite.It all started with Brian,who handled our reservation, he was so very helpful as this was our first time to the island. the staff was so helpful and such hard workers.
What a thing to hear and SEE the ocean from our front window, to see whales and turtles.
We were also very close to a grocery store, a bus stop and one has to mention the walk way.
The grounds are worked on each day and just so clean and such a relaxing area.
How beautiful!
Thank you for making this first time trip so memorable!

Room Tip: Hard to do as each and every room has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to let us know of your great experience here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. I'm very glad to hear that I was able to assist you personally with your reservation but am most excited to hear that you found our staff to be helpful, friendly, hard-working and polite, I can't ask for more than that.
Our prime location here right on the ocean on the northern end of Kaanapli gives every guest the same spectacular ocean views with various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets appearing with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai. Falling asleep to the relaxing sounds of the ocean, fully stocked kitchens and washer/dryer in every one of our studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units keeps all of our guest comfortable.

We are gratified to hear that you had a memorable experience and hope that we can host you again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Long story short, my husband had been to Maui 30 years ago and really didn't want to go. We have traveled extensively throughout the world and this just didn't seem to excite him but good friends were going and I really wanted to go - we had just sent the last child off to college last fall and another was graduating next month - I needed R&R. We are now back 2 days and both of us agree that this trip ranked right up at the top of the list of best vacation spots (our tops include the Almalfi Coast, Santorini, Egypt- Cairo and the Red Sea, Istanbul). We stayed in unit 803 (studio), owned by Sophie. She kept in contact throughout the entire process and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The unit was spotless and waking every morning to the sun and waves crashing was incredible. The unit is turn-key (everything provided). Sophie disclosed all of this prior to our arrival, including a packet with things to do that she mailed to me ahead of schedule. I knew exactly what to bring and what I could leave at home.

The property itself was lovely - not too big or small. A very nice pool sits between the two buildings. All units have a view. If you do not want to look through a few palm trees, then try for a unit above the 7th floor. We could see the tops of the palms which I loved personally. Our friends staying on the top floor and had nothing but water to look at which they loved. We also met a woman who was staying on the ground floor and she enjoyed just walking out her slider to her patio - so it is all just preference. The property is very safe, my kindle accidentally fell out of my bag when I picked up my things - I didn't discover it missing for about an hour and ran back down to the pool - there is was sitting under my chair. The only caution is that this part of Maui gets the tradewind in the afternoon on a regular basis and it is VERY windy. We found early tennis (as in 7am) or beach walking, then pool or beach for sunning, eating lunch in the condo, then cleaning up in the afternoon for sightseeing, shopping and then dinner worked well - we avoided the wind on every day except our last where we stayed near the pool and beach until 5pm. The benefit of the wind though is that you don't feel the heat of the sun - so it stays quite comfortable (use sunscreen!). The only thing we wished we had done differently is book a few more days! We will be back for sure. PS: free parking too.

Room Tip: depends on your preference - all rooms are beachfront and have great views! Palm trees visible up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments on your recent stay. Although you didn't stay in one of the units in the Aston rental program here at the Mahana at Kaanapali we're thrilled to hear that you believe our location is one of the best in the world. We completely agree that our proximity to the ocean and the views available from every floor and every unit here are No Ka Oi (The Best).
Guests who stay in one of the units here in the Aston rental program also enjoy the benefits of full-service accomodations including 24 hour front desk for check-in, assistance and even complimentary pool/beach towels, daily on-site housekeeping and maintenance should there ever be an issue.
We very much hope that you don't wait another 30 years to return.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

As other recent reviews have pointed out there are many aspects that made this a great place when you are in Maui. We were visiting for a wedding so i had the opportunity to see three different suites and hear about three more from other guests. Everyone loved their rooms and they were all in great condition, with great space and finishing. ANd every room has tremendous views right on ocean. I always find it frustrating to book a place and have to wait and see if we get a decent unit or is it really going to have a view room. Well no worries at the Mahana. Oh ya and the rooms are well laid out, have lots of space, and good kitchens.
Loved being able to hear the waves even with the doors closed. You are that close.
We found that we kept it cooler and less strain on the air conditioner if we kept the blinds down when we were away and during the afternoon.

Service was very friendly and always available.
Facilities such as pool, barb q's, shuffleboard were all in good shape.

Beach access is right there and you just have to be a bit careful of coral near by so go the 100-200 up the beach where it is sandier.
If you are on one of the higher floors you will get a great view of the whales morning and early evening ( we were there in early April and they were still there).

Bottom line, when i think of what i have paid on other islands and heard what others paid on Maui i just think this Aston property is doing it right and hope to get back soon.

Room Tip: every room has a great view and is right by the water, can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo, it's great to hear that not only you, but it sounds like everyone who came for the wedding had a great time and enjoyed their units here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're especially thrilled to hear that you found our service to be friendly and that our staff was always there to attend to your needs.
We very much believe that all of our guests will find our units, whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom to be clean, spacious and comfortable. All have full kitchens and washer/dryer and of course due to our great oceanfront location, provide breathtaking ocean views.
We're very happy to hear that the wedding was a big success and hope you and all the rest of the participants can come back again to celebrate anniversaries and the like.

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments and for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, we do realize you had many other choices. We're happy you found us and look forward to your return.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana
Mahana Kaanapali
Resortquest Mahana
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina
Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list