We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you ever wanted and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Save Saved
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
grapevine tx
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything you ever wanted and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I would highly recommend the Mahana. This place will do nothing but delight you. Every room has an unbelievable ocean view. If you’re in the living room or on the lanai you’ll feel like you’re in the ocean. We were there this February and you can just sit and gasp at whales breaching and swimming right in front of you. You almost feel that you can just reach out and touch them.

Now in addition to clean, great rooms, with kitchen etc. the grounds are also fantastic. Walk to the beach and then walk as far as you’d like. The other thing I like is the location. Grocery and restaurants in walking distance.

My only other comment. It’s not just a great place for whale season. We’ve been there in August and the sunsets, which you won’t miss one, are fantastic every night. All I can say is we’ll be back, hopefully.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for the great review and recommendation of the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. Our staff here will do our best to live up to this and reach our mission which is to show the Aloha Spirit to everyone we encounter and exceed the expectations of all our guests.
Our jobs are made a bit easier by the fact that the Mahana has an absoultely unbeatable oceanfront location where as you found out the views are spectacular. Various marinelife, rainbows and beautiful sunsets appearing daily with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai are available all year round.
All of the units, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program need to meet high standards and feature fully stocked kitchens and washer/dryers to provide all of our guests with a clean and comfortable stay.
The grounds and the pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills are always kept in great condition by the association here and the Mahana's quieter location on the northern end of Kaanapali is also very convenient by both walking or a short car ride to many dining and shopping options.
Once again we appreciate your recommendation and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments for future guests to see.

We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    360
    65
    40
    8
See reviews for
294
755
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is by far the best place I have ever stayed at in my many travels!The hotel and grounds are beautiful and so clean.The room room we had(premiere studio)was better then I expected with the most beautiful view and you can see whales from thr lanai!We had a full kitchen an amazingly comfortable king bed but the view is what makes this place.Also you can snorkle right from the beach on either side of the hotel.I also loved the beach which had some spots better than others but you can pick the area you like and swim or snorkle with fish and turtles!We were calling this place home after 2 days and I wish I was still there.There is a grocery store across the street as well as a few shops and take out places.We also took advantage of the barbeques by the pool and enjoyed steaks with a bottle of wine on our lanai with the best sunset view.No need to pay for a sunset dinner cruise.I highly recommend staying here.You will not be dissappointed,except when you have to leave.Alos all the staff were great!

Room Tip: Higher up is trully better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo, we are truly humbled here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali by your nice words. I don't think I need to add to much but say that we are particularly pleased to hear that you found the entire staff to be great.
Our goal is always to exceed the expectations of all our guests and when you said that the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is the best place you'd ever been in all your travels it appears we did. All of us here agree that our second to none oceanfront location and beautiful views make this Paradise...

We very much look forward to you returning again real soon and mahalo for the great comments.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved our room (801-2BR/2BA). It was clean and nicely decorated and provided some great views of whales and sea turtles. My husband got better snorkeling pictures here than he did when we moved to Oahu later in week. The lanai was very spacious and I would definitely recommend this place. The girl at the front desk (can't remember her name) was very helpful and provided us with a lot of great ideas for our time in Maui.It's close to Duke's so you can walk off that Hula Pie on your way back to the condo :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on the beautiful island of Maui. As you found, we provide friendly and helpful service, clean and nicely decorated units, all with fully stocked kitchens and washer dryer, and an absolutely can't be beat oceanfront location where our guests are treated to breathtaking views of abundant marinelife, sunsets and rainbows appearing off the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of the units in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program need to meet these same high standards and we endeavor to show the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests from our 24 hour front desk staff, to our housekeeping staff that provides daily service and our on-site maintenance as well who are there if you need us.
We very much hope you brought home unforgettable memories of your time here and can come back to see us again soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

1BR suite (king bed with pull out sofa in main room) walkout on main level - room 116. I highly recommend this unit. The condo was clean, quiet and extremely well outfitted, the bed was very comfortable, and the view was spectacular. We were there the last 10 days of March and we saw whales every day. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well as the smoothie bar, and took advantage of the concierge services to book a whale watching tour at a discounted rate. We found the building to be very clean and well looked after. At the time of booking I was concerned about being on the main level, but we found it to be very quiet, safe and private. You can't see in the windows during the day and the owners have installed two sets of blinds for extra privacy - ones that you can see the view through as well as blackout blinds. We loved being able to walk right out the back door onto the lawn just a few steps from the beach. There is a lawn in front of the unit with lounge chairs that are common to the unit, and a hedge that provides privacy yet still allows views of the ocean. Lovely! This unit has been recently renovated and is in good shape. Don't bring a hairdryer or anything you think you might need for the kitchen. If you do need anything there is a grocery store nearby. The unit also had snorkelling gear and binoculars, reading material and many other things left behind by previous guests. Pack light! The beach is sufficient for sunbathing and you can go for a dip in the water, but the coral reef is right there, it's immediately quite deep and the undertow is strong. I do not recommend this beach for kids, however if you do walk a short ways south along the beach, it does improve. Still there are no lifeguards. If travelling with kids, I would recommend staying near a beach with a lifeguard perhaps near South Kihei or Wailea. This condo is a beautiful, peaceful spot for couples wanting some R&R.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 116 because we enjoyed the quick access from the main level and found it to be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor, although the unit you stayed in is not in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We very much agree that no matter what floor you are on, in your case the first floor, the views from this property are second to none. The Mahana at Kaanapali is oceanfront and every unit provides spectacular views of various marine life, rainbows and beautiful sunsets appearing daily with a backdrop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Mahalo and hope you return again to the Mahana real soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited Maui for a friends wedding this past April. We had an amazing trip and around 20 of us stayed at the Mahana. We all loved the resort and our experience.
The staff was helpful and very accommodating. They always had towels for the pool, booked our taxis and even let us have a complimentary late check out. Charlena was amazing and Brian took care of our group splendidly!
My favourite part of the trip was watching the sunset on the lanai while sipping cold drinks and snacking on appetizers. We saw so many whales and each one we saw was incredible! They are breathtaking and amazing creatures. In the mornings we would have breakfast while watching the paddle boarders surf and turtles swim by! The view from the hotel is truly spectacular and every minute of the trip we were able to hear, smell and see the ocean. Simply wonderful.
We liked the hotel location as it was close to the grocery store and right on the beach. It is located north of the black rock and the beach is quieter up this way (it also gets less sandy and there is a coral reef outside the hotel).
The pool and beach chairs were a great place to relax and we enjoyed a big BBQ down by the pool one night.
Overall we were so comfortable during our stay. We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom which was spacious, the kitchen well equipped (blender included which was used for smoothies and margaritas), it was clean and did I mention the lanai! We loved it out there!
Thank you Mahana and staff for the wonderful stay and we will definitely come back!
Joanne

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. On the 12th floor the patios are bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for all of your nice comments, you are very welcome and our helpful staff very much looks forward to welcoming you back with the Aloha Spirit we show all of our guests here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.
We're very happy that the entire group was able to enjoy the wedding and relax at our property being conveniently located here at the quieter northern end of Kaanapali. As you found out our views are absolutely spectacular, whether from the pool/jacuzzi area where we have complimentary gas grills, the private lanais which all units have or from the floor to ceiling windows also in every unit whether it be studio, one bedroom or two bedroom. We're also happy to hear that the fully stocked kitchens and washer/dryer we feature in every unit made your stay comfortable.
Just one small clarification, all our units have the same size lanai no matter what floor, only some of the two bedroom units are larger if they decided to not lengthen their living rooms.
Mahalo again for taking the time to post your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverdam, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

2BR/2BA on 6th floor 4/12-4/18 - we saw whales everyday from our balcony! Even though there were palm tree tops somewhat in our view, it was a nice frame for the view and did not totally obscure the view. As others have indicated, the floor to ceiling windows make the spectacular views of the ocean and surrounding island mountains even more incredible. It's like you are living outdoors. The view from the back of the unit through the bedroom and foyer window are equally beautiful, showcasing the mountains as a backdrop. The unit we were in (601) had the marble/granite counter tops, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could need in the way of dishes, utensils, and appliances. Very nice furniture and carpet, bed was very comfortable, and the entire unit was very spacious and felt very luxurious. Grocery store and restaurants within walking distance. Staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: As others have indicated, there are palm trees that extend up to the 6th floor, but they are sparse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at TripAdvisor for all to see. We're thrilled to hear that you loved the view and location and are especially proud to hear that you found the staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to be friendly and helpful. Our 24 hour front office staff, daily houskeeping and on-site maintenance staff all make a point to show the Aloha Spirit to all they come in contact with.
The views as you mentioned are spectacular here with the whales between December and April or so from both your lanai and the floor to ceiling windows where you can also see beautiful sunsets, various other marine life and the back drop of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
All of our units here in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali rental program are like unit 601 where you stayed, comfortable with tasteful decoration and all with fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryers to added convenience.
Our oceanfront location is also very convenient and quiet on the northern end of Kaanapali beach where you are a short walk or drive away from many dining and shopping options should your kitchen or the complimentary gas grills at our pool/jacuzzi area not an option for some of your meals.

We're once again very excited by your comments and thank you for taking the time to share them with us and very much hope you can return again soon to create more lasting memories.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the end of March 2013, it was our first time at this property. I'm sorry if this is picky, but this hotel is not in Ka'anapali, it is in Honokwai. Our overall impression of the hotel was of an aging property that is slowly being facelifted. The pool is small, but clean. The pool deck area is also small, but usually empy with plenty of deck chairs available during our stay (at which time the hotel claimed 90% occupancy). There is a small beach, but no swimming due to a reef directly in fornt of the property. There is a nice swimming and snorkeling beach just 200 yards to the south. There is no restaurant onsite, but a coffee wagon in the lobby that served good coffee, smoothies, soft drinks, snacks, and even breakfast burritos, hot dogs and burgers. There are also 4 BBQ's available at the pool and 2 more in the front courtyard. The BBQ and food preparation area is cleaned every morning and is spotless.

Our room was unit 1015 in the Lanai building (southernmost of the two towers). It was a premium 1 bedroom + 2 bath, with laundry and full kitchen. All the typical utensils were available, and we enjoyed cooking both in the unit and at the BBQ's. The master bedroom was comfortable with plent of closet space, and the unit had two flat screen TV's that we rarely used.

Our main complaint was the quality of the sofa bed. Our stoic teenage daughter suffered through one night, and we only found out she was very uncomfotable in the morning. I lied on it myself and know that if I had slept there my spine would have left my body. I brought up the issue at the reception desk. At that point a visit by maintenance was promised, but if nothing could be repaired we would be charged $30 per night for a roll-away. Before I could say "we're checking out", another of the fornt Desk staff named KAREN jumped to our rescue. She said maintenance would make it right and not to worry. In fact, when we returned from our day of snorkeling and shopping, a new matress had been installed. With the help of a couple of books under the ageing bed frame, it was quite comfortable. Conclusion: Karen is awesome, and the unit still needs a new sofa bed.

We enjoyed our stay and the value was there. I wouldn't say it's an automatic repeat visit for us, but if we return to Maui in the near future, we will consider The Mahana.

Room Tip: All suites are ocean front, but upper floors afford views unobstructed by the palm trees. The premiu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor as this helps us to keep improving our service levels and make sure that every guest at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali goes home with cherished memories of their stay here.
We very much apologize for any discomfort you had with the sofa bed and for any miscommunication from our staff however we're very happy that Karen at our front desk and our on-site maintenance department was able to replace the mattress and make your daughter's stay comfortable. We will work with the owner on replacing this item.
While we are not in the more busy central Kaanapali area the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is located on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach where our guests are treated to some of the best oceanfront views anywhere in the world from every unit on our property. This also includes various marine life, including year round sea turtles who enjoy the reef fronting our property and as you mentioned within 200 yards of our property are swimming and snorkeling spots.
We very much believe that our guests enjoy the beautiful grounds of our property and the quiet and relaxtion found at our pool/jacuzzi area which features complimentary gas grills.
Every unit here in the Aston Mahana at Kaanapli needs to meet very high standards and in addition to the spectacular views they all have full kitchens and washer/dryer for our guest's to enjoy. In addition to the coffee cart where guests can purchase various snack/breakfast and lunch items we are also a short walk to a full supermarket as well as many dining options.

The Aston Mahana at Kaanapali guests have come to appreciate the Aloha spirit of our staff who take pride in providing 24 hour service at our front desk, daily houskeeping and on-site maintenance whenever the need arises for our guest's comfort. In addition they love the beautiful daily sunsets right between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai available from our quiet and peaceful oceanfront location.

We very much hope you'll come back and give us another chance to show you all of these things.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.