We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Mahana at Kaanapali to your Saves list
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richardson, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Mahana is a great place to stay if you are looking for a condo. The floor to ceiling windows and patio overlooking the ocean offer some of the greatest views I have ever seen. You can see actually see whales from your room!!! The kitchens are well equipped. Housekeeping is bit of a challenge until you learn they operate but we worked that out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time here on Maui. Our goal here is to show all of our guests the Aloha Spirit and provide clean and comfortable accomodations so all of their dreams are fulfilled. We are sorry there was some issues with our housekeeping and will follow up to make sure that the daily housekeeping we provide to all of our guests is the best it can be.
We are thrilled to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. As you mentioned the world class oceanfront views provided from every unit here, whether studio, one bedroom and two bedroom, of various marine life and sunsets between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai are spectacular.
Our fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in every unit also make it very easy to relax in comfort and at our pool and jacuzzi deck there are also complimentary gas grills for your convenience as well.
We definitely want the opportunity to host you again very soon.

Mahalo for taking the time to post your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    387
    69
    43
    8
See reviews for
315
819
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at the Aston Mahana on March 22,2013 through March 29,2013. This is an ocean front property with spectacular views from all condos.Watched whales from our lanai. In addition to a beach they have a pool and bbqs. You will need a rental car on Maui. The management supplies various soap for the washing machine, dishwasher and sinks along with a news paper and you are within walking distance of a grocery store. I booked this condo through Kay at www.mauikay.com. This person has lived on Maui for quite sometime and really knows her way around. She is dependable and honest and I would recommend her to anyone. She can help with travel, accommodations, dining recommendations and other activities.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. We're excited to hear that you had a great time and will be coming back again to see us and are appreciative to Kay for directing you our way.
All guests who stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali receive the full services of our 24 hour front desk for any assistance they may need plus complimentary pool/beach towels, daily housekeeping for their comfort and for peace of mind we also have on-site maintenance for any issues that may come up. As you mentioned for a nominal daily amenity fee all of our guests also receive daily coffee/tea, replenishment of the laundry soap, newspaper, safe and unlimited use of the DVD/game kiosk located in the lobby here. Parking and high speed internet access in the unit are also complimentary here at the Mahana.
As you discovered, in addition to the clean and comfortable units and property, the spectacular views provided from every lanai and unit here of various marine life, rainbows and sunsets between the backdrop of Molokai and Lanai are unmatched anywhere in the world.
The oceanfront Aston Mahana at Kaanapali provides a place where all of our guests can make memories to last a lifetime.
We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had read all the reviews prior to booking this vacation and was not disappointed. Our condo was fabulous and the view was amazing. We didn't want to leave to explore the island. We watched the whales and turtles without ever leaving our balcony. Our room was extremely quite and the location was wonderful. It is a 3 mile round trip walk to the Sheraton. (Black Rock). We walked to Duke's for dinner and to the grocery store across the street for groceries. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your fabulous review of your recent stay at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali. While we hope that all of our guests get out and have a chance to see all of the beautiful sights on the island of Maui we do see how you could never leave the quiet and comfort of the Mahana as well.
The views as you mentioned from every unit here at the oceanfront Aston Mahana at Kaanapali are second to none, with various marine life and spectacular sunsets appearing between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
Every unit here has a fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer for your comfort, our pool/jacuzzi area has complimentary gas grills and our location on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach is also convenient by a short walk or drive to many dining and shopping options.
The entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali hopes to welcome you back in the near future.
Mahalo again for choosing to stay with us and see you soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This would have been a good place, except we got sick from the moldy old carpeting in the unit. All room are ocean front, but view is great above the 4th or 5th floor which avoids tall palm trees out front. You can see whales from your room in Feb/Mar. Staff is lacking and maintenance is poor. Price is a bit high for what you get. No restaurant on property, but they will give a discount for the restaurant at their Kaanapali Shores property next door.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with wood or tile floors throughout. Avoid carpeted units as they will prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here and we're very sorry to hear of your disappointment with your unit here at the Mahana. It's apparent from your comments that you did not stay in one of the units in the Aston rental program here as we have high standards that need to be met and maintained by all of our units.
Here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali we have 130 units in our program, studio, one bedroom and two bedroom and all of our guests not only have the spectacular oceanfront views available from every floor in both buildings but also the comforts of full kitchens, washer/dryers and the full service of our staff. We have a 24 hour front desk to take care of all their needs for check-in, questions and complimentary pool towels plus we provide daily housekeeping and have on-site maintenance to take care of any needs our guest may have during their stay.
The location of the Mahana is ideal, on the quieter northern end of Kaanapali beach however a short walk away from a grocery store, other shopping and many dining options and a short car ride away from Kapalua, central Kaanapali or downtown Lahaina.

We do hope you otherwise enjoyed your time on Maui and hope you'll give the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali staff a chance to show you our Aloha Spirit the next time you visit.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is awesome! My girlfriend and I stayed for a week. When they say "Ocean View", they mean Ocean View. I've had hotels play fast and loose with this phrase but the Mahana is the real deal. Planning on whale watching in Maui? Just head out to your balcony and wait 10 minutes, usually less. We also got to see a sea turtle from our balcony.

The place was very clean. No complaints on the cleaning service. We had a basic studio and it was plenty of space for the two of us. The bed was comfortable, although who doesn't sleep well with waves crashing right outside? The kitchen was adequately equipped. Better grill tools would have been nice but that's nit-picking. Speaking of the grills, they are professionally cleaned every day which was a GREAT touch since almost everyone uses them.

There's no on-site restaurant or convenience store but Dukes Beach House is at the next resort over and the grocery store is a 5 minute walk. If either of these seem too far, I suggest a trip to fat camp rather than Maui.

The grounds were also well kept. There were plenty of lounge chairs by the pool and on the grassy space behind the beach. The only downside of the location is that the beach directly in front of the hotel is not great for swimming compared. I recommend heading down the beach walk to the black rock if you are looking to play in the water.

Overall, the Mahana has a fantastic view, great maintenance and housekeeping and it's very close to restaurants and groceries. Not that expensive by Kaanapali resort standards. 5 stars, all day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your comments here and for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your time on the beautiful island of Maui.
We absolutely agree that our property provides second to none oceanfront views from every unit, both inside with our floor to ceiling windows and lanais as well as from the pool area which features a jacuzzi tub and the complimentary gas grills that you so enjoyed. We also have a great lawn area for relaxing on and from where you have easy access to the beach fronting our property.
As you mentioned currently our guest have the pleasure of seeing the humpback whales but all year round there is other marine life including the sea turles that feed off the reef in front and of course the daily spectacular sunsets appearing between the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai.
We're especially happy you felt comfortable in your unit with full kitchen and washer/dryer and enjoyed the service and Aloha Spirit of our staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, and hope you can make it back soon to enjoy our fabulous oceanfront location which is away from the hustle and bustle yet convenient to many shopping and dining options both by foot or a short car ride away.

Mahalo again for taking the time to post your comments as it's a great way for us to improve our service to all of our guests.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at many of the Kaanapali hotels, and other hotels,and condo's. This hotel has the closest to the ocean views I have seen. Most properties angle away from the beach.This property is close and parallel to the beach. Awesome for whale watching on the deck. Rooms are nice, pool is nice, close to Duke's restaurant, daily coffee, and adequate maid service. The price for the deluxe efficiency is equal or better than Kaanapali hotels and you get more. The immediate ocean access behind is not great for swimming, but there is a nice beach plus a lawn. All in all a great buy for the view.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post your comments here at Trip Advisor. You are correct in that the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali is unique in the fact that every single unit here has the same spectacular oceanfront views due to our proximity to the ocean and the fact that both our towers run parallel to the beach.
We also believe we provide a great value as in addition to the spectacular views our units all meet very high standards providing comfort to our guests with full kitchens and washer/dryer in the units. You add to that the full service and Aloha Spirit shown by the entire staff here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali including a 24 hour front desk, daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance so that we can meet the needs of all of our guests.
Our pool/jacuzzi area with complimentary gas grills and the lawn area also are a great place for our guests to check out the views and relax.

We very much hope you can return real soon to the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Arkansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Mahana is not actually a hotel. It does not have a restuarant, an amazing pool, or breathtaking grounds, but what you get in your condo is priceless. Floor to ceiling windows look straight out to the most beautiful ocean you could ever dream off.

We paid for an upgraded unit and are glad we did. It was very well appointed and felt like a place anyone would love.

There are hotels in Maui with prettier grounds, but this place has great views and great prices.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade. The units are individually owned and some are not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc11, General Manager at Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your great comments on our million dollar views, same thoughts as the last guest to comment. You are correct that we are not your traditional hotel type property with restaurants, spread out grounds and huge swimming pools however here at the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali what we offer is the same great service with 24 hour front desk, daily housekeeping and on-site maintenance all to make sure our guests are comfortable and taken care of. Also, every unit here in the Aston rental program, whether studio, one bedroom or two bedroom, all meet the same minimum high standards, have fully equipped kitchens and washer/dryer in the unit. As well, our very comfortable and relaxing pool/jacuzzi deck area has complimentary gas grills and tables where our guests can enjoy their meals if they choose.
As you found out the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali we provide great service to our guests who can relax in their units or at the pool and lawn area, save some money by cooking some meals in our deluxe kitchens in the room, and be treated to world class oceanfront views from any unit or anywhere on the property.

We thank you for choosing the Aston Mahana at Kaanapali for your recent stay and hope you can return again real soon.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Mahana at Kaanapali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Mahana at Kaanapali

Address: 110 Kaanapali Shores Place, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Mahana at Kaanapali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the seclusion of this beachfront condominium resort where each custom-furnished oceanfront suite features floor-to-ceiling windows and a private lanai with panoramic views of the Pacific and Maui's magical sunsets. Nearby attractions include Lahaina Town and the Sugar Cane Train. At the Mahana, you can experience the tranquility of Maui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aston Mahana at Kaanapali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Hotel Lahaina
Aston Hotel Lahaina
Mahana At Kaanapali Aston
Resortquest Mahana Kaanapali
Mahana Kaanapali
Aston Mahana At Kaanapali Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Mahana at Kaanapali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.